We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penguins” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Garenne

La Garenne
62140 Huby St Leu, Hesdin, France
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 restaurants in Hesdin
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Penguins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I went to this restaurant a couple of years ago and completely dismissed it on account of the furry toys in the form of penguins stuck upside down on the ceiling, couldn't quite get my head around that. So returned last week with some French friends, this place is classic, it reminds me of being in Paris 35 years ago. What I had forgotten about was the wine list, unbelievable in a small town like Hesdin, 1st growth clarets at up to 2000 Euros a bottle, incredible Burgundies by negociants such as Domaine de la Romanee-Conti, this is nectar of the gods, if you have deep pockets. We drank a superb Rhone for 28 Euros a bottle. On to the food, terrine of fish and spinach, good flavour, but really they need to stop using powdered gelatine. Skate wings, perfectly cooked with black butter sauce, I have eaten this dish in 3 star Michelin restaurants and this was just as good. The accompanying vegetables were just the right side of firm without the bloody squeak found in some, much more expensive places who really should know better. The pudding was a real eye opener, Creme Brulee with mint, I kid you not, maybe they think the English eat mint with everything, it was half full of Brits that evening. Anyway, it was disgusting, truly, truly disgusting, and yet more powdered gelatine, the other desserts were absolutely fine. The two owners were charm itself and the service, by them, was competent and professional. 20 Euro dinner menu for three courses of good food in a charming environment, "sans Pingu"

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    38
    20
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food, great welcome.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We really enjoyed our visit to La Garenne. The food was really good - though portions were very large and I was guilty of having, in my grandmother's words, 'eyes that are bigger than my belly'.

With 3 vegetarians in the family (including 2 young children) it can sometimes be difficult to find a good eating place in France, but they weren't fazed by the non meat-eaters and were able to rustle up more than the ubiquitous omelette for my daughter in law. She declared the vegetable filled crepe delicious - she particularly liked the sauce!

The restaurant is decorated in a rather unusual style - quite ornate but in a farmhouse kitchen sort of way. It's difficult to describe (best experienced in person!), but it was certainly welcoming and comfortable - cosy, in fact.

I would say that the food is excellent value for money - beautifully cooked and served well - though some of the wines were way beyond our reach. As it happened the house wines were more than acceptable, so we didn't have to break the bank to have a few glasses.

I would definitely recommend a visit to this quaint eatery - you won't be disappointed.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Is this the best value restaurant in the world?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Lovely interior - straight from the 1890s - and an amazing three course lunch for 14 Euros. The house wine was very good value too, and we all waddled home feeling this was a really exceptional restaurant. Staff perfectly pleasant and the cook really does make you feel that French cuisine is the best in the world

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We have an amazing meal for only 14 euros for 3 courses! Really good traditional French cooking in a lovely garden setting. We were served by the owners who were polite, friendly and helpful. The meal came with small aperitifs to start with and various choices, all of which were expertly cooked. Highly recommended if you are in the area, La Garenne is deservedly placed first in the restaurants in Hesdin.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The most romantic restaurant in France”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is one of our favorite haunts in France, it is ambiance plus plus. Always a lovely menu and a wine list to die for. I must mention the cheese board, it is the best I've ever seen (although I must admit you need to be very hungry). Staff do not speak much English, so your French needs to be good. The restaurant is split into three very different rooms all beautiful, plus outside dining amongst the trees. The food is always wonderful.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Garenne also viewed

Hesdin, Pas-de-Calais
Hesdin, Pas-de-Calais
 
Hesdin, Pas-de-Calais
Hesdin, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to La Garenne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Garenne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.