We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lush view over pool/ coffee plantation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Damsan Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Buon Ma Thuot
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Damsan Hotel
Save
You added Damsan Hotel to your Saves list
212 - 214 Nguyen Cong Tru Street, Buon Ma Thuot, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Buon Ma Thuot
Sydney
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Lush view over pool/ coffee plantation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Spacious room with polished floorboards and large window overlooking pool/ tennis court down below and lush green foliage of coffee plantation. Located in a lovely street with very friendly shopkeepers, cafes and low key eating places - lots of locals saying hello. About 15- 20 minute walk from Victory Monument, even though at night not many street lights. Breakfast buffet fairly extensive Asian fare. Restaurant at night was dominated by large, noisy, smoking local celebrations so didn't get to try. Friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the pool / gardens - very pleasant outlook (can get a little noisy if ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    29
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
20
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Myself and 2 other friends share a room and very happy with breakfast, room quality and amenities such as swimming pool. If you are in Buon Ma Thuot, highly recommend that you take a small trip to Phan Chu Trinh and check out Green coffee in Phan Chu Trinh, just pass the Cao Nguyen Hotel

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarsfield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

This hotel was a huge surprise, it didn't seem to be well situated in town but was a delight to stay at, very huge hotel, beautiful pool to enjoy an afternoon dip, lovely big rooms , strong wifi and a breakfast to die for, I would definitely stay again

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yiwu
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We've stayed at Damsan hotel for 2 nights. The room was spacious, bathroom was fine with a bath/shower. Our aircon didn't work but we were alright with that so we didn't mention this. The breakfast is ok. Not much western food. Some bread, jam, butter, cornflakes, milk.
The pool is great although you have to take a lot of steps down to get there. The hotel doesn't have an elevator. We thought some staff was friendly but some women were not friendly at all. When we checked out, she helped other people while we were in the middle of our payment. When we left there was no goodbye or anything. Just ignored by her.

The mixed feelings we had come from the massage part. The worst massage ever! In the hotel they tell you it costs 200.000 dong per person for massage, jacuzzi and steambath plus sauna. When we arrived in the massage area, the woman doesn't understand ANY english.. Very weird. She is very confusing and pulls you everywhere you need to go. We were pushed inside the steambath after that she pushed us into the shower and then the massage... Horrible. The girl was sitting on me, when I was completely naked. Please use the towel in between. Feels very uncomfortable. The massage was just a quick touch here and there. After that she asked for a tip?!?! The massage only lasted for maybe 20min and it hurt..

When we walked out to change and leave, because the jacuzzi's were dirty (flies in it) and they were not on, the lady owner asked us for a tip again. We told her that we didn't bring any more money than 400.000. She tried to explain that we had to go back to our room, get money and give it to her?!
This was our last night at the hotel. After that we've heard that this lady rents the space from the hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was near the reception. Very nosy in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Have been here a few times for work. Very friendly staff who speak English well. Rooms are comfortable but nothing special. Can recommend this place for business as well as vacation. They will take good care of you.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We travelled here after an instantly forgettable few days in Nha Trang, deciding to experience something completely different from the big cities and manic beach life.

The Damsan stood out as the best place in the area. As we knew it was three star our expectations were set accordingly. The hotel is fine, simply a very basic 60's style building frequented these days by local businessmen. There is a very large pool, cleaned daily but at the bottom of a long set of stairs. Down here you'll also find the tennis court, in reasonable condition.

The rooms are relatively spacious, clean and comfortable. The bed was too hard but the pillow (singular !) was much better. Furniture was basic as was the bathroom, bath/shower. There is a small kettle, fridge and a couple of tea bags/coffee sachets provided. Shame it was Nescafe and not some of the local coffee, which the area is so well known for.

The fridge/mini bar has a couple of beers, cokes, 7up and water, all at ridiculously low prices, what a refreshing change !

There was a pretty old portable tv in the room, with most of the channels being Asian with the exception of the HBO movie channel, the Discovery channel and an Aussie channel.

Unlike other hotels we've stayed in so far the sockets here only take Vietnamese plugs and the hotel did not have an adaptor.

The walls/floor boards are pretty much wafer thin as well so you hear every bang, scrape, cough and sniff. Shame as our room overlooks the pool, tennis court and garden area as well as the coffee plantation so the surrounding area is very quiet and peaceful.

Our biggest annoyance was the ants in our room, all over the bathroom and in our beds. The sheets in our bed were also stained. We spoke with Reception after our first night but we there was no obvious sign that they'd tried to address this.

Breakfast was a bit of a disappointment, really just French bread sticks and toast for our delicate palates. After a week in Vietnam we just can't face Asian breakfasts ! The fruit was hard and the tea/coffee cold.

We're told that the restaurant is actually one of the better ones in the town and offers a good variety of Vietnamese food. We didn't try it as my daughter and I arrived feeling rough after two days of sickness in Nha Trang. We grabbed some breads, pastries and sandwiches from the Hanoi Bakery instead - great selection, fresh and tasty and again ridiculously cheap.

Opposite is the Black and White restaurant/cafe. We heard good things about the cafe and had hoped to try to restaurant until we read the review on TA !

All in all, the place was ok given that this is a three star place in the central highlands of Vietnam. We stayed for two nights so didn't spend much time here. It makes for a perfectly adequate base for seeing the local areas, which we loved. Lak lake in particular was excellent - local village tribe and elephant trek.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Clean, friendly, efficient and comfortable. This hotel helps you feel like a visitor in a foreign land. What Do I mean by that obvious statement? Only just enough compromise to international travellers to insure this hotel feels genuinely local yet gives confidence to relax. Occasional tourist, and popular with businesses in the coffee trade.

Rooms spacious, a little dated by international standards but clean and maintained. Lovely gardens and pool.

No lifts and quite a few steps down to the gardens.

Food in the restaurant good both breakfast and dinner but don't expect much western.

And what lovely people! Rooms, reception and restaurant.

Simple and truly reflective of BMT and the region.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Damsan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damsan Hotel

Address: 212 - 214 Nguyen Cong Tru Street, Buon Ma Thuot, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Dak Lak Province > Buon Ma Thuot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Buon Ma Thuot
Number of rooms: 45

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Damsan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.