We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Claremont - ideal for a stroll” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Claremont Landscape Garden

Claremont Landscape Garden
Portsmouth Road | Esher, Esher KT10 9JG, England
01372 467806
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 10 things to do in Esher
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Woking, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Claremont - ideal for a stroll”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Claremont Park is run by the National Trust. The gardens and lake are historically interesting, and much is made of Queen Victoria's affection for them. However, they go back much further than that and the history is available on a board set above the terrace. The lakeside and woodland walks are undemanding but enjoyable, with many seats giving restful views over the lake. There is a National Trust cafe, carefully tended, with a small adjacent shop. These gardens are well-cared for and have paths wide enough for pushchairs. Various trails are organised for children during the school holidays. We had a very pleasant afternoon there and will go back later to see the shrubs in bloom.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    30
    14
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic gardens with something for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I went here last weekend (when it was a lovely cold, crisp day) with my Mum and Aunt. We all loved it and will definitely return. There really is something for everybody here - beautiful grounds, benches if you fancy a rest, a dressing up and craft area in the Thatched Cottage, a 9 pin bowling alley and a lot of information on the history of the gardens. Absolutely wonderful place.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

It's more than 20 years since we visited here, when they used to stage a themed 'Fete Champetre' every summer (I don't know if they still do this, but other people have mentioned summer concerts). I do remember that it looked lovely in the evenings as nighttime took over from daylight - if you were across the lake from the amphitheatre, you could really see it's shape well, as the various paths, terraces and levels were so well lit up.

On my recent visit, I just went around the lake, and it was extremely pleasant. I couldn't at first work out what all the screeching was about, until I eventually narrowed the noise down to the numerous Ring-Necked Parakeets in the treetops.

There looked like a marvellous wooden play area for the children. The tearoom is tiny, and the shop is even tinier, being just a corner of the tearoom. But there is plenty of outside seating (some of it covered), and a raised wooden platform with tables on it (closed off on our winter visit, presumably because it was too damp), from which it looked as though there might be views across the lake.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“One of the nicest National Trust gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have been NT members for over 30years & live close to Clermont gardens. Hence we walk 2 circuits of the garden, maybe once a fortnight. It has the most beautiful Amphitheatre, where they hold musical concerts in the summer.It has a lake in the middle & the contours of the garden make for a great exercise ,walking. There are a lot of Camilias, Rhododredrens & a wide variety of trees.
One of the most picturesque gardens, one will ever see.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Super ethereal Zen haven of peace - Next to the main road!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I love Claremont. It's all about the beauty of nature and a quiet walk around a beautiful lake. Surprisingly you won't bump into many people with big sunglasses scraped back hair and big hoop earrings swapping contact details of the best cosmetic surgeons. In fact most times of the year, you will have to work hard to bump into anyone.

As a member of the National Trust, entry is free and I have stopped there (it's very local to me) just to do a circuit of the lake and have a coffee. As rejuvenating as any other form of meditation.

You have nothing to lose but your stress.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Claremont Landscape Garden also viewed

 

Been to Claremont Landscape Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claremont Landscape Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.