We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“going in the right direction (& h2 comparo)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caliente Caribe Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Caliente Caribe Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Caliente Caribe Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Specialty Resort   |   Abreu, Cabrera, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“going in the right direction (& h2 comparo)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We returned to Caliente Caribe for another visit. The resort is going in the right direction and we plan to return, but it is still a work in progress.

We were fortunate to get one of the 1-BR villas that has been recently renovated. Only about 30% are. All new fixtures in the bathroom (toilet, sink, BIDET). New fittings with those and the shower too. New tile walls & floor in the bathroom including the shower. New furniture in the bedroom, living room and dining area. The pseudo kitchen (no cooking apparatus) had a new counter and cabinets. Even the interior doors were new.

There is a small fridge that Housekeeping stocks daily with a starting ration of bottled water and soft drinks. (We heard that not all villas have bidets; we've had one every time we were there.) There is a small safe in the closet which is operated with a physical key (as is the front door).

There are two airconditioning units high on the walls that you use the same remote control on. There is an eccentricity to the electricity. The resort generates its own electricity. There are two generators that are switched morning and afternoon. The "blink" (which sometimes takes several minutes) knocks the A/C units offline so you'll have to turn them on again (with the remote) later.

But there are weaknesses that impair the completion of the mission. Our renovated unit had a shortage of table lamps, we took one of the two in the living room and took it into the bedroom. Otherwise there was only the harsh overhead light. There was no clock in the unit; people used their i-devices as clocks. The pillows on the bed were obviously much iolder than the bed. Wifi around the villa area which is down near beach level is iffy; people go up to the main lobby (top of the hill) area for a better signal. (We don't go on vacation to surf the net or email so we didn't use wifi the whole week.)

Meals are table service. Breakfast and dinner at the top of the hill, lunch by the beach. Staff is friendly but, let's say, forgetful. For example, my wife asked if they had avocado. They said yes, she asked for some with her salad, "yes". I asked for some too, on the side with my sandwich, "yes sir". Meals came. No avocado. Never mind, by the time they fixed it, we'd be finished eating, or sitting hungry if they took the plates back. Once we ordered a ham & cheese (it was on the late-night menu) to go. Put it in the fridge and when I went to eat it: no ham. Just a cheese sandwich. Typical. Don't expect more and you won't be disappointed.

Resort setting is beautiful. Beaches are steep and there can be substantial wave action, not good for wading or floating but if you are a swimmer you can swim out. There are a lot of outdoor beds now, with four posts and top rails. Good for basic bondage! But only a few had palm fronds on top for shade. Hot tub, regular pool and separate volleyball pool down below near beach level. Large non-heated pool that nobody uses up top, and a hot tub that usually isn't turned on unless there is high occupancy.

The on-property playspace, Club Colette, is nicely done in a recently renovated retro style. But whether it is open and what days depends on the groups attending the resort. During a Swingers' week it might be open every night; others not so much. The resort shuttles you there and back by taxi van since while on property it is on its own rough unlit dirt road. The Cliffside room blocks are like large basic hotel rooms each with their own individual patio or balcony. These are up top on the same level as the lobby/restaurant.

===

H2 comparo. Draws a lot of the same clientele. The resorts are like oranges and grapefruits. Both citrus but not trying to be the same. During the day everyone is down at beach level. There is NO swim-up bar there. The setting is more relaxed and PRIVATE than H2. No beach vendors, no Jet Ski Guy turning off his engine just outside the rope and sitting there oogling the naked women from 6 feet away.

But also, the times we've been there, less rowdy action. Staff might get a volleyball game going and keep some music playing, but no "ECs" doing their standup schtik (at least when we've been there). So pick based on your own preference.

The rooms are far and away better at Caliente than H2. The villas are twice the size. They each have their own covered patio or balcony. They are separate little buildings, drunks are not talking in the hallway and passerby don't hear you farting on the toilet. The ones that have not been renovated are similar in condition & decor to the rooms at H2. The Seacliff rooms are kind of like the rooms at the former H3.

At H2 people make excuses for the rooms and rationalize "you're not in the rooms much anyway". Bulldinky, at CC you'll LIKE your room. But go where you want based on what your own priorities are. We favor CC.

Room Tip: Villas are closer to the beach area, Seacliff rooms closer to breakfast & dinner service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    37
    16
    12
    14
See reviews for
2
126
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife and i visited this tropical, paradise for the first time in February 2012. The flight was excellent and the trip from Puerto Plata was interesting and the time flew by. It was a bit longer than we expected however we are used to the caribbean as we have family in the islands and have vacationed in this part of the world for years.

Arrival was easy and quick and we were in our villa, no fuss no muss. Our luggage was waiting for us at the door by the time we had checked in and had a welcoming drink.
We found the villa to be more that adequate it was clean and comfortable and we had a wonderful view of the ocean.

The first night was a buffet dinner and super bowl part in the tiki bar. No clothes just a riot. I even won the first half pool. What a start to a vacation!! It just got better and better from there.
The staff were friendly and happy and it showed in their attention to the guests. Patricia runs a good operation. We met a lot of happy somewaht crazy people , played tonnes of water volleyball and dined on great food. What more could you want from a week in paradise?
We are already booked for the same week next February so we can party once again with the friends we made on this trip.
By the way if you think we are young crazies we are both sneaking up on 60. Hows them apples?

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

I traveled to caliente 16-19 august.. With my wife.. I have 28, she 25.. Am a little nervous when arrived to the hotel because was the first time in a nudist hotel.. The service was very good since the start.. I never been nude before but when i went to the pool, i feel very comfortable and take out our clothes..my wife be in topless with a gstring because she is very shy.. Am sure will be back as soon as posible.. Is a paradise.. Do whatever you want, in the place you want.. Good food and very nice people staying in the hotel.. Try it..

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

took over 2.5 hours from the airport and the ride was VERY interesting.

The upkeep of this resort was was horrible and potentially dangerous and definitely aggravating.
The internet only works part of the time even though signal was available. The two bedroom unit we stayed in was full of bugs and spiders which were very large. Towels racks and toilet paper holders were missing from the bathroom and they did not supply fresh towels or toilet paper when needed. The toilet was a disaster. The bed linens and pillows were an atrocity. I am glad we brought our own pillows, sheets and blanket. The blanket was ripped and not clean. Walking to our unit at night 4 out of 5 of the lights on the path were non functioning making the walk dark and dangerous. The tennis courts, street lighting, ceiling tiles in gym, flooring in restaurant, broken gym equipment, 50% of the light bulbs in the unit were inop, and also in the resort.
considering the price the location was nice but maintenance was horrible.
The herding for dinner was horrible, dinner was never on time. Service was horrible to get drinks. I guess because it was all inclusive even though we did tip the service providers.
The resort runs on generator power as opposed to commercially generated electricity at least two times a day the power goes off for a period of time which in turn disables air conditioners until you manually turn it back on. We even lost 220 power for 3 hours one night therefore no AC at all. This is summer in the Caribbean so it was really HOT!!!
Horribly maintained and managed!!!!
Reduce the price or make it what you pay for!!!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms but ours was the only one we saw with an outdoor shower which was very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed at Calient Caribe for 8 days in July. We enjoyed our trip but other reviews that suggested planning your trip when a takeover group is schedule are spot on. We went with a group (maybe 70-80 couples) that we found on the internet. Despite the group takeover, the resort was maybe 60% booked. I understand that they closed the resort the following week for maintenance because they only had 10 guests scheduled for that week. They are still building their market presence in this vacation niche so I wouldn't be surprised if this starts becoming less of an issue as time goes on. Especially since Hedo is having management issue. A travel agent told us that Hedo may not be open in 6 months so booking a trip there is risky at this point.

The food was good, Collete's night club is a nice touch, the beach bonfire rocked. The rooms aren't extravagant but that wasn't important to us. The sexual activity wasn't as overt as you would find at Hedonism. This was a bit of a disappointment for us but I think this is dependent on the group you are with. When picking a takeover week you need to identify whether the takeover is a nudist takeover or a lifestyle takeover or you may not like what you find.

We are from southeast US. The weather was actually milder than what we have during the summer at home so that was nice. One day, the temp got up to maybe 93 and the locals were complaining about it. We got a chuckle out of that.

We rented one of the beach front villas - they are worth the extra cash in our opinion.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This was our first visit to Caliente Caribe but it certainly won't be our last. We were only able to stay from July 1 through July 4 but in that short period of time we felt a peace and serenity we had not experienced for a very long time, since the closure of Hedonism III. We truly believe that if you loved Hedo III then this may be a place to check out as management and staff make you feel welcome throughout your entire stay.

We flew in to Puerto Plata and enjoyed the drive to the resort but we have been informed that we will be able to fly into Samana (gotta love WestJet) which is considerably closer to the resort.

We stayed in a villa as they were on sale while we were there and we wanted to try one for our first trip. The room was lovely, with two air conditioners which kept it cool and comfortable at night.

When we first arrived we were met by the manager, Patricia as she drove into the resort right behind us. What a lovely lady she is and she instantly made us feel welcome. The desk clerk was equally friendly but unfortunately I never did learn how to spell his name (his nickname is Eucalyptus though). Jose was there right away with rum punch and then we were taken on a tour of the resort while our bags were shuttled down to our room.

The pictures on the website do not do the resort justice. The buildings are clean and well kept, sure a little cosmetic work needs to be done but compared to the resort we are used to visiting this was heaven.

We visiting during a lull so there were only a few of us (14 on the day we left) but that just meant that we got to know all the other guests and the staff very well. The bar and restaurant staff speak English and seem to really appreciate it when we tried to speak Spanish. One interesting perk that everyone should know about is that this is truly a clothing optional resort which means anything goes clothing-wise, including in the restaurant. If you want to come to dinner in the nude just bring a towel to sit on and all is good.

The food was excellent, all ordering is done off a menu which is changed daily for dinner. Breakfast and lunch are the same but with approximately 20 items on the menu there is a lot to choose from. Be warned though, breakfast is huge unless you decide to share or explain that you only want 1/2 the normal order. Everything was delicious at every meal and if there is something that you would like but it is not on the menu they will do their best to accommodate you.

For those of you worried about the water - no worries. All the ice is made from filtered water and all the drinks served at the Tiki Bar came out of bottles; pop included. The water is perfectly safe for brushing your teeth or washing out your personal insulated mugs.

Yes, there are two levels to this resort. No one used the upper pool or bar while we were there and everyone only went up to the top level for breakfast and dinner. Lunch is served at the beach in the Tiki Bar where there is ample seating in a beautifully shady area where the ocean breezes blow through to keep everything cool. The lower pools (Volleyball and Swimming) were both very clean and in good condition. The swimming pool is large enough to swim laps if you are feeling energetic.The hot tub was not hot while we were there but the swimming pools stayed so hot in the evening no one wanted a hot tub anyway.

To get from the top level to the beach you can either take the stairs (58) or there is a road that runs down the hill behind the second row of villas. If you can't get up or down contact the front desk and they will send someone for you. One of us injured a leg and getting down the hill was very painful so we took the ride.

Our room was very clean with air conditioners in both the living room and bedroom. Unlike some other resorts the air conditioners are cleaned regularly and no one experienced the typical "tropical sore throat" that we usually get. The bathroom was spacious with a nice tile shower but be aware that each villa has its own hot water tank and they are not large so shower quickly.

Overall this was a wonderful vacation and we would recommend this resort to anyone who wants a clothing optional vacation whether you are in the lifestyle or not.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms but the quietest rooms are the villas at the far end of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We first visited at the end of January and liked it well enough to go back a couple of weeks ago. This time we stayed in one of the villas. A villa costs more, but it's worth it. First, there is less hiking up and down the hill to get to and from the tiki bar and the lower pools. Second, there are two air conditioners, one each for the living room and the bedroom, and the room was easily kept cool during the summer heat. (Note: The power is shut off for about 5 minutes each day to switch back and forth between generators, but it's on a predictable schedule. I mention this because you have to turn the a/c back on after the power is restored and you'll want to take care of that before the room gets too hot.)

The food was noticeably better this time, probably because it was the off season and there were far fewer guests. We were happy to have more Dominican choices this time.

Because there were fewer guests, the lower hot tub was always clear. Last time it tended to stay cloudy because of constant in and out of guests with sunscreen and massage oils. The lower pool heaters were working this time. We didn't use the upper pool this trip. There were no wi-fi issues this time.

The staff were courteous and eager to please as before. Example: My wife wanted some sangria. They didn't have any, but a short while later he walked up with a glass of sangria. He had gone online and found a recipe, improvised on ingredients that he didn't have on-hand, and made one of the best sangrias we've ever had.

The Colette club on the premises was nearly intolerable, unfortunately, because the air conditioning was not working on the dance floor and in most of the other rooms.

We had a massage in the beach side hut again this trip and it was excellent.

We learned more about travel options this time. For our first trip we flew into Puerto Plata. The shuttle ride is shortest and least expensive, but the air fares are higher. This time we flew into Santo Domingo. Even with the additional shuttle charge, our overall expense was less because of much cheaper air fare. It's mostly toll road through the countryside. We heard from others that Santiago was a good option for them as well.

Room Tip: The villas are easier to keep cool when the a/c is working well. If you have an issue with the a/c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caliente Caribe Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caliente Caribe Resort & Spa

Address: Abreu, Cabrera, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Maria Trinidad Sanchez Province > Cabrera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Cabrera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Caliente Caribe Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Caliente Caribe Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caliente Caribe Hotel Cabrera
Caliente Caribe Resort And Spa
Caliente Caribe Resort & Spa Dominican Republic/Cabrera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caliente Caribe Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.