Positives first, lovely location, beautiful contryside & lovely little village, gardens lovely & well kept & the house looked lovely from the outside. We have stayed in many hotels up & down the country & abroad, I am not going to go over the top but we felt like naughty school children on arrival, although we had said we may arrive early we never gave a definite time. When we arrived at 7.30 pm we were told off!!!! So be warned!!! I never would have thought this would be the norm to inform a B & B unless it was really late.
The rooms had creaky floorboards & we could hear all the doors closing outside & noise from other guests on our floor. Saying that we unfortunately had our toilet down the corridor, so no doubt we made noise ourselves when going to the loo!! These rooms would also benefit from small fridges, because we really dont like the awful UHT milk sachets, & a pint of fresh milk for each guest would be a nice touch.
As my heading says could be so much better, this is the first place we have stayed in without a tv in the room. Only one tv for all the guests in the lounge, which can prove difficult if someone wants to watch a particular programme. We only had the cooked breakfast which was very nice, which was served promptly with very good coffee & tea!
Lastly we received this break as a gift, on booking we were told we cant have an en suite at the price paid for the gift, which we felt was a little bit rude. Overall we had a lovely trip but we felt like we were walking on egg shells with this establishment.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Many thanks for your feed back and we were pleased you enjoyed your hearty 'Deliciously Yorkshire' breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
If there are any points we feel we can improve on then we will use them.
With reference to your other points:
When you originally booked the room you were told your voucher was for an en suite double but none were available for the date you wanted to stay. The part en suite room was all we had left. At the time of booking you said you were happy to take that room as that was the date you wanted. You were fully at liberty not to book the room. Your confirmation letter clearly described the room.
An exaggeration on your part however, with regard to the toilet, it is only two steps from the room. We do not have any corridors on the landings.
Also when booking you asked for an early check in of 1pm and only the day prior to arrival phoned to check you had the right date for your booking and stated that your arrival would be between 1 and 3pm.
We make no apologies for our concern for your well being, that is the type of people we are. We were concerned that you may be stranded on a hard shoulder some where. We had even phoned your home number in case anyone was there who could check you were alright.
Twice this year we have used our RAC membership to help guests who were stranded.
As you will see form all the positive reviews we are very friendly people, our guests wellbeing is important to us.
With regard to the creaking floor boards: This a 300 year old house not a modern concrete and steel box. Naturally some of the foor boards creak. It's the character of the house.
We both creak and we are a long way off that age!
Doors Closing and hearing other guests: We have never known any accommodation where you never hear other guests. We are sure all those staying would apologise if their movements disturbed you.
Milk: All you had to do was ask for a jug of fresh milk and it would have been provided with pleaure.
TV: Only last year we asked 100 guests if they wanted us to put TV's in the rooms. 89% said there was no point as they do not come to Masham to watch TV. There is far too much to see and do.
'Relaxing and chatting in the great pubs and restaurants beats TV hands down'
'We can stay at home to watch TV' were both relpies from guests.
The TV lounge is the most under used room in the house.
Our biggest problem when we have been away has been the guest in the room next door watching a late night film when we wanted to sleep.
If we do eventually give in to TV's then we no doubt will have 'we could hear the guest watching tv next door' feed back.
We feel we do everything we can to make our guests feel relaxed and happy.
Yes we are guilty of taking them under our wing and being friendly and concerned for their well being. Those who like our style come back. Very few of those bother with writing reviews.
Over 80% of our business is repeat and recommendation so the majority like what we have to offer.
Our only sorrow is that you do not feel that way.
Thanks for taking the time for your feed back it is always welcomed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.