We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont miss out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Autentica Pergola

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Clara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Autentica Pergola
Save
You added Hostal Autentica Pergola to your Saves list
Luis Estevez No. 61 | e/ Independencia (Boulevard) y Marti, Santa Clara 50100, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 32 Santa Clara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“dont miss out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

this casa is worth going to for the courtyard alone. Stunning!! Huge comfortable, clean rooms. The highest standard of any casa we stayed at. Really helpfull and friendly owner. If you go to santa clara and dont stay here it's your loss. We were enjoying a welcome coffee in the courtyard when 2 fellow toursists tried their luck. Their faces when they saw the courtyard and were told that there were no vacancies was a sad sight, gutted!!! perfect location too.

Room Tip: all amazing, huuuuge!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    58
    7
    0
    4
See reviews for
70
315
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We were arriving at 2am from Havana and there were no problems with that at all. The casa was absolutely amazing and even better than the photos. It was the best casa we stayed at in Cuba. Carmen and Carlos were wonderful hosts and cooked us delicious meals. It was also situated a few minutes walk from the main square and one of the best bars in Cuba wiht nightly music and salsa.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My wife and I (with my mother-in-law and her friend) stayed at the Hostal Autentica Pergola for 2 nights - what a treat!

FIrst the beauty as you enter the residence ... wonderfully decorated, numerous lush plants, rocking chairs ... a beautiful garden environment in which to enjoy your leisure time and meals. Then the meals themselves - gourmet! 4-course meals (our group loved the lobster, shrimp and chicken options ... as well as the breakfasts).

Superb! Carlos (excellent English) and Carmen were lovely hosts ... we were close to the central plaza ... and a relatively close taxi ride from the Viazul bus station.

The room was splendid - clean, nice bed, refridgerator (with water, beer, soft drinks or juice) and a great shower. Just loved the place.

While in Santa Clara we visited the Che Mausoleaum (about a 45 minute wait in the sun to get in so bring your hat) and the Che/Batista train derailment site ... and walked up and down the main place streets. We found 2 nights / 1 full day to be perfect.

All in all, an absolutely lovely stay in Santa Clara - thank you Carlos & Carmen for the great hospitality!

Kyle & Ana Maria (and Pepita & Marie Ines)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Autentica Pergola is a fantastic hostal in the centre of Santa Clara. It is almost a place to sight see in itself, let alone to stay there! The greenery is very refreshing and has a soothing effect after walking all day the streets of SC. The owners are very nice and helpful too, and make fantastic dinners - ask for a lobster and you get it prepared beautifully, part of a fantastic four course meal! Top quality casa, look no further.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

If you stop in Santa Clara, you have to stay here. The location can't be better, just 2 blocks away from the central plaza. It's a completely renovated old colonial house and Carmen and her family are lovely hosts. Breakfast and dinner are fresh and tasty - so much better than restaurants. The courtyard or rooftop terrace are great places to relax. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We only stayed here for one night but it was amazing. The casa is lovely, the courtyard is beautiful. We had our evening meal here which was some of the best food that we had in Cuba and by candlelight in the courtyard which was stunning. It was like being at a great restaurant but with no-one else to disturb you as we were on own own for most of it until another couple came out to eat their meal just as we were finishing. I don't know what the soup was but it was so tasty. They had no problem doing me a vegetarian meal either, I had spaghetti and so many types of vegetables. I couldn't eat it all, there was so much.

It was a very friendly place and the owner even offered to telephone ahead to our next casa in Trinidad to make sure they knew what time to expect us and that we definitely had a room (I had heard that in peak season casa's will often give the room to someone else if they have a better offer of a longer stay). We were really pleased that he did this for us as the casa owners sent a bike taxi to pick us up from the Viazul bus station which meant that we didn't have to fight to get through the crowds of casa owners in Trinidad when we arrived at our next stop.

The room had a fridge in it and we could drink whatever we wanted and pay when we left which was really handy as only a couple of the casa's that we stayed in did this.

I would highly recommend staying in this casa, I really couldn't fault a thing.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

To add to the other amazing reviews here, we really enjoyed our 2 night stay at Hostal Autentica Pergola, I wish we could have stayed longer! The internal courtyard is just beautiful - teeming with hundreds of lush plants with lots of rocking chairs around it -perfect to relax after a day's sight-seeing. Make sure you book dinner here - we had a lovely romantic candle-lit dinner among the plants - the lamb was delicious and the portions were big, very good value! The rooms were clean with the highest ceilings I've ever seen and all decorated in beautiful decadent antique style. Carlos was a friendly and welcoming host. The hostal is also about a two minute walk from the centre, an added bonus! As other people have said this was our favourite casa in Cuba so don't miss it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Autentica Pergola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Autentica Pergola

Address: Luis Estevez No. 61 | e/ Independencia (Boulevard) y Marti, Santa Clara 50100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Autentica Pergola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.