We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Bother” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mangos

Mangos
Barnes Bay, West End Village, Anguilla
(264) 497-6479
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

On an island paradise where the tourist dollar keeps the economy afloat, Mango's stands as the most disappointing and obnoxious dining experience of our week here. While the welcome held promise, the waiter was surly and seemed to have better things to do. My $440 tab bought me snarky comments, ignored requests and attitude. I was so embarrassed for my family I sent them home before the check (finally) arrived. Stay away from this pretentious dive and warn other potential customers of their pending mistake.
A sad finale to our vacation.
Stay away.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    51
    28
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“The Freshest Fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Mangos – one of our favorites, it is always the same and that is what we like – no surprises, great food and service in a lovely setting. Plus, we love their staff, Eileen, Kim, and Andrea were manning the fort. The waves were crashing on the lighted beach - what a view! Conch Chowder, the best – thick and chunky, crab cake – no filler and lovely crust, snapper and a terrific green salad with great tomatoes. Coconut crème brulee –coconut flavor and the top was covered in fresh toasted shredded coconut!
One of our do not miss places - HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal and great views.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Had dinner here this past Thursday night. The food was delicious and the ambience is great. Arrived about 30 minutes early for our reservation to have some drinks at the bar. I loved the SKB express. My husband didn't really like his Painkiller but definitely just a personal preference. David, the chef/owner, chatted with us for a long time. Extremely friendly and had some great stories. I had the tartare of the day for an appetizer which was delicious. The others in my party had the conch chowder an lobster cake. Rave reviews all around. My mom and I had the house special sesame snapper which we both loved. Husband had the mahi special which he enjoyed. I have completely forgotten what my dad had. Enjoyed the desserts except for the key lime pie, which was not tart enough for my husband. However, he has been on a 15 year quest for the perfect key lime pie with no winner yet! Highly recommend going to Mangos. You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Grilled chicken-delish
Snapper-not alot of flavor, would not get
Lobster cake (appetizer)-good
On beach

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMOX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Service staff were snarly and food was so so. View was nice on beach. Food was overpriced.I would not return to this place

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mangos also viewed

West End Village, Anguilla
West End Village, Anguilla
 
West End Village, Anguilla
Sandy Ground, Anguilla
 

Been to Mangos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mangos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.