We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite Luxury Resort Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viceroy Anguilla

Save Saved
You added Viceroy Anguilla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Viceroy Anguilla
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Barnes Bay | PO Box 8028, West End Village AI-2640, Anguilla   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary 5th Night
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in West End Village
Lafayette, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Exquisite Luxury Resort Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

The beaches and tropical island setting are unrivaled by any places I have ever visited. Stunning views of crystal clear water and long stretches of white sand beaches are hard to beat. But more than anything, the resort itself defines ultimate luxury. The design is innovative, so detailed and truly artistic beyond just great architecture. No expense was spared, no corner left untouched with tasteful décor. The resort flowed into the landscape flawlessly and enticingly luxurious.

The resort truly captures every desire. There was ample space for enjoyable social mingling in the exquisite restaurants and bars. Days could be filled with bike rides, kayaking, and beach lounging. Viceory Anguilla also perfectly capitalized on the luxury of seclusion. The villas pushing beyond 4,000 square feet, boasting personal pools and stocked full of all amenities, provided for a private retreat.

Even more the customer service was impeccable. Virgil Napier, the sales and catering manager, was the most hospitable host I have ever been taken care of by. Every guest was met with an intimate experience catering to his or her individual needs and desires. This attentiveness and kindness defines the Viceroy Anguilla resort as a top of the line destination resort and location wise, a true paradise.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentHall, Director of Sales at Viceroy Anguilla, responded to this review, May 11, 2010
Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor review. We apprecaite you taking the time to share your fabulous experience with others. We will pass along your comments to Virgil as he will be thrilled that you enjoyed yourselves while staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    606
    133
    47
    31
    27
See reviews for
137
506
18
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

First, I almost can't believe the other reviews of this hotel. I have never posted on a trip vacation site before but I feel like people need to be aware of the service at this place. One important thing to mention, if you notice the other reviews, almost all mentioned staying in a villa - this is not the main part of the hotel and obviously will not be most people's actual experience. We booked a studio suite and were told we were upgraded but that was not actually the case. We paid for exactly what we received.

The service is painfully slow. My wife and I have traveled to many five star resorts in the caribbean and the speed of service is not on "caribbean time," it's something altogether slower. At least an hour for room service, etc. The pool service was a joke, literally a train wreck, we set up our own towels and chairs everyday and there is one attendant around for about 20 guests, we literally had to wait for her to show up , then flag her down. The breakfast buffet is free but limited and the service there is poor as well. We were seated at another guest's table one day while they were still having breakfast and the couple next to us one day had their table cleared while at the buffet. You will not get a refill of water or juice at breakfast. You will not get any service with a smile at this place, what you will hear is staff complaining how tired they are and how hot out it is. Expect multiple phone calls to the front desk and up to an hour wait for things like more towels or a cork screw. We were also sent out to a restaurant on the island as per the front desk's recommendation, however they sent us out on the night it was closed! Is this not something a concierge would be aware of?

The food menu is very limited right now which I completely understand as they are in the process of opening another restaurant. The current focus is on sushi (which we love). They were out of tuna while we were there so for a menu that doesn't have a turkey sandwich, a salad , a hamburger or a chicken sandwich on it you might want to have tuna for sushi??? The sushi quality was grocery store pick up quality. They were also out of limes and lemons during the week. You can't make this stuff up. Having said all of this , it becomes more laughable than anything after a few days. You literally feel like the staff is on vacation with you.

On the positive side, the property is beautiful beyond belief and the rooms are gorgeous. It could become a fantastic spot, but the service is horrible!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jantgm, General Manager at Viceroy Anguilla, responded to this review, May 18, 2010
Thank you for your comments. As a new establishment we welcome all constructive criticism and you will be happy to know as a result of some of your feedback, we have implemented various improvements throughout the resort. Not all of the incidents appear to have been reported during your stay and I can only truly apologise and mention that it certainly is not in keeping with how we treat our guests. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed the beauty of the property and elegance of our stunning rooms. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, should you chose Viceroy Anguilla as a holiday destination once again. Should you wish to discuss any of the details further, please don't hesitate to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

We absolutely loved our trip to Viceroy Anguilla in late April. The resort is located on a point and on two gorgeous beaches with Mead's Bay one of the most amazing stretches of beach anywhere. Viceroy Anguilla has spectacular interiors and amenities and the service was excellent on all levels - from the front desk to the pool-side service to the lovely valets. We had a villa with a very large private infinity pool - probably 40 feet long.l. We almost did not even want to leave our villa. The bathrooms and bedrooms are all spacious with beautiful appointments and decor by Kelly Wearstler. WE arrived to yummy hors d'oeuvres, fridge stocked with soft drinks, beer, and water. Our butler Jason was charming and accommodating to every request. We basically alternated between the pool at the villa, large pool a short walk away and the beach club at Mead's Bay with clear Caribbean water and soft white sand. The beach club has kid's toys, really nice sea kayaks and stand up paddle boards and boogie boards - all free. The beach attendants brought blankets and chilled FIJI water immediately and we also had nice lunches beachside. Reki even took us out on the hobie cat and gave us a quick lesson. My four year old twins first sailing adventure! Frankie and the staff at the beach club were all lovely. After a few days, the girls discovered the Kid's Club, and we had a hard time getting them to leave. Marion and Colleen completely entertained the girls - and that is one of their favorite memories. The breakfast buffet is yummy in the gorgeous restaurant overlooking the ocean. We only had one dinner in the restaurant which was quite good and then one great sushi and cocktails dinner in the Sunset bar - which has to be the bar with the best views plus design anywhere. Cocktails and drinks for the girls were all delicious.
I don't think there is a negative about the hotel. There was construction of the newest wing so one of the pools was closed and another pool was being resurfaced. But all of the work should be completed by early fall for anyone who wants to make sure all three pools are done when they go. The girls definitely want to go back and sample the other two pools! With everything going on, I only had one massage but first class treatment. We also used the snorkeling gear and went snorkeling right off the hotel and saw a school of thousands of fish and great variety. and we generally went to the other beach for a sunset dip and cocktails. The property is fairly large, but there are so many different places to soak in the sun and the views that it feels intimate. I'd recommend it to almost anyone. Maybe the only negatives is that my daughters expectations of what their hotel experiences should be are so high!

Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentHall, Director of Sales at Viceroy Anguilla, responded to this review, May 11, 2010
Thank you for yor terrific review on our resort. We are delighted that you and family enjoyed your time with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family back to the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

This is not a hotel.
This is an experience.

I got back yesterday from a 7 day trip to Viceroy Anguilla with my oldest friend for a week of catching up and mentally checking out. I expected blue seas and white sands and pina colada sunsets at a new resort that had great reviews and a blooming reputation (though I agree with other reviewers and prefer to keep this gem a secret!).

What I did NOT expect was that we’d be entering a fantasy world of pure bliss. The moment we walked in, we were in awe.
Kelly Wearstler did an immaculate job. I work in the photography and design field and I scout locations worldwide as part of my job and this place is prime. I haven’t seen anything like it.
The wood, the marble, the lighting fixtures….and that doesn’t include the details, to which none were skipped. Each detail is noticed and cared for.

In addition to the décor, there is an unexplainable magic in the air. The music, the energy, the service. All welcomed us into this extrodinary place leaving me fluttery with excitement.

A welcome cocktail with much care made by Garvey at Sunset Lounge sealed the deal: We were in heaven!

From there, our trip unfolded. We were lucky enough to stay in a villa, and upgrade courtesy of the one and only Virgil Napier, Sales Manager, who proved himself to not only be an expert of the island and the property, but the most amazing tour guide and our favorite new friend. He could not have provided us better service, attention and care.

I could go on on every detail, as I have the tendency to do, but I want others to actually read this , so I’ll summarize some highlights and some tips.

-Sunset Lounge: Sushi is fresh, delicious. Do yourself a favor and order the Coconut Cream Dream, a brainchild delight from the ever-so-talented bartender, Garvey Lake.

-Koba: Fresh food, beautiful dinner, fantastic service.

-The Villas: Our Housekeeper, Donella and our Lifestyle Assistant, Denisio were like family to us and never skipped a beat in keeping our villa clean, well stocked and with the touches that made us feel at home. The Villas are incredible. Private infinity pool, Jacuzzi, barbeque. Its all you could ask for. Even if we never left the property, we’d be content in the villa alone!

-Half Shell: Barbie and the bartenders mixed us up fantastic drinks and served us yummy fresh meals as we overlooked a perfect beach.

-The Beach Club: Charles (The Chef) made a point to bring us special desserts and ensure we were full and happy at all times. The service was impeccable and the beach itself couldn’t have been more plush, comfortable and beautiful. The beach attendants bring you water and towels, adjust your umbrella, and do whatever is needed (without you having to ask!) to assure your moments in the sand are full of true relaxation.

Overall, the Viceroy Anguila is a gem of a resort. I recommend anyone stay here. We’ve all dreamed about these kinds of vacations: white sand, turquoise waters, lounging all day with a pina colada, worrying about nothing…and until I visited Viceroy Anguilla, I had no idea it was anything but a postcard in my mind. Now I know it’s a real place.

This is magic....and there is no place like it.
I could not be happier with this place, nor more strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentHall, Director of Sales at Viceroy Anguilla, responded to this review, May 11, 2010
We must agree with you that the Viceroy Anguilla is truly magic. Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review on Trip Advisor. We love to hear our guests feedback and will share your comments about specific team members with them so they are aware of your compliments as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

We are well travelled and living in NYC. So our expectations are at least above average. We read reviews that expressed concerns about the service and having been there for 7 days, we are here to tell you that the service by any standard was excellent. If there was a problem...they fixed it.

Now on to the hotel. It doesn't necessarily match the same style as the other properties on the island (Cap Juluca or Cuisinart which are more traditional versus VA which is more modern) but it is amazingly beautiful. It has a Zen/spa-like feel throughout.

We were on our Honeymoon so they upgraded us to a 4-bedroom, 5 bath villa...which was almost too much to enjoy. Infinity pool, jacuzzi, outdoor kitchen, indoor kitchen, laundry, outdoor showers in every bedroom bath, flat screens, idocks and marble everywhere. I don't think you should expect this extravagant an upgrade but it seems that they will upgrade you if they have availability. We saw the studio and 1-bedrooms and they were amazing as well.

The Sunset Lounge has the most sophisticated vibe on the island and possibly the best sunset view. The DJ during happy hour is great and the service is not lightening fast but fast by Caribbean standards.

We only ate breakfast (free buffet every morning) in the restaurant. The food is very good and the views are spectacular. Locals gripe that the restaurant will get destroyed in the next big storm because it is perched on a bluff between two amazing beaches on the north shore. But who cares...enjoy it till then!

The beach club is a temporary installment while the rest of the resort is finished up. It's fine. The new pool and pool bar are being finished and look great.

The spa is also temporarily in a villa...but you'd never know it. And the services were excellent.

If we had to be critical, the concierge could probably be better equipped with brochures and menus but they know the island well enough to direct you as needed.

The staff was overwhelmingly friendly and service-oriented.

All in all, if you are going to spend the money, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentHall, Director of Sales at Viceroy Anguilla, responded to this review, May 11, 2010
We are delighted that you choose the Viceroy Anguilla as your honeymoon destinations and hope that it was truly memorable and want to thank you for your wonderful review of our resort. We are beyond thrilled that you had a wonderful time with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the resort sometime in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

I've stayed in many high-end resorts in tropical areas all over the world, including Cap Juluca in Anguilla, and the Viceroy Anguilla is quite simply the best. It is the most visually stunning resort - the architecture shows great respect for its surroundings; the color palette is sophisticated; and the furnishings are impeccable. During our 6-night stay, we were constantly wowed by the discovery of a new piece of artwork or furniture, which was like art, throughout the resort.

Although some previous reviews have talked about issues with service, we experienced nothing but top -notch service everywhere we went. It was by far the best service we encountered anywhere in the Caribbean. The front desk/concierge accommodated every request. The bellmen, especially Kunta and Colin, were the friendliest and most helpful and professional of any bellmen anywhere. The staff at the breakfast buffet was excellent. Service at all the pools and the beach was quick and helpful - prompt chair and umbrella setup, fast drink and food service, refreshing cool face towels, and frequent changing of ice buckets with fiji water. Both the drinks and service at the Sunset Lounge are excellent. We ate most of our lunches on premises, plus one dinner at Coba and one dinner through room service, and there was not a single meal we were disappointed with.

Eli, the tennis pro, is great. The spinning classes with Kimberly were also great. The spa is temporarily housed in one of the villas, which was beautiful. We got great massages with excellent service. We can't wait to go to the real spa next time we visit!

We were upgraded to a one-bedroom suite, and it was huge! Living room and dining area with a kitchenette stocked with free soda and water and a Nespresso machine. Huge balcony with heated plunge pool, two lounge chairs and a sitting area. Huge bathroom, walk-in closet, and beautiful bedroom with a luxurious bed. Every piece of furniture was beautiful, yet so comfortable and functional.

Although the Viceroy is supposed to be the biggest resort in Anguilla, we found the service to be extremely personal and friendly, from Jan, the GM, to everyone who worked on premises. We hope this doesn't change when they are fully operational.

Yes, for now, there is no direct access to Meads Bay. But I did not find this to be a problem at all. The shuttle service is quick. One day, we rode the complementary bikes to the beach, which was a lot of fun.

I also really appreciated that the Viceroy didn't nickel and dime their guests to death (like a Ritz or Four Seasons) - free wifi everywhere, free fiji water, free bottle of champagne our first night, complementary breakfast with no signing of check necessary, and complementary bar snacks at the Sunset Lounge. I also found the prices of the food and drinks to be very reasonable for a resort.

Overall, I can't remember when was the last time I had such a pleasant and relaxing vacation. It was the perfect getaway, where all my worries and cares seem to disappear. My batteries are fully re-charged, and I can't wait to go back!

If all you care about is direct beach access and don't mind tired and dated facilities, furnishings, pools and accommodations - go to Cap Juluca. If you want to experience the absolute best of everything, go to the Viceroy. If you want to truly treat yourself, book one of the villas – absolutely stunning and super spacious and with a private hot tub and infinity pool!

We ate dinner at Picante, Straw Hat, Mango’s and Luna Rosa the other nights – all were delicious!

Pros:
Stunning property, spectacular views, beautiful pools, sophisticated and unparalleled décor, great staff and service, free wifi, free fiji water, nice gym, knowledgeable tennis pro and fitness instructor, plunge pool, comfortable beds, sunsets at the Sunset Lounge, great massages, complementary bikes, complementary breakfast, delicious food and drinks.

Suggestions for improvement:
Group yoga classes; more frequent restocking of toiletries by housekeeping; have or enforce a "no cell phone" policy at the infinity/adult pool; although sushi rolls were delicious, they could be a bit smaller.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentHall, Director of Leisure Sales at Viceroy Anguilla, responded to this review, April 20, 2010
We cannot wait to welcome you back to the resort and can’t thank you enough for your glowing review on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled that you had such a wonderful vacation with us. Thank you also for your praise about so many of our colleagues. We will make sure that each one has an opportunity to read your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

Pros:
Best resort design-wise in the Caribbean
Clean, sleek, modern, no "Golden Girl" rattan chairs in sight
Large comfortable rooms, private plunge pool a real plus

Cons:
Staff seems to try, smiles, but the most basic request (a newspaper) brings blank stares, some hubbub, furious typing at the front desk computer, only to be forgotten a minute later
Order a drink, wait, wait some more, despite the resort being basically empty. I know the Caribbean has its own slower pace, but this is ridiculous at these rates
Keys to the room work 10% of the time - Reprogramming takes 15 mins each time

Overall:
An aesthetic tour de force, between the magnificent property and stunning water view. But it is hard to feel well rested when a substantial part of your stay is spent trying to figure out how to get a Diet Coke and haggling to get access to one's own room bc the key doesn't work. Some call them kinks of a new resort, but I consider them the basics

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentHall, Director of Leisure Sales at Viceroy Anguilla, responded to this review, April 20, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post you experience at the resort to Trip Advisor. We sincerely apologize for the slow service and non-function keys. We are working diligently to improve the speed of service through continuing service training with the staff. Regarding the keys, we have experienced some technical issues with our key systems and have addressed the issue so that it hopefully will not happen again. If you would like to discuss any of these issue with me personally please contact me at brent.hall@viceroyanguilla.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Viceroy Anguilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Anguilla

Address: Barnes Bay | PO Box 8028, West End Village AI-2640, Anguilla
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Anguilla > West End Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in West End Village
#2 Spa Hotel in West End Village
#2 Family Hotel in West End Village
#3 Top resorts Hotel in West End Village
#4 On the Beach Hotel in West End Village
#5 Romantic Hotel in West End Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Viceroy Anguilla 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 35 lush acres, with more than 3,200 feet of beach frontage along both Barnes and Meads Bays, Viceroy Anguilla evokes a relaxed yet polished Caribbean sensibility. The 166 superbly designed accommodations at the luxury hotel in Anguilla include private oceanfront villas, beachfront suites, and blufftop guestrooms, many with private pools.Throughout the Anguillan resort, modern architectural forms interplay with the natural environment, while sophisticated, contemporary interiors by designer Kelly Wearstler add rich textural contrast. The resort's signature restaurant, Cobà, offers dining with exquisite views of Barnes Bay and Meads Bay, and the dramatic bay-view Sunset Lounge and cliffside Half Shell beach bar and restaurant add to the culinary offerings at this stunning luxury Caribbean resort. Two white sand beaches, our glimmering Sunset Pool, an array of water sports, a spa and fitness center, and programs for children and families add to Viceroy's rarefied experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Viceroy Anguilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Anguilla Hotel West End
Viceroy Anguilla West End Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viceroy Anguilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.