We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suini y Familia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Amalia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Clara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Amalia
Save
You added Hostal Amalia to your Saves list
Calle Lorda 61altos | E/ Independencia y Marti, Santa Clara 50100, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Suini y Familia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Luis and family are the best hosts in the world. I spent a week there last year and my family did the same last month. We felt at home and their dedication and hard work earns them top ranking in their business. We highly recommend their hostel to everyone who wants to visit Santa Clara. Job well done and thank you very much Luis and family!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
63
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonn, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Luis and his son Pedro are the kindest and most hospitable hosts we had during our two-week trip through Cuba. Their friendliness and can-do attitude are the icing on top of this comfortable and well-located house in Santa Clara. The best part of the casa itself is without a doubt the rooftop terrace, filled with beautiful plants cared for by the grandmother.
Definitely worth returning to.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siena, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

EXCELLENT room, terrace, food and hospitality. Unfortunately we only stayed one night. We left on a night bus the following evening, and they even have an extra bathroom with a shower that you can use after checking out of your room. We were so happy to be able to travel all clean, after another great homemade dinner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had booked Hostal Autentica Pergola, but due to renovations we got Hostal Amalia instead. When we arrived by bus from Trinidad the owner, Louise, picked us up at the station. He was kindness itself and took very good care of us. The rooms were fine. Breakfast and dinner at a lovely little roof garden full of flowers with view over the city need to be experienced!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londra, Regno Unito
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Louis the owner is the kindest man we met in Cuba, he took extra care of us. The room is nice and the breakfast is in a lovely terrace full of flowers on top of the building with the view of the city centre. He helped us to carry the luggage , to find a car park, to find the way to the next destination... just great!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had wanted to stay at another casa but it was full and we ended up at the Amalia - what a find! We could not have been made more welcome and our hosts did everything to make our stay great. The casa has a lovely roof terrace where you can watch the world go by and the rooms are spacious clean and comfortable - the best showers we found in Cuba! Great position too really near to the main square - highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This hostal was extremely clean, nice big rooms with en suite bathrooms. The family especially the son Pedro, was extremely friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Meals were of a very high standard. The location is great, walking distance to all the major sites. Overall experience terrific.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Amalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Amalia

Address: Calle Lorda 61altos | E/ Independencia y Marti, Santa Clara 50100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Santa Clara
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Amalia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.