We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carimar Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Carimar Beach Club to your Saves list
Carimar Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Meads Bay, West End Village AI2640, Anguilla   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Pay for 5 - Stay for 7
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in West End Village
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Racine, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Carimar is the most beautiful place on earth, the beach is so amazing. We were lucky to stay in a beach front condo, everytime we looked outside, another yacht had pulled in. The condo was spacious, only the bedrooms were air conditioned, so it did get a little warm, but that can be overlooked, when you have a view like that. The people at Carimar really & truly just want you to have a wonderful trip. The housekeeping staff does a great job. We were there to renew our Wedding vows and the housekeeping lady made a bouquet of flowers for me to carry. I've never stayed at a place where everyone just wants to make sure you love it there. If You love the beach, you will defiantly love Carimar.....

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with the beachfront.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    55
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
126
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fallbrook
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This resort was amazing. We had an ocean front 2 bedroom condo that we shared with friends.

The unit was beach front with a fabulous view and the sound of waves crashing every morning and stunning sunsets every night.

The unit was comfortable with pretty furniture, full kitchen, patio furniture, books, etc. the only negative I can say was it could be a little cleaner, a good deep clean of the floors would do a world of good for the unit.

Staff was amazing. Friendly, knowledgable, over the top helpful with our requests.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms would be fine, ocean front was wonderful, especially since the units only have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Experience US and Caribbean traveler - Platinum Starwood guest. 2nd trip to the island and 1st stay at Carimar in January. Spent our first trip to Cap Juluca and fell in love with the island. Cap Juluca under repair and needs alot of work. Carimar is the best value on the island. Beach is beautiful and Carimar is right next door to Blanchard's and Blanchard's Beach Shack. Front desk and Co-Op owners very sweet and accommodating. Rental Cars available right on property. Carimar is sleepy elegance and we did not want to leave. 2 bedroom units, clean, nice and comfortable. Perfect for a couple or family of 4-5. Whether you stay in the resort view or the beach front you can always see the ocean and feel the island breeze. Quick walking distance to 5 excellent restaurants right on Meads Bay. We are counting the days we get to go back. There is a reason Carimar has been in business for 25 years. They know what they are doing. Must stay!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I have traveled to Anguilla 7 times but have never stayed here. My wife an I decided to try this condo complex and were very pleased. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The location is outstanding on beautiful Meads Bay. The rooms are well equipped and clean. Blanchard's Beach Bar is next door and is a great place for a good lunch. Blanchard's and Jacala are also within walking distance and both are excellent dinner restaurants. I will be staying here on future visits to Anguilla.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I won't rehash most of what's been said in prior reviews other than to confirm that all the nice things said are absolutely true. I have sailed around Anguilla and my wife and I have stayed on Anguilla in the past, so I'm familiar with the island, and obviously love it. So here are a few things I would like to know if I haven't been to Anguilla and Carimar before.

The vibe: Very laid back. Ages seemed to be 60's to 70's, bordering on geriatric. Polite, friendly if you want to be. Everyone reads! No "rushing" to claim beach chairs. I would guess the age profile skews older in high season since it's more expensive and the kids are in school up north.

Car or no car: If you haven't been here before, rent one and drive around to the other beaches and restaurants and of course, meet the people who really live here. Otherwise you can walk to the supermarkets or eat at restaurants on the beach. We didn't rent a car and were perfectly happy. If you venture out more than 2 or more days, it's worth the rental as taxis are expensive.

Groceries: 25 minutes up the road is Best Buy which is pretty well stocked, including liquor. Food 95 is 5 minutes further, and although much smaller, has a few things that BB doesn't, i.e. simple syrup and limes (for all you mixologists!). Have the hotel stock you with what you can think of, i.e. water, beer, eggs, butter. Their fee to do so is more than fair.

Eating out: Right next door to Carimar is Blanchard's restaurant which has been open for 20 years plus. It's an island institution with a well deserved excellent reputation. But in 2011 they opened their "Beach Shack" next door / in front. Gourmet lunch food at very reasonable prices (for anywhere). Look on Trip Advisor. It's no surprise that it's so popular. And it's literally 100 yards away! People come from all over the island and it's next door to you.

The beach: It's eroded to a 5 ft "cliff" of sand that you have to navigate. Not a problem unless you have orthopedic problems, in which case you may need a hand, or at least will have to exercise some care. Not a deal breaker by any means. Also, boats tend to come for the afternoon and stay overnight. And some big ones, too, including mini cruise ships for the rich and famous. But, as above, it's February and high season. I suspect it's not nearly as busy other times. Still, there were many times when we just looked out at the open ocean.

It's been my experience that people who staff a hotel or resort are it's biggest asset, and Carimar is no exception. I just have to add (since I haven't seen them mentioned lately) that housekeeping is fantastic. Our rooms were immaculate by 11:00 a.m.every day. Five thumbs up!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carimar123, General Manager at Carimar Beach Club, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Mhapa,

Thanks for your refreshing review. it was different and included Carimar's surrounding support restaurants and the positive way they impact your vacation and others. At Carimar, we believe that your vacation time is precious and most (if not all) of it should be spent enjoying the island's offerings when and if you choose to do so.
there are times when our mix of guests leans more on the side of the older couples, which represents a nice mix (for us) of the seven night guest and the multiple week guest. of which 95% are return guests. Thanks for your mention of our Room Attendants and the good job they do. As part of our Team we welcome this as we try and grow each and every day.

Sincerely,

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My wife and I just spent 7 relaxing days at this delightful beachfront property. The facility was nicely appointed, with immaculate grounds, a breathtaking ocean view, and a polite and helpful staff. With an array of excellent restaurants within walking distance, we could spend the bulk of our time reading, doing puzzles, napping (we are Seniors), and enjoying the solitude of this pleasant island getaway.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

If your idea of a beach vacation includes golden sunsets, warm calm turquoise water, billowy soft sand, and nearly deserted beaches, then Meads Bay and Carimar are a good choice. If you want a clubby atmosphere, or prefer a swimming pool to the gorgeous ocean, you might want to look elsewhere.

Carimar is quiet, populated mostly by mature, pleasant people. It's tiny--24 units--and in a great location within walking distance of several of the best restaurants on the island. All units have a kitchen and the option of one or two very large bedrooms and bathrooms, plus a living/dining room (which you might pass through only on the way to the private patio or balcony, because who wants to stay indoors?). No pool, but the wifi works on the beach. Best beach ever. No restaurant, but next door to Blanchard's. You should rent a car.

Just a fabulous location, and the staff are all lovely.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carimar Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carimar Beach Club

Address: Meads Bay, West End Village AI2640, Anguilla
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Anguilla > West End Village
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in West End Village
#2 Family Hotel in West End Village
#3 Romantic Hotel in West End Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carimar Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carimar Beach Club, located on the pristine white sands and turquoise waters of Meads Bay, is an exceptional beachfront resort. Each of our 24 suites offers unique, exquisitely appointed interiors featuring colorful, tropical motifs and exotic rattan furnishings. The spacious 1100 square foot beach front and beach view suites feature all the comforts of home including: full, modern kitchens with granite counters; a living room with flat screen cable Tv and WiFi; a dining area accomodating six people; and a balcony or patio with stunning ocean views and spectacular sunsets. Enjoy plush bedding with luxurious linens in our Caribbean style air-conditioned bedrooms. All suites offer one or two bedrooms and one or two bathrooms. En-Suite King Bedroom. Twin Bedroom with two beds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Carimar Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carimar Beach Club Hotel Anguilla
Carimar Beach Hotel
Carimar Beach The Valley
Carimar Beach Club Anguilla/West End Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carimar Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.