We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Quiet Boutique Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anacaona Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Anacaona Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   P .O. Box 200, West End Village AI 2640, Anguilla   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in West End Village
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Lovely Quiet Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

It is everything it claims to be, charming, lovely staff, great location, peaceful, beautiful gardens etc.

Access to the most fantastic beach is simple and only a short walk, mostly through the hotel garden. Most staff could not be more helpful and obliging attending to any queries or problems immediately.

Menu could be more imaginative and extensive but lots of great restaurants around within walking distance.

Certainly recommend.

Room Tip: No lift and many room up several flights, check for your desired location. Garden rooms good for fam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    88
    33
    3
    8
See reviews for
37
171
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

A lovely boutique hotel, quiet and private, nice restaurant with a limited menu. Outstanding staff especially Lydia, the tall bar lady and the breakfast waitress. Three minutes walk from a first class beach. We can't wait to go back.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

The Anacoana Boutique Hotel is in the classic Caribbean style, stucco buildings weaving through lush tropical gardens and coconut palms. It is smallish in comparison to its large neighbor, the Viceroy. But unlike the Viceroy with all of it’s glittering marble, glass and chrome, at the Anacoana you can feel comfortable walking around in beach wear. I was vacationing with my wife of 45 years and our daughter who was in need of some serious R&R from here job. Thus we had a two-bedroom suite that was connected by a screened in porch. I am guessing that it was one of the first unattached buildings in the hotel complex. It was showing its age. The rooms were roomy enough, but there were very limited flat surfaces to put things, especially in the bathrooms. There were some rips along the edges of the screens in the porch, the outside light in the unscreened in patio did not have a bulb, the batteries were dead in one of the air-conditioning remote controls, and there was no draw fan in the bathroom. But the rooms where clean and the house staff did an exceptional job keeping everything clean, including the coffee pot and wine and drink glasses in the kitchen area. I did not have occasion to look at any other rooms or suites.

There are two well-maintained swimming pools. The larger of the two is near the main hotel building and close the hotel’s Firefly restaurant. The second pool is much smaller and closer to the beach. This pool should be “adults only” because it was invaded by young children who upset the tranquility of that secluded pool. The remainder of the grounds could have used a little more care. The lawn areas, though limited, needed to have the tall weeds mowed. And the lights that illuminated the walkways at night needed attention. Some were not working and lying on their sides.

We timed the walk to Meads Bay beach. It was almost exactly 5 minutes at a leisurely pace, once we knew the way. The first time you take the walk, you encounter a “T” intersection on an access road, facing a stucco wall. Do you go right or left? If you look sharp left you will see a small sign on a distant stucco wall pointing to the beach. We were not the only ones to have that initial problem as other newly arriving guest asked us how to get to the beach. And what a beach it is! As advertised, the resort has comfortable beach chairs and umbrellas there for the guests. There is also a beach bar/grill there run by the hotel.

This is a wonderful resort, though a little long in the tooth. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The restaurant is very good. It is very relaxing and peaceful, even with the crowing rooster. It is a Caribbean beauty with a few small warts, but I am already looking forward to a return trip.

Room Tip: The two bedroom suite on the east side is adjacent to a service road. But it is not much of a noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

STAY AWAY from the Anacaona Hotel if you want to sleep well. We were returning to Anguilla for a relaxing 6 night stay. We loved Anguilla because of it's peace and quiet. There is no peace and quiet at the Anacaona. The first night that we stayed, March 9, 2014 we were woken up at 1:00 a.m. by the shrill, loud screeching of a rooster. As soon as we fell asleep the rooster started screeching again. This happened every hour until sunrise. Another nightmare occurred that first night. I was suffering from a stomach bug that had me running to the bathroom every hour. At 4:00 a.m. I was startled to find that there was NO WATER in the room or any of the lobby bathrooms. The night person told me that I would have to wait until the morning!! I informed him that the whole resort probably had no water and that it would be a disaster for the guests. He reluctantly called the maintenance man. I spent the next 2 hours waiting (and being tortured by the cries of the rooster) as they tried to fix the main water pump. Finally the water came back on at dawn. This is what we get for $300+ per night?

We complained to the owner Robin Ricketts the next day about the rooster. His response was that they are wild and that he could not do anything about them. In our opinion the rooster is a pest and must be controlled.

Our next 2 nights were a replay of the first night. We got virtually no sleep. In addition, the rock hard beds, body numbing beds made what little sleep we had poor. At the end of the third night we could not take it any more and cut short our stay. The front desk person was not at all sympathetic. We were given a token refund of just under $400 which does not begin to compensate for a ruined vacation.

In summary this hotel is badly managed with an aging infrastructure that contributes to a terrible vacation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnacaonaManager, General Manager at Anacaona Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
The Owners, Management and Staff of Anacaona Boutique Hotel are very sorry that we were unable to meet the expectations of this couple. We understand that our guests come to Anguilla for Peace and relaxation and we try to provide an environment where that is possible. We know that sleep is important. We are trying in every way we can to get rid of the seemingly wild rooster, which does not belong to us. We are talking to the local agricultural ministry to see if they have any ideas. He is not easy to catch that’s for sure.

The Guest’s starts his review with STAY AWAY from Anacaona Hotel. Well here is a reason to come to Anacaona Boutique Hotel. The staff at Anacaona Boutique Hotel is so attentive to the guest’s needs and so caring that the Maintenance person came in at 4:00 a.m. to ensure that a pump was fixed so that the guest’s would be comfortable and have water. As you will read in 95% of the comments on Trip Advisor the staff are always attentive to the guest experience.

The Guest’s allegation that the property is poorly managed is unfounded. Anacaona in the past four years has built a very high number of repeat customers who praise us for what we are doing. Some persons have mentioned that the Rooster makes noise at nighttime and even joke that the Rooster is confused about the time of day, but none of them allow it to ruin their vacation. they know we are doing everything we can to rectify the situation.

Again we do apologize for not meeting the guest’s expectations and trust that they will continue to come to Anguilla.

Delroy Lake
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Anguilla is stunning for its beaches. We spent 8 days on Meads Bay Beach and loved it. White sand, blue water and very hot. Waters were rough some days and beaches were quiet with no more than 20 people. Anacaona Hotel was chosen because of others' reviews. Its restaurant was great and staff both friendly and helpful. Room was clean and enough for what we needed. Free coffee and Wifi were most appreciated.
Negatives: stray dogs and cats on property, a rooster that crowed all night, and their credit card hold few ... They take 300 on check in without telling you, when you leave you pay your bill, and then you have to wait for the 300 hold refund. We would come back to Anguilla but maybe not to this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnacaonaManager, General Manager at Anacaona Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
The Owners, Management and Staff are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Anacaona Boutique Hotel and Meads Bay. We do hope that you continue to come to Anguilla.

We would just like to clear up some misconceptions: -

1. Anacaona does not have stray dogs and cats on property. The dogs belong to the owners of the a beachside property which is close to Anacaona. These dogs do go onto the beach from time to time. However the beach is public and only the government department responsible for things of that nature can take care of the problem. We have made and continue to make reports to the authorities.
2. Anacaona owns one cat which is an adopted house cat called Jasper. We have owned him for over one year and we ensure that Jasper gets regular medical checkups, and is properly fed. You complained that you didn’t like cats and we actually secured Jasper for 7 days while you were on property. All of our guest love Jasper.
3. We are doing everything we can in order to get rid of the seemingly wild rooster who can on occasion be a nuisance to the Guests’ sleep. We are attempting to catch him which is not as simple as it looks and take him away from the property. We are in touch with the agriculture ministry to see if they can help in this matter.
4. It is a policy at most hotels anywhere in the world, to take a pre-authorization on your credit card when you check in. I have experienced this where ever I have travelled. Where someone has no credit card then they are asked to make a cash deposit. We do apologize if this was not made clear to you at check-in, but we have to protect ourselves as well. Without that pre-authorization a guest could walk out of the Hotel in the middle of the night and the Hotel would not be able to get paid.

Again thanks for staying at Anacaona Boutique Hotel and for pointing out the negatives of your stay. We look forward to seeing you again.

Delroy Lake
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monkton, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We just got back from an 8 day stay at the Anacaona Boutique Hotel. What a great find! We enjoyed our stay immensely. The property is beautiful, just a short walk to the Mead's Bay beach, which was one of the prettiest beaches on the island. Aqua water and powder white sand. They have a great beach bar and grill right on the beach with excellent service. The staff at this hotel is top notch..everyone there was so helpful and very accommodating. Great value at this hotel...would definitely go back. We loved Anguilla...and the Anacaona Boutique Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We spent 8 delightful nights at Anacaona during February 2014. Our group included an 84-year-old grandfather and children aged 5 and 6. The hotel is pleasant and tranquil, with a friendly staff and many gorgeous beaches nearby. We’ve visited MANY islands and fine hotels, and this one is a favorite. We were particularly impressed when we had to take our daughter to the hospital one night for an asthma attack, the manager instantly volunteered to drive there with us, and waited with us at the hospital. Dining at the hotel is quite nice, and you can easily walk (or drive or taxi) to many other great restaurants. Blanchard’s was our favorite. A fun and easy day trip is the boat from Sandy Ground to Sandy Island.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anacaona Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anacaona Boutique Hotel

Address: P .O. Box 200, West End Village AI 2640, Anguilla
Location: Caribbean > Anguilla > West End Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in West End Village
#6 Family Hotel in West End Village
#7 Romantic Hotel in West End Village
#9 On the Beach Hotel in West End Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anacaona Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anacaona Boutique Hotel on the island of Anguilla is a small, intimate, privately-owned and privately-run oasis set in tropical gardens, overlooking (and just a few paces from) one of the island’s most beautiful beaches, the mile-long, white-sand expanse of Meads Bay. It has 27 stylish guest rooms, that include junior suites, 2 & 3 bedroom villa suites and two swimming pools.The goal is affordable chic. The property's amenities also include full beach service, ZaZaa boutique and both on and off beach massage centers. All rooms feature either King, Queen Bed or 2-Double Beds and bathroom with large shower, Balcony/Patio, Frette Linens, Mini Fridge, Air Conditioning,Ceiling Fan, Cable TV, I-Pod Docking Station, Iron & board, Laptop size in Room Safe, Complimentary Wireless Internet,  Melita-Javapod Coffee Maker, Phone, Hairdryer and Locally Crafted Bathroom Amenities.  ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Regatta Hotels, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Anacaona Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirena Hotel The Valley
Anacaona Boutique Hotel Anguilla/West End Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anacaona Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.