We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for families with small kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Free Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Free Beach Club to your Saves list
The Free Beach Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Icnusa, 25, 09043 Costa Rei, Muravera, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Costa Rei
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good for families with small kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Very nice beach. Nice location. Nice and clean resort. Not big and friendly.

Pay more for superior services - you will get sun beds in the fist line on the beach, access to the beach restaurant Moby dick - highly recommended (opened from June, 15 last year).

Room Tip: If you pay superior package ask for a room with a garden if you travel with small children. You will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    314
    128
    55
    16
See reviews for
462
103
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kutna Hora, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Fisrt of all, I booked this hotel according the reviwes and also personal experience of my mum, who was there 2 years ago at the end of Sept.
Me and my future husband (aged 30) stayed here for a week from 28 August to 5 Sept.
It simply was a disaster. If you dont have kids with you or arent aged over 60, dont go there, you will get really bored.
The check in at the reception: little bit too complicated and slow, but overall OKAY. You have to pay a deposit for allmost everything - card for bars, towels..
We got the room in the upper side of the hill, room itself was clean and quite comfortable - double bed, safe, fridge.., but from the outside it would definetaly need a reconstruction- doesnt look like 4 stars. The view from the balcony was nice, over the sea, which was a little bit far to go..
But when you firstly came to the main restaurant Il Central, we were terrified. Everything is soooo crowded, you can hardly find a place to sit,
Choice of food- starters and salads okay, but always the same, then pasta, fish and meat, okay but not the best.
The second worst thing is the beach- not the beach itself, but the amount of umbrellas and sunbeds!! You lie 10 centimetres from other people, so we didnt use this part of "free beach cllub beach"- (they should call the hotel Full Beach instead :) and we went away, where it wasnt too crowded.
We had the information that during the high season, there is almost 1800 people ( count them adult, and like + 500 children from the age of 0 to 8, who are simply everywhere. ( Not that I dont like kids, but this was too much..
Before our arrival, about 300 seniors came and you can imagine how hungry and noisy they where. It was almost impossible to pick up some food.
If you dont have a superior - i do reccomend to book a table at a grilleria -for lunch and pizzeria-for dinner- its a restaurant in the garden. But dont forget you have to wait in the queue from about 8.30 to 9 to reserve it, than its full.
Overall, if it wasnt too crowded, it wouldnt be that bad, but we can see, that for the owner of this hotel the profit is the only to be interested in.
And its really overpriced compared to hotels in same category in Meditteranean sea. Free Beach club would definetaly deserve only three stars.
And you have to pay for everything in addition.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reggio Emilia, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Amazing stays in front of beach, walking free untill the Peppino's Scoglio (rock). The animation staff you will transfer directly in Dirty Dancing contest, for free! Each evening! Sail boat, wind surf and more for rent? One of few location where I come back. Translate: fun for life (I've see on the local T-shirt)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The resort is located in a beautiful area along Costa Rei in the South-east coast of Sardegna. The set-up is very nice, with the “villini” arranged around small alleys and surrounded by flowers, especially bougainvillea. I was given an “oleandro” (oleander) room and was happily surprised when I opened the windows and discovered that it had a balcony with a fabulous view over the sea! The room was pretty basic, but functional and kept very clean.

The first impact when I arrived was at the reception: the service was extremely slow and not all the staff were particularly kind. The system they use of separate vouchers and cash deposits for many services, even for the beach towels, was rather annoying; I wish I understood why they do not charge fees to the rooms to simplify life. It was also surprising to see that, in a beach resort in a hot summer, even bottled water in the rooms was not included in the package. So, the surprise with the room with a view well compensated the reception’s disappointment.

The beach was nice, a relatively narrow strip of sand with several rows of “ombrelloni”. The resort has many facilities to meet a variety of requests and needs. Included in the package are family-oriented activities, performed by an active “animation” team, with shows held every night in a (modern) amphitheater-like structure. Even tennis, with a very friendly trainer, and canoeing are included. But there are also facilities for diving, going on sailing on a yacht or small sailing boats (with instructor), and enjoying outgoings on motor boats around the coast. These are unfortunately all extras, are charged separately and are expensive. I did enjoy fully the day I spent on the sailing yacht, with a friendly captain who also cooked for us unforgettable pasta with sea urchins and “bottarga”, one of the most delicious dishes I have ever tried in my life! We were also lucky as strong wind blew in the afternoon and so the sailing was really great! The day-long trip was relatively expensive but certainly worthy!

Food at the main buffet restaurant is varied every day, quality varies from dish to dish. Waiters are very helpful and one was particularly nice and had a good sense of humor, ready to accommodate us right away as soon as we stepped in the restaurant.

The resort claims to offer Wi-Fi in a few areas of its premises, but it hardly ever worked most of the times we tried during our stay. The resort is an hour drive from Cagliari airport, but there are efficient car transfer services.

In conclusion, I liked the place, most of the staff were very helpful and dynamic, our room was very quiet and overall I enjoyed my stay. It is an ideal place for families with children. The price, though, is expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Wonderful beach. Very nice location. Quality of food and staff motivation poor. You constantly feel to disturb the staff - especially in the restaurant. The way how the waiters deals with customers of every age is just unbeleavable. There is only a choiice between one red and one white wine. Both with low quality. Never again Free Beach Club...

Room Tip: Choose a other hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south staffordshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Just returned from a week at this hotel with our 2 children. We love Sardinia and this is the 4th time we have visitied. first time in Costa Rei. The hotel is very clean and in a nice position to the town and of course on the beautiful beach.

We were in a room at the back of the complex good as away from the noise, bad with 2 pushchairs as the previous reviews state it is very very hot and very difficult climbing these slopes the children aged 3 found it impossible!
The room was clean and adequate, the air con and fridge good.
The pool/beach are excellent.

Restaurant was very good, we couldnt book for the Moby Dick the time we were there.
The main restaurant was very busy and sometimes very hard to get a table but the staff were always happy to help.

The childrens baby dance was excellent and the entertainers our kids loved it,
We had a brilliant time spoilt a little by our last day when leaving the hotel.
We went to breakfast early as our flight was early and we didnt have time to eat there, so we asked for a bag to put some in, the restaurant manager told us to go to reception and order.
So we walked all the way back to reception up 3 big hills to be told by the girl on reception you need to order a pack lunch the day before - were we ever told we could do this - NO
She also told me she cant get us a packed lunch as the restaurant was open - she was extremely rude we had two three year olds who went to the airport with no breakfast we paid for the day there inc breakfast and couldnt get it and the girl on recpetion could not have cared less.

Apart from that had a great holiday but wouldnt return her attitude put me off.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

This year again, for the fourth consequtive year, we relaxed with kids at Freebeach, a place we find perfect for our beach & sport holiday needs after testing four other 4 and 5 star holiday villages on the island. Freebeach is not the most luxurious of them but cosy, not too big (when you need to control small children), not too trendy (sometimes a stress factor in Italy particularly if you have to suffer Ryanair luggage terrorism..), the staff is very friendly (special thanks to Robertino, Ivano, Giulia, 'Fungoporcino' and many others), food is tasty and at a stunning beach with no need to take 'treninos' or minivans to reach it. Every year we bring more and more friends along and this time we were a group of six families from our town Brussels. The village has changed little over the years with the main novelties being wireless hot spot (finally..) and some renovation at the beach restaurant. Personally I am especially grateful to Ivano, the rock'n'roll tennis coach who managed to correct my backhand during our two weeks. Rarely you see such an enthusiastic coach who manages to keep both kids and adults on the court under the scorching sun of Sardegna. The rooms are relatively modest but clean, restaurants just two (the beach one to be recommended), pool cafe, small shops, nice pool (we don't use it as swim caps are required and the sea is better), a spa of very high quality and water sports plentiful. So all in all, good place for guaranteed sun (July/Aug), good Italian cooking and stressless holiday. Yet, I would recommend other places in the Costa Smeralda and Villasimius for someone looking for active nightlife, professional in-house entertainment or 5 star services.

Room Tip: don't go close to the club house (music). Superior package much better (access to beach restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Free Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Free Beach Club

Address: Via Icnusa, 25, 09043 Costa Rei, Muravera, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Muravera > Costa Rei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Costa Rei
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Rei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Free Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 410
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Free Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Free Beach Club Hotel Costa Rei
The Free Beach Club Costa Rei, Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Free Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.