We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viceroy Anguilla

Save Saved
You added Viceroy Anguilla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Viceroy Anguilla
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Barnes Bay | PO Box 8028, West End Village AI-2640, Anguilla   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary 5th Night
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in West End Village
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Returned from Anguilla 29th March. The hotel is contemporary and very impressive - a lot of money and thought has been given to this hotel. We loved the room. Very clean.
We met Richard the resort Manager upon arrival and I am convinced this guy has eyes in the back of his head because he clearly knew when to sort something for us and how too. Excellent! Nothing was too much trouble.
The kids club didn't accommodate children in nappies so we didn't use this facility but I didn't feel this was a problem as the Meads Bay pool and the beach were very good for small children. The crib in the rooms was lovely and was made up with properly fitted bedding so didn't feel like a make shift arrangement as is often the case when travelling with young ones. I would recommend this Hotel for people with children it worked for us. Having said that the menu for children isn't great so we ordered adult meals for my son.
I would return again when my son is older to have the use of the holiday club and I could then take advantage of the lovely gym and spa.
It is overall a great place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard A, Resort Manager at Viceroy Anguilla, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thanks so much for your review; it was very nice to meet you! You are correct - much thought was put into every aspect of our property. We're thrilled that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    606
    133
    47
    31
    27
See reviews for
137
506
18
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012 via mobile

This was a family vacation with a 4 year old and 6 year old. Viceroy is nice but I would not recommend it for anyone other than families with teenage kids and adult couples. Very sterile environment. My kids were bored out of their minds after two days, which weighed heavily on us. I felt like I had to be Julie the cruise director. Unlike previous vacations to turks and Caicos and The Cove, there was nothing other than simple pool and beach for the kids to do. As a result, they would not leave us alone to relax. Examples, no one ever showed us where the kids club was, so we had no idea it existed until day 3. It is glorified day care. Do not expect exciting sand castle making with the kids club, sweet women braiding hair, chocolates on the bed, horseback riding on the beach, waterskiing and boating. When we finally decided to get a boat to snorkel- we were a little desperate even with the kids- we were told the the boat was not available until the day after we left. One or two boats for everyone at Viceroy, so you are left competing. The lounges where you eat sushi doesn't have food for kids and the seats aren't great for them either.

In addition, the restaurants are not child friendly. We went out with the kids almost every night and were told that there were only a few restaurants that would accommodate kids. The restaurant the hotel recommended to us was smokeys. It was awful! My mother got food poisoning! The other one was picante as that was pretty good.

The customer service was ok. Concierge at the hotel was nonexistent. From the minute you check in to the minute you leave. Instead, you get a personal assistant who is overwhelmed with all the clients she has. She is functioning as a personal assistantbut bc of how many customers she has she really is the concierge, so it wasn't so personal. Other than her, no employee will ever know your name. Our assistant was nice and just booked us restaurant reservations. When we told her one of the restaurants she recommended was awful, she simply apologized. You really have to go out to get your own activities. The hotel would forget ice when I asked, Parts of room service order were forgotten. When we asked for pails at the beach, we were told where to go to get them. I kind of feel like for what you are paying, they can get it for us. They do this at palmilla in cabo. Not just islandslow but spotty customer service. Good illustration: we met a lady wo was telling me about cap juluca customer service where she stayed. She said that when she got to their recommended restaurant, drinks were editing for them just the way they liked it! The hotel had actually called ahead! Fabulous personal touch. Nothing like that here.

Here Is a nice touch. Our room was amazing! Upgraded to the penthouse but you can't live there the whole time! :) breakfasts are wonderful.

Would I book again? Probably not. Veranda in Turks and Caicos is awesome! Too many amazing five star resorts to return here. if you want seclusion and nothing to do but pool and beach, definitely go here! Great for honeymooners who could hang out in the room the whole time!



  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard A, Resort Manager at Viceroy Anguilla, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Thank you for your review. We apologize that you were not informed of the kid's club - it's great for children of all ages! We're very happy that you liked your upgrade to our great penthouses and agree that Picante's is one of the best places on island for dinner! We very much hope that we can host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Lakes, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Recipe for an Awesome Vacation
1. Go to Anguilla.
2. Go to The Viceroy.
3. Go to oceanfront villa-(Villa 12 - PERFECTION).
4. Get Travis as your Lifestyle Coordinator (Nicest guy you will ever meet).
5. Get Seth as your housekeeper(Sweetest woman you will ever meet) (Also Elois was great too)
6. Get TallBoy to be your cabdriver for the week. If you are not lucky enough to meet him at the docks in Anguilla ask Travis for him for the rest of your stay.

With this staff you will never feel alone and never be in need for anything. The staff and the people of Anguilla are so loving and friendly.

How easy was that!

Honestly, we have traveled around the world and enjoyed some of the best resorts. But the Viceroy Anguilla was just spectacular. Frankly unforgettable. Which is why we are writing this review for the first time.

While our check in process was a little rough (2 hours at the sunset lounge. not a bad place to wait). Once we arrived in our Villa there was nothing more to ask for.

The setting was awesome. View of Barnes Bay was too incredible. The pool, the spa, the outdoor lounge.

We spent the week counting sailboats and nothing else...oh yeah...eating, drinking, and enjoying the island too.

From the moment we arrived at the airport the Viceroy took care of everything, auto transfers, boats, transfers to hotel (tallboy taxi, "island famous", and we used him all week), was perfect and carefree.

Our villa was just a dream. yes a dream. From the pictures online it looks nice. They dont do justice to the size and scale of the room. Our walk in moment was just jaw dropping. And the view from Villa 12 is the best of the oceanfronts...(pssst. better than the beachfronts and no neighbors). We had room service 2 nights for dinner...it was great...timely and good food. The cleaning staff was warm and friendly morning and night. Our suite manager Travis was the master of ceremonies for our entire week. From stocking our suite, to arranging our travel around the island and, to and from dinner...(Tallboy taxi...Thomas is the man).

Everyday we were greeted by the sunshine, the infinity pool, the sand, the staff, the island...what else do you want. Simple...great place, food, weather, people.

We ate at Coba and Veya, both just outstanding. Just incredible. We just want more and more. We traveled to the east end one afternoon to "On da Rocks" and Timmy and his team treated us to a great lobster lunch...he didn't have any crayfish for lunch (due to rough seas that week) so the next day Travis arranged to have Crayfish and all the side fixings delivered to our villa for lunch (he personally took a cab to pick it up). He also got fresh Crayfish to cook on our outdoor BBQ. Myself, my wife and Travis had an amazing lunch by our pool under the cabana looking out at the ocean. A moment we will never forget.

These are the moments that The Viceroy can provide you. Very few other hotels anywhere in the world can provide you with so much amazing personal attention.

Final thoughts:

PLEASE do not read the negative reviews. These people must be very nuts or just not friendly enough to get the attention of the staff. There is just NO way you can give this Hotel, The Staff or The Island a bad review. Listen to this review only and know you WILL NOT be disappointed.

Final Final thoughts:
We plan to return in August with our family. We dont know where else we would want to be. What more can we say...

Room Tip: Villa 12, best of the best. the Oceanfront villas are better than the beachfronts. We looked at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard A, Resort Manager at Viceroy Anguilla, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thank you for your review. We're glad you were able to sample some of Anguilla's great restaurants. We look forward to welcoming you and your family again in August.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Great location straddling two beaches-Meads Bay and Barnes Bay. Three pools; Meads Bay Pool is most suitable for kids and convenient to Bamboo Bar for lunch. Sunset Pool and Bar are adults only and have a gorgeous view and serene feel. Beach and pool service was attentive. No issues at all getting chairs and towels. Tennis courts on site but no organized tennis program. Small lawn bowling court and putting green on property. Great breakfast buffet at Aletta--crepes made to order (more Nutella please!!!). Understated, aesthetic and chic grounds start right at the striking entrance drive. We stayed on the Villa side, which was truly luxurious, so I can't comment on the rooms. We had three kids along and I saw many families ranging from infants to teens. There is a kids club that was well reviewed for arts/crafts, X box, toddler games, ping pong etc, and the staff there was friendly. Overall the staff was generally kind--keep in mind that it is still the Caribbean so things happen when they happen. Concierge service was somewhat spotty but everything got done. Local restaurants worth a visit, having a car a plus. Hotel will arrange your transfer from St Maarten. Be prepared to pay for the experience; if your budget is generous we strongly recommend as an elite experience.

Room Tip: Most rooms have an ocean view. If this is a couples trip ask to stay closer to Sunset pool and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard A, Resort Manager at Viceroy Anguilla, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thanks so much for your review! We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us at our amazing villas!
We hope you'll visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston ma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

I checked into Viceroy Anguilla on Mar 10 2012 and had the best hotel experiance of my life.
I have in the last 6 weeks stayed at the Ritz Carlton in St Thomas,The Ritz Carlton in Naples Fl.and the Four Seasons in Chicago.All of the stays at these other properties were very good but they could not compare to my stay at Viceroy.The service at Viceroy was amazing from the day we got there until 5 days latter when we left.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard A, Resort Manager at Viceroy Anguilla, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thank you for your review. We're thrilled that your stay with us exceeded your expectations! We hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed at the Viceroy in Anguilla. I ended up falling in love with Anguilla because of the great people, great food and great beaches. The viceroy is almost perfect for those who love big, beautifully well designed hotel experiences. As Viceroys go - this is no exception. I prefer the smaller hotel boutique experience in general, but I would go back to the Viceroy, the amenities and the vistas are exquisite. It had a more NYC customer vs European customer (when I was there in January), so if you do not like New Yorkers - this may not be your place:)
BUT... if you like crawfish (similar to sweet tender langoustines) then Anguilla will delight your palate. Every restaurant carries this local delicacy and it is worth the trip to Anguilla for. Enjoy!

Room Tip: we stayed in the villas - PS only the first level of villas really has ocean vistas - and a few on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard A, Director of Sales at Viceroy Anguilla, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
We're thrilled to hear you fell in love with Anguilla! It truly is a special island! We're glad you had an enjoyable stay and hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

So, Anguilla is not the easiest location to make it to. Once you plane, water taxi and land taxi it to this other worldly destination, you are surely not to be disappointed in staying at the Viceroy Anguilla. This hotel is truly amazing from the decor to the service and beyond and by far the nicest place I have ever visited.
Upon arrival you feel as if all your travel burdens are far behind. The hotel is a combination of opulent marble with accents of unique wood furniture. I felt as if I was royalty staying at the Viceroy hotel. All of the staff members are very gracious and willing to assist in any way. Even if it meant bringing a matchbook to your room. The pools are all very luxurious and well kept, the infinity pool right next to the bar is AMAZING. The only small critique I would make is that their was a small amount of construction outside our room. Overall, this is the only hotel I have visited that I would gladly have never left.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard A, Resort Manager at Viceroy Anguilla, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you for your review! We're sorry you had to leave , but we very much look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Viceroy Anguilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Anguilla

Address: Barnes Bay | PO Box 8028, West End Village AI-2640, Anguilla
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Anguilla > West End Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in West End Village
#2 Spa Hotel in West End Village
#2 Luxury Hotel in West End Village
#3 Top resorts Hotel in West End Village
#4 On the Beach Hotel in West End Village
#5 Romantic Hotel in West End Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Viceroy Anguilla 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 35 lush acres, with more than 3,200 feet of beach frontage along both Barnes and Meads Bays, Viceroy Anguilla evokes a relaxed yet polished Caribbean sensibility. The 166 superbly designed accommodations at the luxury hotel in Anguilla include private oceanfront villas, beachfront suites, and blufftop guestrooms, many with private pools.Throughout the Anguillan resort, modern architectural forms interplay with the natural environment, while sophisticated, contemporary interiors by designer Kelly Wearstler add rich textural contrast. The resort's signature restaurant, Cobà, offers dining with exquisite views of Barnes Bay and Meads Bay, and the dramatic bay-view Sunset Lounge and cliffside Half Shell beach bar and restaurant add to the culinary offerings at this stunning luxury Caribbean resort. Two white sand beaches, our glimmering Sunset Pool, an array of water sports, a spa and fitness center, and programs for children and families add to Viceroy's rarefied experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Viceroy Anguilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Anguilla Hotel West End
Viceroy Anguilla West End Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viceroy Anguilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.