We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coral Eclipse Day 2013!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandown Park Racecourse

Sandown Park Racecourse
Portsmouth Road, Esher KT10 9AJ, England
01372 46 43 48
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 things to do in Esher
Attraction details
surrey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Coral Eclipse Day 2013!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Had a fantastic day out at Sandown...!! I even managed to get half price tickets (£14) !! The weather was great and added to the day....along with the fact we had a few winners between us. The bar seemed to be quicker than on previous visits (well done to the bar staff!) However,it would be better if the race course had more shade....as we were melting in the heat...and there must have been 30 of us trying to sit under one tree!! My only other moan...is that it would be so much better if there were more courtesy buses from the railway station!! That is a long walk...so come on Sandown...".wise up"...you would get more customers if you help make the journey that little bit easier. I only saw one small minibus!...All said and done...overall we had a great day out!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    29
    3
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“First Time at the Races”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This was my first visit to the races, it wont be my last, we had one of the VIP boxes which were well presented and all the staff were friendly, to get the best odds you need to be track side getting the best deal as the totebet in the boxes are not as competitive. Food was nice, hot fork buffet.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
“Has become a rough pub - they no longer care about racing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Sandown Park used to be my favourite racecourse to visit near London, because apart from excellent racing, all the drinkers used to be cordoned off in the upstairs bar of the Stand, so that those of us who love horses could watch them in a pleasant atmosphere. There used to be a rule that no drink could be taken out in front of the stand or by the paddock, and people respected that.

Went racing today - the entire seating area of the stand was awash with lined up overflowing pints of cheaply made overpriced lager, and crowds of men and women standing right next to signs saying "please do not stand here in front of all the seats". No sign of any staff caring about any of it. No wonder fights broke out at Newmarket and Ascot racecourses in recent years - it is just a matter of time until they are commonplace here too.

I suggest that horseracing fans boycott this place and leave it to the uncaring boozers.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
“Sunset at Sandown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Sandown is far from our favorite racecourse but for a pleasant dry evening in July... for good racing and for an Alfie Boe concert, Sandown proved to be a very good choice.

We were planning to eat at home much later in the evening and so the snacks available at the course were quick and easy... if just a wee bit expensive.

We were a bit annoyed that the stage for the summer music nights had blocked out the view of a good bit of the course from the north end of the stands. The compensation was a wonderful sunset in the opposite direction!

Alfie Boe was great. So overall a very good night.

We liked best the superb view of the stage from the stands.

We liked least the fact that the stage partially blocked our view of the course.

Top Tip: Eat or snack early on before it gets too crowded.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great day out with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We came here for an evening race followed by Jessie J concert - had a great time and they regularly put on evening events with music. Tickets are not too expensive and its nice to see top artists so close to home.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandown Park Racecourse also viewed

 

Been to Sandown Park Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandown Park Racecourse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.