We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Frangipani Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Frangipani Beach Resort to your Saves list
Frangipani Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Meads Bay | West End, West End Village, Anguilla   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in West End Village
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My third stay at Frangipani, always had a good experience and warm welcome by all (was even upgraded once, which was such a treat). This time, though I was only staying for 2 nights, I'm glad it was a short stay (I was moving to another hotel as they did not have enough nights to accommodate me). Upon arriving at reception, the new managers did not bother to take their noses out of their computers to welcome me (I provided my name, and it was obvious I was checking in). A simple gesture of "welcome back" or acknowledge that I'm a guest would have made me feel welcome. I walked by the new managers a few times on the property -- you think someone could have asked how my stay was going, or a simple 'hello' would have been nice. Don't forget -- people are paying A LOT of money to stay at your establishment, make them feel that you appreciate it, and go out of your way to make them feel welcome. Please take this constructive feedback to heart. A small effort can go a long way.

The rooms are a bit dated, the bed linens are somewhat old, bathroom sinks are not practical, and overall furnishings are average. Not so enjoyable when you are paying a hefty price. A few of the positives: house keepers were very nice, gave you privacy when needed. The pool staff is nice as well. Provided me with a fresh cut coconut for a refreshing drink. It's a shame that this experience at this unique 'boutique' resort has changed my mind from staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    51
    13
    8
    7
See reviews for
54
248
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Nice room but not special, simple and small. Often problems with electricity. No wi-fi on the rooms so we could not connect while we were in the bedroom even if we request it and asked the maintenance. Unfriendly at the reception and rude at the restaurant. Service was very poor. Nice and cleaned the external of the hotel but the staff was so unfriendly and rude we were so happy to leave. We stayed 6 nights but we should have left after 2!! Absolutely negative. No help, no service, no advice and right suggestions for the island. Terrible.

Room Tip: Book a suite otherwise rooms are so small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangiAXA, General Manager at Frangipani Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
It is typically our policy to not respond to TripAdvisor reviews, but in light of the last few comments we thought it necessary to respond as we do want to assure all readers that we take each and every review to heart.

First, we absolutely pride ourselves on providing great customer service and a friendly environment, so we are obviously disappointed that any of our guests would depart without having a wonderful memory of our staff. We will clearly work harder here.

With regard to our website, we do review it carefully for accuracy. We are a boutique resort and do not currently have a fitness room or a spa nor do we advertise that we do. The majority of our guests get their exercise from walking the magnificent beach right at our doorstep or swimming in our pools and the ocean. Guests may also take advantage of our complimentary kayaks and water sports for exercise.The property does get quiet after 11PM, which is typical at all Anguillan hotels. Late night partiers typically frequent some of the fun local establishments around the island.

With regard to our rooms, all rooms were completely remodeled 3 years ago. Each room is unique and has its own distinctive charm. Obviously being located directly on the beach creates its own challenges with regard to room maintenance, however our maids are well-trained and responsible for advising us when items are missing and need to be replaced, and our head of maintenance is the best on the island. Almost all of our staff has been with us for many, many years.

We appreciate the opportunity to address concerns or rectify issues when they are brought to our attention. We work hard to make sure that every experience is memorable, and strive to create an environment that makes people want to return and become part of the Frangipani family, as so many of our repeat guests do.

As mentioned, we try and stay out of these types of review discussions but felt a current response was in order.


Sincerely,

Scott Kircher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dix hills, new york
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

the frangipani is a very small mediocre hotel, masquerading as a high end boutique hotel. rooms are in need of renovation. property shuts down at 11 pm, no services available after that hour. don't know who past reviews are so high. front desk is a bit apathetic and not well trained, the rest of the staff does a good job on service. in anguilla, there are much, much better options. there is no fitness center and no spa. website for hotel is a bit misleading. beach is awesome.

Room Tip: all essentially the same, just a question of size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I'm giving this property 2 stars because it has exceptional potential but it didn't deserve one star while we were there. It was under going a management change when we stayed there. I included two photos of our room. One is the bare wall where I think they removed a mildewed picture and the other is the remaining picture in the room showing lots of mildew on it. Upon checking in, we had to have a lamp delivered and an extension cord for a cpap machine. There is only one chair in the room (2B) which is not near the telephone and no writing surface at all. Another frustration was no phone number on the phone or the literature and one set of keys didn't work on the access door. One day we had no hot water. This was remedied by the afternoon.

There is a great restaurant on site but coffee isn't available until 7:30.The room had a small refrig. but no microwave or coffee maker. Other minor frustrations were no place to hang the blow dryer up and no full length mirror. On the positive side, the location is super. Our room was $700/night not including service charges and taxes which was too high for the current quality of this resort. The service was mediocre at best. I hope the new management will correct these issues because it could be a wonderful resort.

Room Tip: Avoid room 2B
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had such a good time in Anguilla, and most especially loved our choice of hotels. The staff is very friendly, the rooms feel like our own private oasis, the attached restaurant is great, and the atmosphere is genuine and friendly. We didn't want to ever come home!!! I definitely recommend the Frangipani to any and all.

We stayed in a no view room and were happy that we did, because we had our own little porch with a table which was private and perfect for early morning coffee and time together. We played tennis almost every day, using their racquets and balls. If you are an avid tennis player, bring your own balls, though. We are just recreational players so it was not a big deal for us.

The only thing that we would say needs improvement is that the pool is not heated and it was torture for us to get in to do daily exercise. Believe it or not, even in the Caribbean, unheated pools are cold! Again, this will not deter us from staying there again, but it would be a huge plus if they put a little heat into the pool.... one of them, at least. (there are two pools)

It is a very easy walk to several restaurants. We rented a car on our third full day there and while it was a little nerve-wracking to remember to stay left (it is a British isle), we mastered it and by the end of our week, we were pro's. There is great food all over the island. We didn't have a meal we didn't like! It is pricey though.... Blanchard's Beach Shack was the least pricey place so we had lunch there several times.

Great place for anyone!!! Highly recommend it!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My wife and I spent part of our honeymoon in Anguilla at Frangipani. To sum it up. AMAZING! The food, service, accommodations, views, beach, weather, staff, the activities, the bed, the drinks ... way too much to list. Only 18 rooms. So wonderful to not be around 100's of people.

We just cannot say enough about the resort and of course the island. The beach was ours. Of course there were a few people here and there. But nothing beats having a beach to yourself. Especially a white sand one with clear teal blue water with no sea weed or rocks in sight. The word breathtaking doesn't do the beach justice.

We took a ferry from St Maarten (stayed on the dutch side and the French side - we are not big fans of St Maarten). From the moment we entered Frangipani, we were greeted by wonderful staff and immediately given rum punches as we were checking in. Our room was more than we needed. A shower that has 5 nozzles, a very comfortable bed, a/c and lots of space, mini fridge and more.

The manager Jan was wonderful and made us feel very welcome. She hosted a managers meeting with free drinks and wonderful appetizers. I don't even like goat cheese yet I found myself stuffing my face.

We took advantage of the restaurant on the premises "The Straw Hat." Food was fantastic! We ate there a lot. Of course we ventured out and everywhere else we ate was fantastic as well.

The staff was pleasant, and helpful.

Yes we did indulge a lot on this trip. We ate well, drank well and tipped well. Your on vacation, why not. You know what they say "when in Anguilla" Anguilla is the new Rome.

We even upgraded to the Penthouse Suite. You can hear and see the ocean, while in bed, when you wake up and go to bed. (Our first room was more than fine, but like I said, we indulged) We even stayed one extra night even though we already paid for our hotel back in Dutch St Maarten. We now wish we would have just stayed at Frangipani.

If your looking for paradise, this is where you must go. We like to travel and don't often go to the same country, let alone the same resort twice. Frangipani will be an exception.

Room Tip: Penthouse Suite. Listen to the ocean when you wake up and go to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I'm not happy! I had hoped that my wife and I would have the opportunity to visit many of the beautiful islands of the Caribbean through the years. Unfortunately after visiting Anguilla and Frangipani I don't think we will see any of the other islands - because none could be more beautiful and special as Anguilla! Over and over I heard stories similar to this. And nowhere could we be treated as well as we were at Frangipani! It is truly a magical island with Frangipani being a perfect spot to enjoy it from. We were there for eight days at the end of January and first part of February. Many of the other guests were "regulars" at Frangipani. What better endorsement could there be! In the intimacy of Frangipani we were treated like family. The staff was wonderful! We especially enjoyed our sailing with Rashie and getting to know Scott, the new general manager at Frangipani. The rooms and the entire grounds were immaculate! We stayed in the penthouse room. It was wonderful! The view from our deck was great! Sometimes the warm water was a little slow in arriving, but that's just nitpicking! The thing that amazed us most was how few people there were on the beaches and there was never an issue getting a cabana on the beach. It is also great having some wonderful restaurants within walking distance. We had a couple great lunches at Blanchards Beach Shack and had incredible dinners at the Straw Hat, Jakala, and the Sunset Bar at the Viceroy. Remember to take your lantern from the room for your walk back along the beach to Frangipani! And if a picture is worth a thousand words, take a look at these pictures and see why my wife and I fell in love with Anguilla and Frangipani!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Penthouse room overlooking the ocean and it was wonderful. When we return we may s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Frangipani Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frangipani Beach Resort

Address: Meads Bay | West End, West End Village, Anguilla
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Anguilla > West End Village
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in West End Village
#1 Family Hotel in West End Village
#1 Luxury Hotel in West End Village
#2 Romantic Hotel in West End Village
#2 Top resorts Hotel in West End Village
#3 On the Beach Hotel in West End Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Frangipani Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the white sands of Meads Bay, the Frangipani Beach Resort is a boutique hotel offering the luxuries of a first-class resort in an intimate, Caribbean environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Frangipani Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frangipani Beach Hotel Anguilla
Frangipani Beach Anguilla
Frangipani Beach Resort Anguilla/West End Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frangipani Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.