We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back at the Frangipani!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frangipani Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Frangipani Beach Resort to your Saves list
Frangipani Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Meads Bay | West End, West End Village, Anguilla   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in West End Village
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hillsborough, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Back at the Frangipani!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We are back at the Frangipani Hotel here in Anguilla for a second time. The last time was 5 years ago and we had a wonderful time...this time the experience is even better. Our room is wonderful, spectacular views of Meads Bay and the property. Since our last visit they have put in an infinity edge pool that overlooks the Bay, and they have kept the original pool, so you have two to choose from. The rooms are wonderful and are attended to by their friendly staff, being cleaned daily and the bed changed, and new towels if you need them. But the most notable addition is that the restaurant has changed. They have the owners of the Straw Hat(not the pizza) fame, here in Anguilla, running the restaurant...and the food is just off the charts. Chef Nick has made this into a "must visit" place to eat if you get to Anguilla, and if you stay at the Frangipani, you don't have to go off campus for great food. Oh, btw, the wine list is very good and the pricing is consumer friendly. We are very glad to have come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    51
    13
    8
    7
See reviews for
54
248
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mystic, CT
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This was my second stay at Frangipani, May 12 to 21. A friend from California joined me, and we each had the luxury, no view rooms, mine as reqested on the first floor due to recent knee surgery, and hers was the second floor, the same room I had last year. The bedrooms and baths are identical, very nice with luxurious bedding, very modern well equipped bathrooms, nice fluffy towels and bathrobes. Without my stair-climbing issues, I would definately prefer the second floor room, as you just look at a wall in the first floor patio.

The staff at the hotel is wonderful, everyone smiling, helpful, and gracious. My room was kept spotlessly clean. Beach boys were great. Even though we did not partake of the free watersports, they were always around to chat, even offering to refill our cold water bottles, offer fresh towels, and keeping the beach spotless.

Star Hat on premises is always great, again, very friendly staff and good food. They do offer beach service for both drinks and lunch.

Many of the other guests were repeat visitors, and everyone seemed to say the same thing - it's the quiet, intimate atmosphere that they love, and I heartily agree.

Meads Bay is the best, beautiful bright blue water, great for walking, and there are a number of restaurants nearby. To me, it has everthing.

If you're looking for a quiet, relaxing vacation, this is the place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Just got back from 10 day stay at Frangipani on Meads Bay and the resort met all our expectations. This was our second Anguilla trip, and first time at Frangi. Had a queen jr. suite on ground floor, steps from pool/beach. Most comfortable bed I've encountered in caribbean travel (we've been on multiple trips to several islands). Room was modern, cleaned twice daily (not expected). Wife commented to front desk that it was too bad that the room had no full length mirror, and an hour later they deliverd a free standing mirror to our room! Friends who travelled with us had luxury ocean view room on second floor which was equally nice.
Services & facilities were outstanding. I'm usually not interested in a pool w/the ocean so close by, but the infinity pool overlooking the beach was a nice feature.
Pool/Beach attendants were friendly and helpful. Front desk took care of all reservations efficiently, and the smiling faces of the Straw Hat waitresses each morning, as we took advantage of the included continental breakfast was a delightful way to start the day and plan our activities.
With only 19 rooms, you feel like a family friend, not a room #. By day three they knew us by name when we stopped at the front desk to make dinner plans.
We are already thinking about our next trip to Anguilla and would stay at Frangipani again with no hesitation.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms that open on to the pool/patio are more accessible, w/ no stairs to climb. Howeve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We have stayed for many years at Frangipanni and feel the need to rise to their defense. We have stayed in many hotels on the island that do boast all the amenities mentioned in this review...jacuzzi, gym. They are larger resorts with many more guests and are much busier. That will appeal to some people. Frangipanni is a boutique resort. It presents itself as such. It is a quiet, serene, lovely facility with great service. It is a jewel on Meads Bay and is an amazing island getaway if you are looking for rest and relaxation. We have never been disappointed since Alex and her husband have been owners (sorry have forgotten his name). The pool, beach scape is amazing and immaculate.. We hae stayed in the three bedroom villas with our adult children as well as the one bedrooms and they are all lovely. Frangipanni is just as advertised and will not disappoint!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

After a terrible experience at Cuisinart We found this Gem of a Hotel. The Managers and Their Staff made Us feel really welcome and found a room that suited us well. We slept very well here and everything was so clean. The shower and Bed were awesome. The place has a beachy elegant but relaxed Tommy Bahama sort of feel to it. Meads Bay is amazing and the Hotel has 2 nice pools. Breakfast at Straw Hat was great and it like the Hotel overlooked the ocean. The area around the Hotel felt very safe. We are already planning a return trip here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Even though I was at the Frangipani four months ago at the beginning of December, I still get the warm fuzzies when I think about our stay there in room 1A. It was exactly what we wanted.

Yes, this is a small, boutique hotel. It is nothing like Cap, the Cuisinart, or the Viceroy. We visited all of those and would come back to the Frang again. Why? We were looking for a week of sitting on the beach. We read, participated in water sports, jumped in the waves, and drank rum punches. It is gorgeous, comfortable, and perfect on that beach. I, a notoriously late riser, would get up at 5 or 6am just to squeeze in more time at that magnificent beach or on our porch. If you want more activity or more people or more variety in food or drink, perhaps you should stay at one of those resorts. To compare the Frang to the big players isn't a fair comparison.

A few considerations:
We had great weather for the beginning of December, but it can get really wavy.
I wish the showers had doors because it can be a bit chilly without them.
Go to Sandy Island from the public dock (if you can get over there; we had a car). It is cheaper than using the boat at the Frang and you get to stay longer.
I found the food across Anguilla to be average at best and not really worth the money. But, I live in Chicago where we can get anything. Thus, for us having the kitchen in 1A was worth it. We could cook there and never had to leave the beach.
We're air conditioner users. I have bad asthma. So, sorry to all our fellow Frang guests who were kept awake by our AC use.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

The Frangipani is a hotel on the beach with nice rooms and that's about it. It is not a resort. No gym, spa, sauna or steam here. Yes... it has great surroundings and Meads Bay is the best beach, bar none. We were not in the high end rooms with kitchen, washer/dryer or beach view as we are never in the room except to shower and sleep anyway. We had to ask them to get dark curtains for our room after the first night as they only have mini-blinds which are NOT dark at night, as the light filters in. They took care of it, but honestly in all of my years in all kinds of establishments I never saw such cheap window treatment. Our next visit will be elsewhere on the island as for the price point here.....I have researched and have found much better deals for the money.

Room Tip: I would suppose if you have money to burn get an ocean view suite with all the extras, especially if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Underwater1, General Manager at Frangipani Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
We appreciate you sharing your thoughts about your recent stay at the Frangipani Beach Resort. We strive to make each guests experience as pleasant as possible so we take these type of comments to heart. We are therefore very disappointed that we did not meet your expectations and that you feel this resort is just average.
Our rooms do not have black out curtains as part of the normal interior decor but we were happy to accommodate your request as best as possible. However, what we put up may have then looked out of place giving you the impression our window dressings are inferior. We have discussed this with our staff and will have a proper set of black out curtains available for future requests.
Frangipani is a small boutique resort and does not have a gym or spa or sauna but also does not advertise that we offer these special services. Our website and printed literature is very clear about what we offer in the way of amenities so when guests arrive there are no surprises or disappointments. We hope you were not misled regarding this issue, if so, we apologize.
We regret any inconvenience and hope you trust us enough to make a return trip to the Frangipani at a later date.

If you have any further questions or comments please reach us at info@frangipaniresort.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Frangipani Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frangipani Beach Resort

Address: Meads Bay | West End, West End Village, Anguilla
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Anguilla > West End Village
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in West End Village
#1 Luxury Hotel in West End Village
#1 Family Hotel in West End Village
#2 Top resorts Hotel in West End Village
#2 Romantic Hotel in West End Village
#3 On the Beach Hotel in West End Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Frangipani Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the white sands of Meads Bay, the Frangipani Beach Resort is a boutique hotel offering the luxuries of a first-class resort in an intimate, Caribbean environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Frangipani Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frangipani Beach Hotel Anguilla
Frangipani Beach Anguilla
Frangipani Beach Resort Anguilla/West End Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frangipani Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.