We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Chope

Hotel La Chope
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel La Chope to your Saves list
Hotel La Chope
48 rue d'Arras, 62140 Hesdin, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hesdin
Caterham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great little hotel ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed here for one night at Easter and from the moment we made the initial enquiry nothing was too much trouble for Eric. We arrived during an informal jamming session and were welcomed by Eric and some of the locals. Small friendly and clean hotel in the heart of the town and at a good rate, well worth a visit if needing a hotel in Hesdin.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katiesman, Owner at Hotel La Chope, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hello Jon F,

Sincere thanks for staying at La Chope and for posting your kind review. Always heartening to hear when guests are pleased with their stay and I hope we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you again in Hesdin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
8
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

The owners are very friendly and helpful and make you feel at home straight away. The rooms are clean, well appointed and the beds are comfy. If you fancy some quiet time there is large selection of English books and games in the library or if you fancy socializing the atmosphere in the bar is very welcoming and friendly. I would recommend it to families and couples alike. I didn't do any local site seeing but the town center is less than 5 mins walk away and there are plenty of restaurants and bars to enjoy of an evening.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katiesman, Owner at Hotel La Chope, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Hi Oz,

Just seen you kind review on Tripadvisor and would like to thank you very much. Glad you enjoyed you stay and hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again at La Chope.

Best wishes to you and those close to you for 2014.
Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I didn't actually stay here, but utilised the hotel when passing through Hesdin during my London to Paris bike ride. Hesdin (like most small French towns on my trip) is a sleepy town in the afternoon but surrounded by many interesting places. Eric was most hospitable and extended himself above what I would expect any other hotel to do. The lounge area is to his and his wife's taste I am sure, but that makes small hotels interesting otherwise you would be staying in the nearest Ibis. I can summarise to the point where in the toilet you have soft hand towels as you would have at home!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Nothing was too much trouble at this 4 roomed hotel run by the lovely Eric and Katie. The room was light, clean, airy and had none of that same old basic functionality feel you get in so many hotels these days. Highly recommended to family and friends so far.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katiesman, Owner at Hotel La Chope, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you 'James R' for your kind comments about your stay at La Chope. We are always delighted when we get favourable reviews and I hope we will have the pleasure of thanking you in person at some point.
Best wishes
Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Friendly English couple running the hotel. Nothing is too much trouble. I would have no hesitations in going back. The hotel is well looked after, as are the guests. If your looking for the personal touch then you will not be disappointed. Very child friendly too.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Sorry to say a sad looking hotel from the outside and no improvement inside.Arrived to check in to find a notice on the door "Back in two hours"
Chairs still on tables when we were let in at 4.30pm.The beige carpet had seen many better days and the whole place had a stale smoke smell.
No TV in the room (when asked was told "too expensive") which would explain the lack of tea making facilities and the cheap chipboard tables and mismatched furniture
A shame as the position was good but I would guess the fact we were the only guests it has become a self fulfilling prophesy of failure

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Longton
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Small four bedroomed inn on the edge of Hesdin, in the Seven valleys area of the Pas de Calais region.
A lovely relaxing place to stay for a break to explore this much underrated region. The hosts, Eric and Katie are truly welcoming and laid back people with a wealth of knowledge and tips on this charming town and environs.

You immediately feel part of the furniture and can enjoy the lovely bar area and local passers-by at your leisure. The four bedrooms are all up stairs and offer clean unpretentious accommodation. La Chope offers bed and breakfast with outside parking. The hotel is 2 minutes walk from Hesdin town square, with it's vibrant market. The town is well worth a meander down the narrow alleys that lead to the River Canche. There are a number of restaurants in the area from simple to expensive cuisine, ask the helpful patrons for advice,

We had only planned to stopover one night but enjoyed our time there such that we delayed our departure another day, surely the best form of praise!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Chope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Chope

Address: 48 rue d'Arras, 62140 Hesdin, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Hesdin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hesdin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Chope reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Chope, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.