We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carimar cares and caresses” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carimar Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Carimar Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carimar Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Meads Bay, West End Village AI2640, Anguilla   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STAY 7 PAY FOR 5 SPECIAL
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in West End Village
Dover, New Hampshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Carimar cares and caresses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Spent three nights (July'12) and what a lovely experience. Beautiful long beach setting, well-decorated & appointed condo-like 2 bedroom with a full kitchen. People are most helpful and attentive to your needs. A comfortable, tasteful, and colorful condo type experience. The entire resort is so well-maintained that it looks brand new. (We drove to the Anguilla Guest House which we briefly considered and were so glad we did our research and chose not to stay there. It looks pretty bad. And for a bit more you could get heaven.) Meads Bay easily rivals Shoal Bay/Beach as the best beach. But there are so many great beaches. Overall, though an expensive island, Carimar was a good value: a high-end choice for a modest level budget. (for Anguilla, that is) Though many cite the fact that the bedrooms are the only rooms that are air-conditioned as a negative, we didn't find it an issue. The island receives strong breezes, even in July, and is noticeably cooler than St. Martin. The mornings are cool, perfect to enjoy a balcony or dining room breakfast, if you choose. And generally there are amply screens windows and doors when you are in. The A/C works very well at night. Would, and want to, return.

Room Tip: All the rooms seems well kept and have ocean views. The front rooms have a full-on view and cost mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    43
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
109
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Carimar and 3 nights on St. Martin. If I had to do it again, I'd have spent 4-5 nights at the Carimar and 1-2 nights in St. Maarten. For a family vacation, the fact that you get two bed rooms, the living area, and the full kitchen is very convenient. Every morning we had breakfast on the patio and would then head to the beach, which for the most part we had to ourselves. The lack of air conditioning in the living area wasn't really missed and as others have said, it is now standard in the bedrooms and allows for a good night's sleep.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. At check-in I mentioned that we had reserved a car with Avis. They went ahead and called Avis and arranged for them to deliver (and later pick up) the car at the hotel, saving me both time and cab fare. Our maid taught us how to fry plantains and one day brought us a freshly picked papaya.

As others have said, the Meads Bay is superb. The hotel provides the lounge chairs and umbrellas, towels, and snorkel gear. Plus you're just a short walk to Blanchard's, the Straw Hat etc. With a car (highly recommended) your an easy drive from many more places.

In brief, the Carimar allows you to get away from it all, but not too far away.

Just a couple of other tidbits: We were advised to not drink the tap water, but to buy bottled water at the grocery store. (The hotel starts you off with a large free bottle in the fridge). When you visit the nearby grocery store to buy that water don't freak out over the prices as they are in EC$'s ($110 EC = $41 USD = breakfast for the four of us for three days). I didn't think about getting a GPS with the car and for the most part didn't need one, but we did get hopelessly lost trying to find Limestone Bay. Eat at at least once at B&D's barbeque. Get your morning coffee and fresh pastries at Geraud's (10 minute drive).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Clean and quiet with great kitchen amenities and comfortable bedding equal paradise found. Kitchens are new with granite counters and best of all 110V outlets.The living area is well appointed with a couch and island style artwork.

This was a vacation to celebrate my wifes 50th, so we did not use the kitchen, however it would be very useful for families as the restaurants nearby are New York city priced. The only lower cost alternative it the Blanchards Beach Shack next door where you can get a burger for $5 for lunch. The Viceroy down the beach has Caribb beer for $8 to further illustrate how expensive Anguilla is. A good place to diet and enjoy one of the most beautiful beaches I have stayed on.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carimar123, General Manager at Carimar Beach Club, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear CaribBeerMan,

We were delighted to have had you with us on your special day. Today we also are hosting anothjer repeat couple that are celebrating an important milestone as well.

Our staff can and do make all arrangements to your liking for these and or any of life's priceless moments any of our guests choose to celebrate at Carimar Beach Club. it can be as SPECIAL as you choose.

Continued rich blessings to you both and we look forward to your return visit.

Best Regards,

Fred.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My partner and I stayed a week here and it was a great romantic get away. All of the rooms have an ocean view from their individual balconies, and the beach is quiet and safe to stroll on after sunset. The rooms are set up like apartments and there is a full Kitchen if you choose to buy food and cook for yourself. We found out during our stay that the rooms are sprayed monthly for bugs as we had got a notice of them spraying during our stay. The resort has some great snorkeling off the beach and great swimming as well. The only downside of this place is that there is only air conditioning in the bedrooms which will turn off if you leave the door open, but this was not a big issue as long as I am comfortable while I sleep. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO ANYONE TO STAY AT.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed in a beachfront upper level room (#104) in early July 2012. Paying the extra for beachfront is well worth it if you enjoy falling asleep and waking up to the sound of the waves. It is a noticeable difference over the interior facing rooms in regards to privacy. Recommend requesting an upper level room away from the reception area when making reservations for privacy and security reasons.

Room
There are two bedrooms and two bathrooms in each unit. One bedroom and one bathroom are locked if only one bedroom is utilized.
There are tile floors through out the unit.
The rooms utilize 110V electricity, so no issues for US visitors.
Bedrooms have air conditioner units while the rest of the unit is not air conditioned. The air conditioner in the bedroom will not run unless the bedroom door is closed.
King size bed in master bedroom was very comfortable (firm), pillows were very soft (not firm)
There is a deadbolt and handle lock on the master bed room door to the living room for security at night if you want to leave the window louvers in the living room/dining areas open overnight.
Master bathroom has shower and toilet area with small amount of counter space and some cabinets. There is no bathtub. The shower is large enough for two people and has a sitting area.
There are exhaust fans and plungers in the bathrooms.
A safe in provided in each room in the closet
There are drawers and closet space for hanging clothing and folding items.
A hair dryer, ironing board and iron are provided in each room in the closet.
Hangers are provided in the closets.
Ceiling fans are abundant in other rooms and all windows are screened and louvered to allow for breezes.
Full kitchen is provided. The kitchen is very well stocked with utensils and baking and cooking items.
The wireless network worked great in the unit and on the porch
Television is a flat screen about 30 inches big in an entertainment center.
The blinds on the windows and patio doors do a good job of blocking out light in the evenings, but can be noisy hitting the windows when the louvered windows are open.
The walls between rooms are not soundproof. We heard various conversations in other units, especially in the kitchen area.
The maid services did an excellent job every day and were cleaning rooms before 9AM. There are no “Privacy” and “Service” door hangers, but they will clean the room with you sitting on the balcony/patio area.
Beach towels are provided each day on a side table in the eating area of the unit.
A large flash light, bug bait, and cans of bug spray “Off” are provided in each unit.

Reception
The front desk is very helpful. They were happy to talk about and book excursions and make dinner reservations. The majority of restaurants do not start serving until after 6:00PM-6:30PM or later.
Reservations are recommended (especially in high season). A reservations book is located in the reception area to complete for any reservations you may want. Various restaurant menus are also in a book for viewing. The reception personnel are full of ideas/opinions on what to do if you ask. There is a book and an area with various fliers of activities. Masks, fins, snorkels are all available in a closet near reception for visitors usage.

Pool
There is no pool at Carimar Beach Club.

Car Rental
Island Car Rental is available through the resort. The vehicles are located onsite at Carimar. Vehicles are not brand new and have some scratches, but if you are driving in Anguilla the scratches on the car will fit in with the other vehicles. The car rental time frame begins when the car is physically rented and the expected return is the same time on the date of return. Rented vehicles can be left at the airport or the ferry station with the key locked in the trunk if not returned at Carimar.

Driving in Anguilla can be interesting. Remember to drive on the left side of the road. The roads are not paved frequently (or at all) and pot holes are prevalent. There are some instances where you will need to pull to the side of the road and let cars pass before continuing on. There is a SOL gas station within two miles for gas refills. They only take cash.

Walk to nearby restaurants
Restaurants nearby include Blanchard’s, Blanchard’s Beach Shack, Jacala, and Straw Hat and are all within reasonable walking distance from Carimar. We loved walking the beach to each of these restaurants.

Beaches
Meads Bay has smooth sand with calm water and a smooth ocean floor entrance and is great for older people, families and kids. The best snorkeling is near the currently closed Malliouhana resort.
FYI: All beaches are public in Anguilla . There is no nude beach in Anguilla .

Most beaches have no dogs signs posted, but every beach we went to people brought dogs with them. If you want to get away from the masses on a beach, go to Crocus Bay in the off season.

Airport
Small airport with small airplanes. If you are flying on Cape Air you will get asked your weight for weight distribution on the plane. Once you are checked in, paid the exit fee, and gone through security there is an air conditioned waiting area with a television if you walk through the non air conditioned waiting area. There is a small bar in the waiting area, but it is not open early.

Notes
Carimar is not allowed to have a car/van pickup visitors up at the airport/ferry. A cab from the airport to Carimar is $30.00 USD during the day and $40.00USD after 6:30PM. Cash (no credit) was expected payment method.

Recommend reservations at restaurants for nights, as the best places get booked up quickly in high season and some places will not open if they don’t have reservations in low season.

It is not recommended to walk to the nearest grocery store as it is a distance. The best grocery store we found was Albert’s Wholesale Market in the Valley.

Various stores, restaurants and shopping are closed on Sundays.

Bring bug spray as mosquitoes and other biting insects are present on the island. We found many biting bugs while eating outside at some restaurants.

Carimar is located on the west end of the island. If anyone asks you are staying in the “west end”.

Recommend sitting on Meads bay beach and watching the sun set at least once. Many people popped popcorn, sat on the beach and snacked as the sun went down.

Most areas are fine with informal dress. Most restaurants were accepting of a collared shirt and nice shorts for men for dinner. Restaurants located at resorts usually required long pants for men for dinner.

The US dollar was accepted everywhere we went. Just be clear that you want pricing in US dollars. Current conversion rate is 1.00 USD to 2.68 ECD

There is a fee to exit the country. $20.00 USD per person is charged at the airport.

Room Tip: Recommend requesting an upper level room away from the reception area when making reservations for p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montecito, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

This was the best place with the best beach and snokeling on the Island. It was a great time here. Loved having a full kitchen and a laundry room across the road. The hotel is like a bunch of condos, all with a water view. Loved it, loved it. loved it. The people were nice and the place very clean. Bedroom has air conditioning but the rest of the unit doesn't. That sucks but not too uncomfortable. This was the most relaxing time we had on our trip. You do need a car to get out and about unless you plan on eating in every day, every meal or eating at another hotel down the beach. Midnight walks on the beach are perfect. We will visit here again. Thanks so much to the staff and hotel.

Room Tip: Get a rental car, go to the market and cook. Walk down the beach to the right and snokel off shore a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

My parents have stayed at Carimar 20 years in a row and this was our second time. Meads Bay is the best beach on Anguilla and our villa at Carimar was about 20 steps from the sand. The villas are immaculate, extremely well- equipped with everything you could possibly need in the new kitchens including a blender for our nightly rum punches and frozen drinks! The staff are like family, tending to your every need. My son wanted a coconut so one of the gardeners ( Will) got one down and cut it open for him. My brother got sick and they made arrangements for a doctor to come to us and he arrived within ten minutes. The staff make all your dinner reservations, as well as car rental arrangements, boat tours and every other thing you may want/need. Carimar is within walking distance from some of the best restaurants on the island. There is a huge closet full of snorkeling equipment, buckets and shovels and floats. The beach towels are huge and luxurious. Just bring your own clothes and your loved ones and you will have a perfect vacation!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carimar Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carimar Beach Club

Address: Meads Bay, West End Village AI2640, Anguilla
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Anguilla > West End Village
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in West End Village
#2 On the Beach Hotel in West End Village
#3 Romantic Hotel in West End Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carimar Beach Club 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carimar Beach Club, located on the pristine white sands and turquoise waters of Meads Bay, is an exceptional beachfront resort. Each of our 24 suites offers unique, exquisitely appointed interiors featuring colorful, tropical motifs and exotic rattan furnishings. The spacious 1100 square foot beach front and beach view suites feature all the comforts of home including: full, modern kitchens with granite counters; a living room with flat screen cable Tv and WiFi; a dining area accomodating six people; and a balcony or patio with stunning ocean views and spectacular sunsets. Enjoy plush bedding with luxurious linens in our Caribbean style air-conditioned bedrooms. All suites offer one or two bedrooms and one or two bathrooms. En-Suite King Bedroom. Twin Bedroom with two beds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Carimar Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carimar Beach Club Hotel Anguilla
Carimar Beach Hotel
Carimar Beach The Valley
Carimar Beach Club Anguilla/West End Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carimar Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.