We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bank Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bank Villa to your Saves list
Bank Villa
The Avenue, Masham HG4 4DB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Masham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
sussex
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

the guest house is pretty and conveniently placed. However I felt that the hostess was rather unhelpful, blunt and intimidating in manner (as did guests I knew who were also staying at Bank Villa). The room cost £70 per night single occupancy with no TV, a bathroom across the landing which, although only for my private use, would not lock - a bit disoncerting as it was easily accessible to other guests! Amongst other things, I was disappointed in the quality of the bedding and I felt that the breakfast which, while tasty and well cooked apart from cold toast, was somewhat meagre (although i noted that those who had the 'full monty' were given a substantial meal) Most Importantly the fire alarm sensor had no cover and exposed wires.

I complained to the hosts on my return home some two weeks later, who (I felt) reacted strongly and accused me of being unreasonable, threatened to go to lawyers and criticised me for not saying anything at the time!! I did not do so as I did not want to risk upsetting them as the village was full of poeople attending the wedding event I was attending and I neeeded accommodation!

Bank Villa is a lovely house with a great position, but I believe it to be expensive for the standard of accommodation that I experienced. Disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashamduo, Owner at Bank Villa, responded to this review, August 28, 2009
We were sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay.
We do our best to satisfy the needs of all our guests but it does require the guests to meet us half way and let us know what their particular requirements are. if they are not being met as a matter of course.
Emailing us two weeks after leaving did not give us the opportunity to change your quilt and pillows to feather, nor did telling us you would have liked more breakfast. You were served with the items you requested at the time. A polite request for seconds would not have resulted in you being ejected from the building.
We enjoy a laugh and a joke with guests and can only say that our repeat business and recommendation rate shows the vast majority of people enjoy the banter and a laugh. We are sorry that you do not enjoy that style, but many others do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    13
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
96
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheadle, Staffordshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2009

Just returned from a 4 night perfect stay at Bank Villa.
Liz and Graham are superb hosts. We celebrated our Silver Wedding Anniversary whilst there and Liz and Graham made it so very special for us.
Our room was excellent, breakfasts were delicious, the house is beautiful, as are the surroundings.
Staying at Bank Villa is like staying with friends.
Will definately return, very soon. Does this mean we have to join the TOGS Graham????? :)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashamduo, Owner at Bank Villa, responded to this review, June 7, 2009
Many thanks for your wonderful comments.
It was our pleasure to meet the two of you and help you celebrate your Silver wedding.
We look forward to your return.
Please don't leave it to the 'Golden Wedding'!.
Not sure if you are old or forgetful enough to be TOGS!
All our love
Liz and Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

We stayed here on a Saturday night and thought the location was fabulous and the room was perfectly fine, quiet and with a comfy bed.

The one thing we were hugely disappointed about was that on Sunday morning we had to get up ridiculously early to take advantage of breakfast as it is only served from 8-9am. Whilst we managed to do this we sloped off back to the room to relax upstairs with a coffee but were then shooed out of the hotel as check out is 10am! So much for a relaxing morning. We appreciate that this may be convenient for the owners so that they can get on with enjoying their Sunday but it would prevent us from booking again.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashamduo, Owner at Bank Villa, responded to this review, May 18, 2009
Many thaks for your comments.
We are sorry that you found the bed so comfortable that you found it hard to get up..

We have provided a late check out and or breakfast on many occasions, when it has been requested.

We note that you have rated clealiness at a top score. To achieve that takes time an effort.
From check out, I,(LIz) have a 6 bedroomed, 3 sitting roomed house to clean throughly before the next guests arrive at 2pm.
There is also the laundry created by 12 guests, and dinners to prepared for guests eating in.
So I apologise if your understanding was that we relax when guests leave.
We will look at the logistics of a later breakfast..
However that will have to mean a later check in, which may not be suitable for other guests.
We will however conduct a survey.

Regards
Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

My husband and I are not exactly thin people. We found the room very small and the bed was uncomfortable and a squash.

It was very expensive for what it was, and we were not overly impressed with breakfast.

We didnt find our hosts very welcoming and we were delighted to get home again

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashamduo, Owners at Bank Villa, responded to this review, May 18, 2009
We were surprised and saddened by your review.
Surprised that this is 9 months after your stay and saddened that you did not let us know that your dietary needs were not being met at breakfast on any of the three mornings of your stay.
We have both the AA and 'Deliciously Yorkshire' breakfast awards so are at a loss to where we fell short for you. We would welcome an email advising us, so we can better meet our guests needs in the future.
One person in the past asked for Black Pudding and so that is now on the menu!

The reviews from others show that, when asked, we do our utmost to meet individuals needs.

We are also sorry that the double bed was not big enough for you. We do have king size bedded doubles these are only £5 of £15 per night extra for the standard or superior king size bedded room.

Thank you for your high mark for cleanliness.
We do work very hard to maintain our high standards.

We lok forward to your email.
Liz and Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

I stayed a couple of nights at Bank Villa on my way to and from Harrogate and I have to say I am delighted to have found such a great guest house. A warm welcome, lovely clean rooms, great breakfast (locally sourced produce), very comfortable BIG bed and a bit of craic - sure what more could you want?
Make sure you leave time to take a walk to the square in Masham for interesting shops and galleries and a market on Saturdays. I had a really good dinner and local ale at the hotel in the evening.
Bank Villa is a great place to stay in a lovely location with excellent hosts. Well done Liz & Graham!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashamduo, Owner at Bank Villa, responded to this review, May 7, 2009
It was a pleasure to meet you . It is lovely to hear the Irish accent again.
We enjoyed your company and look forward to meeting you again in the not too distant future.
Good Luck with the business.
Best regards
Liz and Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

Our 2nd visit to Bank Villa, we just love our trips to Masham, so chilled and relaxed. Celebrated Geoff's birthday on Friday, spoilt by Liz & Graham yet again, we love to visit Bank Villa and enjoy the atmosphere, friendliness, hospitality and excellent food from Liz.
We highly recommend this Guest House it is spotless, cozy and inviting you must give it a try!!
Joyce & Geoff Forrest
Liverpool

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashamduo, Owner at Bank Villa, responded to this review, April 14, 2009
Hi Geoff and Joyce,
It was great to see you both again and help Geoff celebrate his birthday.
We really enjoy helping guests to have a go time. It is good fun for us as well!
We look forward to your emails and hope it will not be long before we see you again.
All our Love
Liz and Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

My partner and i stayed for 1 night and could have easily stayed longer. The hotel was lovely and clean and the rooms beautifuly decorated. Bank villa is very welcoming and in an excellent location.

The owners Liz & Graham made us feel at home and provided and excellent service & a fantastic breakfast!.

We will be returning and would highly recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashamduo, Owner at Bank Villa, responded to this review, March 21, 2009
Many thanks for your wonderful review.
It really does make us pleased that guests have had a good time with us and visiting this land that time forgot called Masham.
We always enjoy meeting guests. It hardly seems like work we get so much from the experience.
We hope you can come again soon.
Remind us you wrote this review and we will thank you in person!
Kindest Regards
Liz and Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bank Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bank Villa

Address: The Avenue, Masham HG4 4DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Masham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Masham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yorkshire Dales is a beautiful and varied area to explore. Bank Villa in Masham is in the most perfect location for you to enjoy all that is on offer. You may not need to drive anywhere! Which is a good thing with first class restaurants, pubs and both Black Sheep and Theakstons breweries on the door step!If you want to get out and about there are fantastic walks, cycle rides and drives from our door which will take you into the beauty and tranquility of the Dales. We are on the actual route of the Tour de France. Cyclists will have their bikes locked away overnight. Motorbikes are locked behind gates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bank Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank Villa Masham/Ripon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bank Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.