We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a fun place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mangos

Mangos
Barnes Bay, West End Village, Anguilla
(264) 497-6479
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Still a fun place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We've eaten here many times. We always have the Sesame Snapper because it is simply outstanding. The view is gorgeous, the martinis are great and the service continues to be excellent.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    50
    28
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springtown, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“this is a new discovery for us...and we are anguilla veterans and anguilla lovers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

my wife and i visit anguilla a few times each year. we have our favorite reatsurants, and it takes a bit to get us out of our comfort zone.

last night we tried mangos for the first time. the reason was that mangos was serving grilled lobster, and most restaurants on the island are having trouble getting fresh lobster at this time of year.

when we arrived, we were warmly greeted by the owner. we were escorted to our table overlooking the ocean by a warm and friendly employee. the restaurant was nicely appointed, and the ocean breeze was gentle and comforting. it felt really good.

the waitress explained the specials. they were interesting. i tried a pyrat punch, which was great (and strong). the conch chowder was truly exceptional. we ordered an inexpensive bottle of wine which was fine.

i had a grilled 1 3/4 pound lobster, which was simple and yet delicious. frankly, its what i dream of eating when i think of being in anguilla. fresh vegetables and potatoes accompanied the lobster. my wife had a chicken dish which she too enjoyed.

dessert was a ginger creme brulee...big enough for two...and excellent. the owner (david) stopped to talk with us. he was gracious, friendly, and attentive. the waitstaff was always available, but didnt hover and were not overbearing.

in all, it was an exceptional experience, and was a surprise. we will now put mangos on our short list of places where we will eat whenever we are in anguilla.

thanks david and team for a great evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Spot!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Of the many restaurants in Anguilla, it is hard to pick where to go. I definitely recommend Mangos. Our meals were great and the service was great as well. Right on the beach!!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

we were recently on anguilla, and went to mangos for dinner. I must say it was the best meal we had. liked it so much we wnet a second time. the Chowder was to die for, and the grilled crayfish devine. My husband had the trigger fish with an orange caper sauce that was light and flakey. the owners were close by to assure that our experience was memorible. If on anguilla, you must go.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The view can't make up for everything”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

It doesn't get much nicer. Open air restaurant looking toward the Atlantic side of Anguilla. Baby powder sand lit up with night spots and the surf lapping the shoreline. After that breathtaking moment, the rest of our experience at Mangos was meh. Most great dining experiences on this island begin with a greeting that makes you feel right at home. Mangos was a hurried, not exactly warm and welcoming. As there are many ex-pat couples who run restaurants here, I thought the woman who sat us might be an owner, since prior she was heavily engaged talking to another possible owner about service issues. We wouldn't know since we were shown our table and when my wife asked basic menu question, the might-be-the-owner maitre de simply said, your waiter will be here shortly.

The was half empty yet the staff seemed frenetic. We enjoy "island time" and are used to relaxing and being unhurried. You don't get that vibe here. Pacing is uneven. Our waiter was very matter of fact. You got none of the usual warm you get from so many other places here.

As you'd expect, the food followed the fair-to-middlin' experience. The house special Sesame Snapper, was especially special. Just an average fish dish. I had asked if the Triggerfish would stand up to the Snapper, was assured it would, but it fell far short.

We had heard so many good things about Mangos we were surprised at the experience. But those recommendations were from previous visits and now were hearing our experience was the norm. Maybe something's changed recently that needs to be undone? Because if you can match the menu and spirit with that fabulous view, it would be top of the list.

Also be aware, no Amex!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mangos also viewed

West End Village, Anguilla
West End Village, Anguilla
 
West End Village, Anguilla
Sandy Ground, Anguilla
 

Been to Mangos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mangos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.