We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why Book a Chain if there is this Hotel?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Osteria della Pista

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Osteria della Pista to your Saves list
Hotel Osteria della Pista
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Verbano 1 - Malpensa Airport, 21011 Casorate Sempione, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Why Book a Chain if there is this Hotel?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

The Hotel Osteria della Pista is in a small town near the Malpensa airport of Milan. I booked the hotel as it offers a free shuttle service between the airport and the hotel. The shuttle leaves the hotel every hour, when you arrive in Malpensa you need to call the hotel and request the shuttle to pick you up. Casorate Sempione itself is a very small town, so don't expect many sightseeing attractions there.

The hotel staff is very friendly and caters to the international travelers by also speaking English and German. The rooms are modern, very comfortable and - most important to me - very clean. Breakfast is included in most room rates, with the breakfast buffet being basic, but acceptable. Don't expect the well stuffed smorgasbords you find at other places, but you need to keep in mind that this is a local run hotel.

I can highly recommend the hotel. It is also worth mentioning that the hotel also includes a very good restaurant, so you don't need to go outside for dinner. Please see my restaurant review for details about it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    40
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
60
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed here right before our flight back home. Very small place with a restaurant downstairs. The food is phenomenal. Our dinner was one of the best in Italy in 14 nights. Florentine steak was amazing. Many people had pizza, which looked absolutely great. We decided to go for a steak and some pasta for an appetizer as well as clams. Everything was delicious. Desserts were also great and their home made limoncello is simpy unforgettable. About 10 minutes car ride to the airport, so if you are in Malpensa area I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmar, New Jersey
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

This family run hotel and restaurant is the entire package. Located a 10 min ride from MXP their frees shuttle picks you up at position number 10 on the taxi level. The friendly driver speaks English . Check in was simple. The rooms were very clean, modern and with spacious baths and great climate control. We walk this small town with friendly locals and great gardens. Don't miss dinner at the hotel. Home made dished, local beer and wine. I have never had better overnight on a flight layover .

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We received great service from this family run operation. They assisted us with printing out our boarding passes. Their free shuttle service to/from the airport really came in handy and made that part of vacation stress-free. Our dinner at their restaurant was the best meal on our Italy vacation, plus it was extremely reasonable. The only slight disappointment was that we were promised boxed breakfasts in the morning for the three of us (by the female attendant) since we had to take the shuttle back to the airport prior to the start of the free breakfast. Although our breakfasts were forgotten, there were boxed breakfasts on the counter for the other two passengers that rode to the airport in the shuttle with us. We were hungry and had to sit their while they ate theirs. Human errors do happen though and that did not take away from our great experience. In fact, I gave the owner one of the two Trip Advisor Excellent Service pins I was sent by TA.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Hotel close to airport, in a nice quiet town area. Rooms modern, clean and reasonable size. Restaurant and bar area very pleasant. Breakfast basic, but okay. Staff very attentive and polite. Overall, good stay!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Hotel close to the airport. Those coming flight evening / night we recommend to rest and start fresh the next day.
Breakfast very basic but very nice. We do not need more than fresh bread and butter and coffee.
The hotel is family-run since 1970. Maintenance level of the hotel and rooms very good
There is free parking adjacent to the hotel. Just a few minutes away has a nice pizzeria Bottom line recommend the hotel

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed at this little family run hotel for one night on our last stop before leaving Italy for New York. We were travelling on business and as anyone can see from the reviews, the hotel was very highly and most enthusiastically rated. All that hype makes it difficult for any establishment to live up to and this one is no exception. Firstly, there is nothing, and I mean absolutely nothing around this hotel except a village of small private homes. There are not even any sidewalks anywhere so walking around with cars whizzing by can be a little intimidating. There is another small 3 star "albergo" down the road, a sorry looking cafe/bar which was closed in the afternoon and an auto repair garage. The restaurant in the hotel does not open until 7 p.m. and the hotel has no facilities for amusement. The only thing to do upon your arrival, if you should get there in the morning or afternoon is to surf the web, read or nap. There simply isn't anything to do. Period.
The hotel is decorated in a modern but plain manner. The rooms are clean, but tiny. It's quiet. We went down for dinner at about 7:30 and were expecting a fabulous home style Italian dinner. I ordered the "fritto misto" local fish of the season and it was horrible. Don't order it. The fish was NOT fresh and had that sickening cod liver oil flavor. I also ordered a side salad, very ordinary. We ordered a litre of white wine and ended up with a sparkling product. My partner ordered a pizza and said it was the least best pizza he had had during our entire two week trip. Believe me, he tried a lot of pizza in Italy so he was speaking with some authority. Finally, we ordered a tiramisu and shared it, it was just average. The bill came to more than we thought it should have given the quality. Actually, the owner of the hotel and restaurant came by our table because he got word that we were not happy. He mumbled a bunch of defensive excuses and told us that we had actually ordered the wrong items on the menu and that the food was really very excellent. Go figure.
Now to the breakfast which everyone raved about. In each hotel we stayed at in Italy, breakfast was included. This hotel included the breakfast as well, however it was the worst of all the places we had stayed in Italy. Lots of bread products, all dry and stale. A bit of salami and cheese, but our pokey server was so engrossed in conversation with a German couple that he was neglecting to refill platters of food or even provide serving plates. I had to interrupt his little "tete a tete" pour trois to remind him that we needed some things. And if you can believe it, coffee was available through an automated device and was the worst anywhere in Italy. Can you believe it? In THE country where coffee is a religious experience. My car dealership here at home offers better automated coffee in the service department.
However there are two saving graces here. One is the complimentary shuttle from the train station to the hotel and then to the Malpensa airport whith no extra charge and the other is the cost of the room which is cheap by Italian standards. Often, I've found that people are more positive about a place or product when the price is lower. Maybe that's what's going on here. The owners are pleasant, they speak English well enough and it's convenient. But if you are looking for a bit more fun before leaving you may want to consider a location that offers more action than this one.

Room Tip: Ask for a triple sized room if you want something bigger than a closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Osteria della Pista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Osteria della Pista

Address: Via Verbano 1 - Malpensa Airport, 21011 Casorate Sempione, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Casorate Sempione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Casorate Sempione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Osteria della Pista 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Osteria della Pista is a renovated building of 1875, located just 7 km from Malpensa Airtport and 500 metres from Casorate Train Station. The hotel offers a free shuttle to both the Casorate station and the Airport, free parking, and free Wi-Fi. The rooms were completely renovated in 2013 and are soundproofed and air-conditioned. Each room offers a flat-screen TV and a large, private bathroom with bath or shower. The 100-years-old restaurant and pizzeria is run by the owners of Hotel Osteria della Pista, and serves classic Italian cuisine, wooden hoven pizzas and Mediterranean specialities. Breakfast is a sweet and savoury buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Osteria della Pista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pista Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Osteria della Pista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.