We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely location..wonderful service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frangipani Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Frangipani Beach Resort to your Saves list
Frangipani Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Meads Bay | West End, West End Village, Anguilla   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Beach Break Special
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in West End Village
Apache Junction, Arizona, USA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“lovely location..wonderful service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My husband and I spent 4 nights here the end of June first week of July. The room was fine , but the location and service were spectacular. The Straw Hat restaurant next door had wonderful food as well. The guy that ran the beach toys, I think his name was Rashon? Was wonderful.. took us out on the hobey cat and tried to teach us to sail..even when it was raining. The non ocean view room we had was fine..but it was the people who made it an amazing stay. Thanks to everyone for making our 10th anniversary trip so special.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    48
    12
    7
    7
See reviews for
50
222
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The Frangipani is a beautiful resort in a beautiful part of Anguilla. Mead's bay is one of the prettiest beaches on the island. It's this long gorgeous strip of blinding sand with the most clear, turquoise waters and the resort is a smaller Spanish / Mediterranean style resort that just fits into the scenery so well.
The staff are all outstanding (big shout out to Shannon who gave us plenty of tips, restaurant ideas, etc for not only just Anguilla, but St Martin and Saba too. Shannon you're great!).
Pros
This is a beautiful hotel and location.
Restaurant is delicious and having some breakfast credit is nice.
Water sports! Take advantage of the free water sports, we went tubing, paddled around, etc. they also do trips to the small cays and stuff.
Bed was the most comfy bed!
Cons
This is pricey. I mean you're paying for the location, service, etc. So if you're not ready to thrown down cash, don't come here. If you want to splurge a little, then this is an excellent place.
Mostly tourist looking to get pampered and older Americans, you know the ones that permanently wear white cross trainers, you know what I'm talking about. You're not going to find many hardcore travelers here. So may or may not be a con depending on who you are.
Shower may not always get hot. Not sure why, and I waited for a while too, but that's not enough of a reason not to go to a place.

Would I come back? Yes. My wife and I aren't the resort type of people, but in a splurging situation like it was for our honeymoon, we definitely enjoyed it.

Room Tip: We had a no view room and that basically means you have a view of the parking lot. So if you need an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangiAXA, Manager at Frangipani Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hey Daniel,

Thanks for the kind review and thanks so much for staying with us for your honeymoon! I'm glad to hear that your stay was great and that it was a good start to your 10 day getaway. I hope you both had a blast in St. Martin & Saba as well!

All the best,
Shannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Frangipani is on Meads Bay, which I believe is the best beach on the island. The hotel was beautiful and had exceptional amenities that included free motorized and non motorized water sports and a tennis court. The managers host a lovely night of cocktails to welcome everyone. It is a small hotel which is the best part, especially as you look down the beach to the enormous Viceroy. Our room had a very comfortable bed, but the room itself could probably use a fresh coat of paint and dump some old clunky furniture. The bathrooms were somewhat odd as well and could use a bit of an update, however, very clean and spacious. It is possible because we were not staying in the one of the suites, our room was less up to date compared to others.

As everyone mentioned, the owners are great and very helpful with anything you need. Most of the staff was exceptional, but like many hotels, when the owners are away the service was noticeably different.

Straw Hat restaurant which is a separate owner is attached to the hotel, they are exceptional! There is a deal with the hotel for reduced breakfast rate, but it is somewhat unclear.

Make sure you take a boat ride with them and see all of Anguilla!

Room Tip: You pay more for the ocean views but for good reason!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangiAXA, Manager at Frangipani Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
We're glad to hear that you had a great time at the Frangipani and on the boat trip. It was fun chatting with you at the cocktail party - we loved exchanging travel stories about Peru! Thanks so much for the review. We always appreciate guests' feedback. We hope to see you again at the Frangipani!

All the best,
Shannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

From the moment you arrive at this special little piece of paradise, you know you are at home. The greeting by the front office and Shannon, one half of the husband and wife management team, told us we were in for a very special few days. Our group,consisted of 18 people celebrating a reunion of college friends now living around the globe. We occupied 9 of the 18 rooms of the hotel, and notwithstanding our varied tastes, budgets and personalities, the Frangipani exceeded everyone's expectations. My wife and I have been to Anguilla on four previous occasions and had the good fortune of staying at a number of wonderful properties including the soon to be reopened Malliouhana hotel. While you cannot expect the sophistication and amenities of a Viceroy (also on the incomparable Meads Bay) the value for money will blow away any other property on the Island. Every staff member went out of their way to take care of our group's every need. Nothing was too much trouble. The Straw Hat restaurant is on the property and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. It puts out exceptional fare, and while it is under separate ownership from the hotel, the staff are equally friendly. Spend a few extra dollars and go for one of the Ocean Front rooms. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from Frangipani for a 7 day trip which included our quiet little wedding on their beach. I simply can't write a review that says enough about it. If your looking for a quiet, private get away with great people and great personal touches (in a non-invasive way) this is your spot. The beach is the best on the island, private and the sand is like powder. The hotel is beautiful, updated and clean. We stayed in suite 1A (full kitchen, 2 baths and patio right on beach) highly recommend it! The Straw Hat is on site and by far one of the best restaurants on the island (have the tuna flatbread). Blanchard's is also within walking distance. Everyone is so helpful, Scott and Shannon the property managers are fabulous, fun and always available. I also have to give a big shout out to Rashey who captains the island hopping boat trips with fabulous snorkeling, lunch (and rum punch yum!) Another shout out to Chef Nick at the Straw Hat who prepared a fabulous private beach dinner beyond compare and is a hell of a nice guy on top of it. We visited Cuisin Art for the spa and restaurant which was lovely but overall had a cold and impersonal experience with the lobby staff, nice place but no comparison in terms of experience. Stay at Frangi, you won't regret it!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangiAXA, Manager at Frangipani Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hi Dayle,

We had such a blast with you, Billy and your group! It was such a pleasure to be able to provide the backdrop for your nuptials and we really appreciate you choosing us for such a special occasion. You made our manager's cocktail party extra special that week. We're looking forward to seeing you again in the future!

Cheers!
Scott & Shannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Just completed our 3rd consecutive year staying at Frangipani, 10 days this visit. Can't say enough positive things about this resort. GM's Scott & Shannon and the staff treat you like friends and family. They are so welcoming from the welcome rum punch at reception through the checkout process. Front desk staff took care of all dinner reservations, maid service was efficient and seemless (including an evening turn down service w/ fresh towels..a nice touch) and pool/beach attendants would always greet us with a friendly hello & smile. Took a beach/island hopping tour on Frangi's boat, Relentless, which was an awesome day.
We rented a luxury no-view room (6C) for the second year in a row. It's on the scond floor with a nice balcony and enough foliage to provide privacy. The place is only 18 rooms, so you are never far from the beach. We prefer second floor rooms and the no-view room (and price) suits us fine.
Adjacent Straw Hat restaurant is nice compliment, with a breakfast credit each morning. The staff at Straw Hat have become like family as well.
Frangipani is located right in the middle of Meads Bay beach, a perfect location. Already thinking about our next AXA vacation and we would be hard pressed to consider any place other than Frangipani.

Room Tip: second floor rooms afford more privacy and natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My wife and I decided to go to Anguilla to celebrate our honeymoon. We did our research online and chose to stay at the Frangipani. We were overall delighted with the property. We stayed right on the beach in villa 1A. This unit was a 1 bedroom 2 bath with 2 closets, living room, dining area, full kitchen. Very spacious... The best part about it was that we were only steps from the beach. The only issues we had with the villa itself was the lack of water pressure, water would not get very hot, the a/c in the bedroom was not the greatest and the overall condition of the room including the furnishings were out dated. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Having the Straw Hat right there really made things great! I strongly recommend going to Anguilla and staying here for your honeymoon or romantic getaway!

Room Tip: If you want size, and location 1A directly on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Frangipani Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frangipani Beach Resort

Address: Meads Bay | West End, West End Village, Anguilla
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Anguilla > West End Village
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in West End Village
#1 Spa Hotel in West End Village
#2 Top resorts Hotel in West End Village
#2 Romantic Hotel in West End Village
#2 Family Hotel in West End Village
#3 On the Beach Hotel in West End Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Frangipani Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the white sands of Meads Bay, the Frangipani Beach Resort is a boutique hotel offering the luxuries of a first-class resort in an intimate, Caribbean environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Frangipani Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frangipani Beach Hotel Anguilla
Frangipani Beach Anguilla
Frangipani Beach Resort Anguilla/West End Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frangipani Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.