We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again not disappointed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle's Nest Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West End Village
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Turtle's Nest Beach Resort
Save
You added Turtle's Nest Beach Resort to your Saves list
Meads Bay | Anguilla, BWI, West End Village, Anguilla   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in West End Village
NJ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Once again not disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012 via mobile

This is our third stay at Turtles Nest and were very happy. I did notice a few added touches to the place that were not there last year. The staff is friendly as ever, Jackie is a great addition and not sure her being there is responsible for the changes I saw. She is a breath of fresh air. Our unit as usual clean, quiet, A/C units in living area and bedroom are a plus. Being within walking distance to Blanchards Beach Shack was also a plus, as well as other restaurants. It is our hidden gem and has not disappointed us. We will return there next year.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    15
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
33
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
northeast
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Turtle's Nest went above and beyond our expectations!The property was neat and clean and kept up and the room that we had was spacious (1br) and light with a terrace overlooking the pool and the beach and ocean.The staff were incredibly helpful and the cleaning staff did an amazing job every day while we were out in bringing our unit back to ship shape...we were so thankful for everyone's effort! We loved the fact that we had laundry facilities right there - so less to pack for our trip. The views from each unit are breathtaking and the location on the beach was centrally located. There is also a top floor overlook patio that all tenants can use and the views from the roof top were even more spectacular. We were close to many amenities,but had a little private haven overlooking the ocean and the beach! We stayed at Turtle's Nest for almost one week and agreed that we would come back again our next trip to Anguilla.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

I really wanted to love this place, and there is lots to like, but not without a few problems, which at the time were a rather large pain the rear. I should probably start off by saying that I understand this is a VERY expensive island. And here on this pricing twilight zone, $340/night is considered bargain basement, such that you'll get far nicer hotel accommodations on other islands for much less.

If you don't want to spend $600+/night, TN is one of just a few options: I looked into Carimar but honestly from the photos, TN looked much nicer in terms of decor for less $ (Carimar doesn't even have in-room TVs). And Arawak while quaint looking outside and on a great beach, has some bad reviews talking about the bugs inside the units. I didnt see inside.

The positives for TN are:

convenient/walkable to straw hat
close to better beaches (rendevous bay, shoal bay west)
close to a grocery store
clean
attractive property outside and nice decor inside
spacious and with everything you could possibly need to cook in if you choose to
friendly staff
small property, and at least when we were there, very uncrowded (aka almost empty). I'm not a fan of huge sprawling resorts with a zillion people.


The negatives:
--beach is not swimmable - every day we saw high waves, sometimes shoulder high or more, and there's almost always wind. Also the sand on this beach is really slurry so you sink down in it, making it difficult to walk vs harder more packed sand on other beaches. But it's very pretty to look at. If you're the type of high maintenaince woman who never gets wet, you'll love it. If you're like me and live to get in the water, it's a short drive to far better waters.

--staff not too knowledgeable about tourist activities. I asked a few questions and got 'I'm not sure' as an answer, like does xyz beach offer snorkel equipment. Instead of saying 'let us help you with any activities' they'd be better off just sticking to making dinner reservations.

-- lack of generator. The island lost power yet other properties managed to keep theirs bc of backup generators, but apparently TN doesn't have this for the whole property. So one power outage meant several hours without power. Even our cab driver seemed shocked by this.

--tiny hot water heater in studios: The hot water heater in the studio units is shockingly small. picture a tea kettle and you wont be far off. It's so small that 2 people cannot take showers back to back, even with quick showers, without losing all the hot water. IMO if a room meant for 2 persons cannot provide a basic necessity to both people, it shouldn't be operational. Another guest said he had the same problem, but he didn't complain. Amazing - again, twilight zone.

I should have been immediately offered a free upgrade, given that the 1 bedrooms were the only units that could provide hot showers because of their larger hot water heaters. Yet I had to ask for a free upgrade, even though they were maybe 20% full. I shouldn't have to pay extra to get hot showers. Not good. It's not like I was complaining about the decor or size of the room. I was asking for something that I should expect to have unless I am camping outdoors!

--washing machine overflow. I tried to wash clothes just once and about half way through the cycle noticed water half covering the living room floor. we had to race out to the pool area to grab several towels to put down. We asked a TN owner if he ever had this problem and he said 'all the time'. If I bought a vaca property that constantly leaked I would find that unacceptable, but to each his own. Further evidence that this place is the Twilight Zone. ;)

Check-in is basically you get handed the key and a few pages of info in an envelope, then the bellman brings up your bags. I actually hate long drawn out check-ins and don't need a super warm welcome, but some might find this a bit abrupt.

Ultimately I think this property would do a lot better to just let guests know they are basically renting a condo and are pretty much on their own. Office staff leaves at 5 daily and isn't there at all on sundays. And if the water/electricity situations hadn't happened, I would have been fine being on my own. As one cab driver told us, 'They operate on a shoe-string over there'. It's just sad that on this island, shoe-string costs so darn much.

Room Tip: If you enjoy hot showers stay in a one-bedroom unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This was my wife and I second trip to Anguilla. We stayed 5 nights in June at Turtle's Nest and loved it. We had a studio which was perfect for 2 people. Great location on a beautiful beach and also near many great restaurants. The staff was very friendly(including Rolex!) and helpful. We will be back!

If you want to relax with the locals go to B/D BBQ which is about a mile down the road. About $20 for 2 people and you are stuffed. In the mornings check out Geraud’s bakery(2-3 min drive) for great pastries. We also really loved Sandbar at Sandy Ground, get there and watch the sun set!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We were very fortunate to return to "The Nest" May-June 2011 Located on Gorgeous, Serene Meads Bay , could not think of a better place to be for a month ! Again, found our unit 1 bdrm. Phase 2/ 4th floor , CLEAN, well equipped, & oh so comfy ! the courtyard & grounds are beautifully kept by smilin Scooby, The Pool & maintenance are always in top notch shape with the ever so popular Darryl who also entertains many in the Musical Brothers Band, Fantastic ! !. Marie & Brittania always doing a friendly job of taking care of bussiness in the office, the lovely Jeanette & Karen Keep the units Clean & Comfy :) Thank You ALL for your kindness, & warmth :) It's always difficult to leave the Nest & the 4th fl. with The GORGEOUS Blue views from our patio They are intoxicating! Thanks for amazing memories :) ~Joe & Rachelle~

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

My husband and I spend nine nights at the Turtle's Nest on magnificent Mead's Bay, Anguilla. The condo is fully air conditioned, spacious, fully equipped, and greatly appreciated after a day at the beach or exploring. Having a washer and dryer is a wonderful convenience for we did not have to bring a lot of clothes and everything we brought home was clean.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. Inquiries were efficiently handled by Betania and Maria was very helpful when planning our departure. The maid service was also excellent. The grounds are well-kept by Scooby and one of the Musical Brothers.

Our unit was ocean front on the second floor. We had breakfast overlooking Mead's Bay and spent many hours swimming the beautiful beach. We alsonswam in the pool and relaxed on the deck in the shade of the building as we read our books.

There are several excellent restaurants within walking distance such as The Straw Hat, Blanchards, Sirena, and The Bistro.

The Turtle's Nest is an excellent choice in accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

We stumbled upon Turtle's Nest when we made a spur of the moment trip to Anguilla from St Martin. The 2 bedroom apt was really well-laid out, with huge bedrooms and living area. Nice addition to have a w/d available and a complete kitchen. The views from the balcony were great, though in one direction up Meads Bay only. Pool was simple but clean. The beach is perfection. There are basic umbrellas and loungers available. The staff was terrific and very helpful, but bear in mind that they are only there 9-5. This isn't a full-service resort in that sense, but you don't really miss it. My only complaint is that the exterior architechture of the buildings is not so wonderful and since they are the tallest buildings on the beach they tend to stick out a bit. Be aware that there's no elevator so if you're on the 4th floor, it's a bit of a hike. On the other hand you'll work off all the good food you'll eat on Anguilla. Bonus: the fabulous Straw Hat restaurant is just steps away.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle's Nest Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle's Nest Beach Resort

Address: Meads Bay | Anguilla, BWI, West End Village, Anguilla
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Anguilla > West End Village
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in West End Village
#8 Romantic Hotel in West End Village
#9 On the Beach Hotel in West End Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Front Condos situated in the center of Meads Bay Beach. Turtle's Nest Beach Resort has 4 exciting condo accommodations to choose from, Studio, 1, 2 & 3 Bedrooms. All condos are air conditioned, completely furnished with fully equipped kitchens and spacious living areas. Private Terraces overlooking Meads Bay Beach. Daily Maid and Linen Service.Enjoy the cool comfort of a swim in our calm sea water or jump into our ocean front swimming pools.Within walking distances are many of Anguilla's finest gourmet restaurants.Turtle's Nest Beach Resort can accommodate group functions and has catered to many destination weddings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Turtle`s Nest Beach Hotel West End
Turtles Nest Beach Hotel
Turtle's Nest Beach Resort Anguilla/West End Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle's Nest Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.