We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Restaurant & very French” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Garenne

La Garenne
62140 Huby St Leu, Hesdin, France
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Hesdin
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb Restaurant & very French”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We visited when staying in Hesdin at the end of May 2013. We were a party of 8 including 2 kids. Our party ate from the €20 & €25 menus. As other reviewers have said the food is perfect (think awesome fine dining quality) & the portions are enormous (think American diner sized portions!) I ate mussels & mushrooms to start, followed by steak (cooked to perfection on the open wood fire in the dining room)
The kids weren't too hungry so asked for some chips & baguette (not on the menu) which was no problem at all & there was no charge for these!
The décor is unmistakeably French & seriously quirky too. We had a perfect evening!
Including soft drinks & 2 bottles of wine the final bill was only €180. This is quite simply one of the best restaurants we have ever eaten at. Superb.

Don't miss out on eating at this place if you're staying in Hesdin or within 50kms

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    28
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“French country Cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

a great restaurant, a warm welcome and excellent food

this was quite find we ate ther 3 times 1 lunch and 2 diners very good value

whole thing was very quirky in the french style, portions were very large 25 euros for a 4 course diner
excellent

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, great service and surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The restaurant and garden are a joy to behold - full of character. The staff were friendly and very helpful, and the service was excellent.
We chose the €20 menu which was 3 courses with excellent choices - and the hot crusty rolls and butter were replenished when the waiter noticed we had eaten them all. The food was fresh and beautifully cooked (large portions as well).
A really enjoyable evening

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romford
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We visited here with locals at the weekend, and was not disappointed. The quirky garden and indoor decor are lovely, and the big open fire in the main dining room actually get used for cooking certain dishes. They have a lovely varied menu, and price range. Finally the food - excellent! I had mussels to start and then the veal kidneys, which I would highly recommend. The portions are generous, and the service is lovely. Would recommend you give it a try.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful unique worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

La Garenne is one of those places that you really need to visit. We have been coming here for years (at least 12+ years) and it is awesome.
Not haute cuisine, but atmosphere, open fires, good solid French classics and wonderful hosts.
The palce reeks of charm and character.
Love it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Garenne also viewed

Hesdin, Pas-de-Calais
Hesdin, Pas-de-Calais
 
Hesdin, Pas-de-Calais
Hesdin, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to La Garenne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Garenne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.