We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient location for first or last night near Auckland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chestnut Ridge Farmstay B&B

Chestnut Ridge Farmstay B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Te Kauwhata
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chestnut Ridge Farmstay B&B
Save
You added Chestnut Ridge Farmstay B&B to your Saves list
40 Moorfield Road | PO Box 34, Te Kauwhata 3782, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Te Kauwhata B&B and Inns
Skipton
1 review
“Very convenient location for first or last night near Auckland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

Janet and John are wonderful hosts and cooked us the best dinner we had during our two week visit to New Zealand. Their home is very convenient for Auckland International Airport and we can recommend it to any travelers. The only drawback for us was that we needed a two bedded room and this meant we had a rollaway in addition to the regular double bed so there was little spare space for our luggage. We did not sleep well because around midnight a local air raid siren sounded and a very loud volume and this meant a disturbed night, and there is a railway line running nearby. Next morning John explained that the siren was the method of calling out the local fire service volunteers, But the warmth of the welcome and the quality of the food more than compensated so we would certainly stay there again. Johnny & Susan Beerling

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

Chestnut Ridge Farmstay was a perfect stopover for our trip from Bay of Islands to Waitomo. Janet and John welcomed us into their home and then suggested a wander around the farm. As the name suggests, lots of Chestnut trees and animals as well. The en suite bedroom was a good size, well equipped and separated from the main house by a large garage. We had asked for an evening meal, and as the weather was good, our hosts invited us for drinks and nibbles on their veranda first, followed by a delicious 3 course meal catering to our dietary requests. A very comfortable stay in a peaceful location with charming hosts.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

Chestnut Ridge is a wonderful spot with perfect hosts. Janet & John really make you feel at home with a warm welcome and wonderful food. Knowing we were arriving direct from a long flight they invited us into their home to relax until our room was ready and when we discovered our credit card had been blocked they gave us every assistance to rectify the problem. The bed is the largest we have ever slept in and we even had our own garage for our car.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

We drove direct to this lovely little b and b direct from Auckland Airport. Greeted by Janet and John who made us very welcome with a cup of tea and cookies. Our room was totally separate to the house and very conveniently placed next to the garage where we put our hire car. The room had a huge double bed with lovely bathroom and a terrace. Ideally placed for the new hampton downs race track, this place is well worth a visit. We even persuaded Janet and John to come to the race track to watch my husband race. We had a delicious homecooked supper one night, definitely to be recommended. We thoroughly recommend this to anyone looking for peace and quiet, and friendly hosts. Janet and John were so helpful with anything that we asked, nothing was too much trouble. We shall definitley go back next time we return to NZ.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

We arrived on the Monday evening and were made very welcomed. The hosts had provided all of the facilities promised for the children (3.5 years and 19 months) in terms of beds and high chairs, and we had a very welcomed meal together.
Breakfast was a buffet style allowing us to feed the children at our own pace, and after breakfast our hosts made the offer to feed the children early and then for us to eat later with them. This was a wonderful idea, and worked very well for the rest of the week. Our hosts produced boxes of toys for the children to play with, and we were allowed to roam in the grounds and use the trampoline in the garden.
Our hosts also provided plenty of ideas for activities that were child friendly, and when they saw us walking home from the playpark between the rain showers, kindly offered a lift.
What really stands out for us is that the children were made very welcomed and so we could relax. We were also able to eat later in an unhurried manner, and this offer even extended to when the hosts had family to stay on the Friday. We left feeling very well looked after.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2009

We had the pleasure of spending the last night of our holiday in NZ at Chestnut Ridge and were only sorry we couldn't have been there longer. John (originally from Leeds) and Janet (from the USA) were first rate hosts, welcoming us initially with cold drinks - much needed on a hot day - as well as friendly chat. Our room was a good size, with possibly the widest bed we've ever slept on! One major benefit was proper fly screens to the patio doors and windows, allowing the breeze in and keeping flies out. The ensuite bathroom was spacious and well equipped. We had elected to have dinner with John and Janet, which proved to be a good idea as their hospitality was exceptional. Pre-dinner snacks and drinks (including John's excellent home-brew) were served outside on the deck overlooking the orchard and the wider delightful view, and the dinner which followed was plentiful and delicious. Breakfast was equally lovely next morning. Our hosts were pleasant, attentive and warm people who really made us feel at home. They went out of their way to provide details of places to visit before we made our way to Auckland Airport, which is less than an hour's drive away. We wouldn't hesitate to stay at Chestnut Ridge again - and as a final recommendation, the prices were remarkably reasonable for an excellent stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2007

We stayed at Chestnut Ridge Farmstay for one night after arriving from the South Island.
We arrived at about 5-6pm after Janet and John, the owners, emailed really easy directions from Auckland airport. It was about a 45 minute drive.
We were greeted on arrival and invited to put the car in the garage which we did. Our room was the other side of the garage to the house. The room was well furnished and very comfortable. Fresh flowers had been put in the room and the bathroom which was a lovely touch. Both the bedroom and the bathroom were spacious. The bed was massive with an electric blanket if needed.
Janet and John invited us to join them for a drink in their living room which we did and had a very pleasant evening in good company.
We opted for an evening meal and John cooked ample food on the barbeque which was great.
If you are looking for homestay type accomodation not far from Auckland airport we really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Liked — Good company
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chestnut Ridge Farmstay B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Ridge Farmstay B&B

Address: 40 Moorfield Road | PO Box 34, Te Kauwhata 3782, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Te Kauwhata
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Te Kauwhata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet rural setting. Beautiful views. Six hectare chestnut orchard with sheep, cattle & chooks. Large gardens. Super-king room with spa-bath en-suite and Queen room with shower en-suite. Continental breakfast included. Full breakfast and dinner available as optional extras. Golf, Rangiriri Historic Battle Site, Whangamarino Wetland, Lake Waikare & Hampton Downs Motorsport Park close by. Only 45 mins drive south of Auckland International Airport, just off SH1. Ideal first or last relaxing stop for international travelers. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chestnut Ridge Farmstay B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.