We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Worth The Money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Layla

Layla
110 High Street, Esher KT10 9QL, England
01372 462333
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Layla is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 53 Restaurants in Esher
Price range: $32 - $194
Cuisines: Lebanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Layla serves a range of traditional Lebanese meals and drinks. The private alcoves make it the perfect choice for an intimate evening with a loved one. Also there is Live music Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays and belly dancing on the last Tuesday of every month.
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not Worth The Money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Food disappointing and pricey for what it is. Take issue with the 12.5 service charge. The same dishes exist in the Greek cuisine, and most of the featured dishes I have eaten better prepared by my mother. Did not taste freshly made. Wondering if it had been frozen and heated up once order is placed. Won't be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    43
    15
    26
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very mixed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Bouncer on the door, does not bode well, maybe the Surrey mums kick off after a couple of sherbets, or the local footballers fight over the last bottle of crystal.
The food is quite tasty, but as you need multiple courses/starters as as such is actually is quite expensive and of course they assume you wish to pay 12.5 pct service.
Having paid the bill, and leaving the establishment, the waiter stated we did not paid for a bottle of wine and started diving inside my wallet. Maybe a genuine mix up but handled very poorly. Eastern European staff very cold and off hand. Will not return. Good luck

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice bar, great cocktails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Out with a friend on Friday night, had a reserved table and the bar service was great. Amazing Cocktails, good live music and comfy sofas and cushions all around gave it a Moroccan feel. You can also smoke shisha outside if you want. The bar is for slightly older clientele. I think we were probably the youngest there 28 years old. Think the average age group is about 35 plus. But a very friendly (although very slightly pretentious) atmosphere but on the whole a nice place to spend your Friday evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food, disappointing service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Having booked for a table of five on a Friday night, our party were shown to a table set for four. When we pointed out that the booking had been made for five people, the front of house started to set another place
on the table between two of the settings. It was obvious that the table could only comfortably seat four and when we complained, the front of house became very hostile and advised that ,this was always how we seat a table for five'. A quick glance around the restaurant showed other parties of five sitting at comfortable round tables.

Having awkwardly seated ourselves we choose the set menu for five people (£25 per person, minimum of four people). However, our waiter seemed confused by this and advised us that we would have to order from the six people menu (a set menu which required a minimum of six people). We pointed out that the set menu we required was for a minimum, not maximum of four people and that, as five, we could order from that particular menu. The waiter sighed and shrugged his shoulders and proceeded to order the food we requested.

When the food came, it was obvious that the waiter had
not understood our order at all because the food that arrived was substantial for four people only. However, following a discussion with another member of staff, the matter was rectified, although this did mean having to stagger our meze course whilst waiting for more food.

However, the food itself is wonderful and cooked to perfection, with gorgeous flavours.

The dessert again seemed to fall short on the amount required for a five person set menu, but by this point we could not be bothered to raise this.

All in all, this restaurant is wonderful for food, but is lacking in customer service, particularly from the lady at the front of house who never apologised for the inconvenience we had of squashing around a table set four four and was visibly hostile when we questioned this. Our discomfort around such a small table was a result of the restaurant
trying to book as many covers as possible, which made our evening was disappointing experience overall.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Currently available for use with the taste card. We found this a great experience. Plenty of vegetarian choice, good food, nice atmosphere and great value. Imagine I will return frequently!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Layla also viewed

 

Been to Layla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Layla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.