We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty near perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carimar Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Carimar Beach Club to your Saves list
Carimar Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Meads Bay, West End Village AI2640, Anguilla   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in West End Village
UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Pretty near perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Having been to Anguilla before we knew what to expect by way of cool people, chilled island life, great beaches, feisty seas - first time to Carimar however. Superb on every level. Self catering but all mod cons - no pool but brave the waves. Good location for Some great restaurants and beach shack. A little on the pricey side but figure that's the price to pay for near perfect property.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    47
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
116
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed in November 2012.The appartment was comfortable and well equiped.Kitchen exceeded expectations. Bed chairs on our first floor balcony an luxurious bonus. Staff helpful and polite.

Beach was sandy but too rough for swimming for a few days, then some waves However, very quiet and unspoilt.Lack of a swimming pool definately looses 1+ stars. Beach was only steps from the appartment, and next door Blanchards Beach Shack a wonderful bonus. You would really need a hire care or taxi otherwise to eat out or explore the the other excellent beaches on the island.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Let me start by saying that this was the first trip I took since staying at the Four Seasons in Bora Bora so I was sure that I was going to be disappointed no matter what. But I was so surprised with much I fell in love with this property and Anguilla!

The location of the resort is perfect - I've never been so close to the beach - you are literally steps from the beach no matter where your room is. The size of the resort is perfect too - so intimate, plenty of beach chairs, never more than a handful of them occupied. The best part is one umbrella for every chair!

While there was no restaurant onsite, you have Blanchards and Jacala steps away which are great options.

The rooms are basic but they are by no means shabby. They are spacious and we enjoyed spending time in the living during the peak sun hours.

I will definitely stay here again next time I'm in Anguilla!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Early December 2012, we spent a gem of a trip at Carimar. This trip was donated for a silent auction at our church. We waited with anticipation and it was better than we could have imagined for the beauty of the beach and colour of the waters. Easy island to get around and see other beaches. Restaurants nearby were delightful. Carimar itself is well laid out for everyone to enjoy the gardens and the beach area. The staff were extremely attentive and well informed to ensure we knew where we were going and expectations. They handled reservations for our outings as well. Highly recommend Carimar for a relaxing and joyful holiday.

Room Tip: Try to get a room closer to the beach with a lovely patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carimar123, General Manager at Carimar Beach Club, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you FreeSpirit333Run,

Carimar Beach Club welcomes our positive relationship with your Church. I wish you well for 2013 and will hold you to your promise to spread the good word about Carimar.

I look forward to your return.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Found out about this wonderful place by accident after bidding for a six night stay at a charity function. Second time stayed two weeks third time three weeks and again this coming February another three weeks. It appeals to everyone. The staff is the best in the world and believe us we travel high end and use concierge service everywhere. The car is ready for you upon arrival, they will shop for you and stock your fridge for your arrival when you e-mail them your shopping list,and will make restaurant reservations for breakfast lunch and dinner. You can do your own laundry,play tennis and borrow beach toys when available. No need for a pool the beach is exquisite. Quiet at night,excellent housekeeping I could go on and on! But I don't want it to be booked solid for next year when I am shooting for a our week stay!

Room Tip: Lower units are fun with chickens running around....also fast to the beach! higher floors may have s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carimar123, Manager at Carimar Beach Club, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Christine N,

Peace and good health to you and your family for 2013. I am very encouraged by your recent review and you should know that six years ago, a couple who won a bid at an event went on to become owners within eighteen months of their winning stay at Carimar,

We have addressed the wet stair concerns by applying strips of 2" non skid tape on each step in support of hand rails on both sides.
You will also be pleased to know that we have made significant room upgrades since your last visit.

Our TEAM is looking forward to your upcomoing visit in 2013.

Sincerely,

Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockville centre, ny
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was our first time staying at Carimar after visiting Anguilla for the last 20 plus years.
I've got to say it was great. We have stayed at Cap Juluca and Frangipani, and this was fabulous.
You're on one of the most beautiful unspoiled beaches probably in the world.
The villas are top-notch, clean. You have a full kitchen and living area.
Everyone who works there is great, from the girls in the office to the grounds people to the housekeeping staff.
We will definitely return!

Room Tip: We love to stay in a beachfront ground floor....literally 100 feet to the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We spent 7 nights in one of their units - one-bedroom. The location was excellent - a quiet end of Meads Bay, right next door to Blanchard's and Blanchard's Beach Shack, and a 10 minute walk to Straw Hat restaurant.

First, the unit - we only occupied one bedroom, which was spacious with a king bed, dresser, night tables and very large closet. The en suite bathroom was large enough, with adequate hanging hooks and vanity drawers. The shower was big, with a tiled bench for convenience. Toiletries were adequate,but not luxury. Wall-mounted hair dryer.

The living room/dining room was very spacious and airy, with brand-new sofa, 2 chairs, and dining table with 4 dining chairs. The safe was located in a large closet in the living room. The TV was small, only about a 22" screen. There were 2 ceiling fans in the LR/DR area, 1 in the kitchen and 1 in the bedroom. Only the bedroom is air conditioned; the bedroom door must be closed in order for the a/c to turn on. We didn't mind. WiFi was free and consistently available.

The kitchen was well-stocked with full-size fridge, microwave, full gas range, toaster, coffee maker, plenty of pots, pans, flatware, dishes and cooking utensils. Paper towels, sponge, dish washing liquid, coffee, tea, coffee filters.

The patio/balcony contained brand-new outdoor furniture - a table and 2 chairs, as well as 2 adjustable lounge chairs.

In the club house is a washer & dryer - complimentary for guest use. Landscaping throughout the property is lovely and very well-maintained...lots of bougainvillea, palms, gardenias, etc. The beach is perfection - plenty of loungers and umbrellas - no need to run out to save a spot. The sand is powdery when dry and spongy soft near the water's edge. Beautiful views.

Housekeeping service was very good. Front office staff were excellent - helped arrange bike rentals, car rental, restaurant reservations, taxis, etc. We have absolutely no hesitation in recommending the Carimar. Very, very nice property and staff.

Room Tip: No room is more than a 60-second walk to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carimar Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carimar Beach Club

Address: Meads Bay, West End Village AI2640, Anguilla
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Anguilla > West End Village
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in West End Village
#2 On the Beach Hotel in West End Village
#3 Romantic Hotel in West End Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carimar Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carimar Beach Club, located on the pristine white sands and turquoise waters of Meads Bay, is an exceptional beachfront resort. Each of our 24 suites offers unique, exquisitely appointed interiors featuring colorful, tropical motifs and exotic rattan furnishings. The spacious 1100 square foot beach front and beach view suites feature all the comforts of home including: full, modern kitchens with granite counters; a living room with flat screen cable Tv and WiFi; a dining area accomodating six people; and a balcony or patio with stunning ocean views and spectacular sunsets. Enjoy plush bedding with luxurious linens in our Caribbean style air-conditioned bedrooms. All suites offer one or two bedrooms and one or two bathrooms. En-Suite King Bedroom. Twin Bedroom with two beds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Carimar Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carimar Beach Club Hotel Anguilla
Carimar Beach Hotel
Carimar Beach The Valley
Carimar Beach Club Anguilla/West End Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carimar Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.