We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bank Villa

Save Saved
You added Bank Villa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bank Villa
The Avenue, Masham HG4 4DB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
£5 off room rate
Ranked #3 of 9 Masham B&B and Inns
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My first experience of staying in a B&B was at the Bank Villa. Myself and partner decided to stay there after we attended a wedding at a local venue. From the moment we stepped through the door we were made to feel very welcome by both the hosts. We checked in inbetween the service and the night do and was in a rush to get back to the Wedding, after asking Graham and Liz if they could source us a taxi Graham went the extra mile and drove us back to the venue himself.

The room had a lot of character and the bed was very comfy. Our room came with en-suit and free wifi plus a kettle which is crucial for a Yorkshire person, the room was also very clean.

The following morning we were quickly served and the breakfast was delicious. There was more than enough to eat and Liz asked if we would like any extra food, ensuring we didn't leave the room hungry.

My time at the Bank Villa was an excellent experience and exceeded our expectations. I would have no hesitation in recommending the Bank Villa for anyone wishing to stay in the area. Graham and Liz have definitely set the bar very high for other B&B's to be compared.

Thanks once again

Rob & Danni

Room Tip: Room 6 is excellent, plenty of character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashamduo, Owner at Bank Villa, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
It was a delight to meet you both, although sadly for such a brief stay.
Many thanks for taking the time to write this fantastic review. We really do appreciate it. We are delighted that you loved the room. They were all refurbished this year and we were quite daring, so it is good to have feed back telling us we got it right.
Let's hope it is not too long before you make a return visit, for a little longer we hope.
Best wishes to you both.
Liz and Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    11
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
78
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Shields
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Our third visit this year and as always we had a lovely stay with Graham and Liz. Perfect location, very welcoming and a fantastic breakfast! Visits to Bank Villa are becoming addictive, we even have a favourite room based on the view from the window (Black Sheep Brewery, just up the lane).

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashamduo, Owner at Bank Villa, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
As always it was a pleasure and a joy having you stay again. Your sense of fun, and hubbies attire are always welcome. We are working through his wardrobe quite quickly now. Fur hat to bold shorts, what next ??? We cannot wait to find out.
Missing you both already. Love to all the gang. See you soon.
Love liz and Graham x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our weekend stay at Bank Villa was one of the most enjoyable and relaxing breaks we have had. The rooms are prestine and provide everything you need for an enjoyable stay. The hosts Liz and Graham made us feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Liz's cooking was excellent and the quality of the breakfast produce was amazing and plentiful. Both Liz and Graham are the perfect hosts and should be proud of the experience they provide to their guests. We would certainly return to Bank Villa when next visiting Masham.

Room Tip: Book in advance if possible to avoid disappointment as they are an extremely busy guesthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashamduo, Owner at Bank Villa, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Wow we are knocked out by your wonderful review. It really makes it all worth while when we have feed back like this. We do put a lot of effort, as well as our heart and soul into what we do, to know that is recognised and enjoyed in such a public fashion is a wonderful feeling and truely appreciated.
We are delighted that you totally enjoyed your stay and really hope you vist again before too long.
Kind regards, Liz and Graham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed at Bank Villa after selecting it from a list of hotels, B&Bs and guest houses where we good use a Red Letter Day gift that we had received - we chose very well!

The house is full of character and the hosts were very friendly and welcoming, and they were helpful and knowledgeable about the local area. But it is important to note (for some people) that they did not cross the line that some owners do in terms of being 'over-friendly' or telling you what you should be doing with your visit.

Masham is a lovely village and we were very impressed with everything it had to offer - shops, pubs and the Black Sheep Brewery. The rest of Yorkshire is within easy reach - we particularly enjoyed Wensleydale and Aysgarth Falls.

We would definately stay here again and highly recommend it to everyone.

Oh, and they serve a proper English Breakfast which is sourced from local farms - excellent!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Bank Villa, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Hi,We are so pleased you had a good time and ejoyed both your stay with us and exploring the local area.
It is good of you to find the time to write your lovely review. Thank you.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards,
Liz and Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I was staying at Bank Villa as part of a wedding party, that had booked up most of the rooms for both Friday and Saturday nights. The owners, Liz and Graham really looked after us all and made us feel really welcome.

The rooms were all really clean, tidy and characterful.

The breakfast was excellent and with Graham and Liz's hospitality made for a great weekend.

We have already talked about returning to the area and will definitely be staying at Bank Villa once again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Bank Villa, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write your wonderful review.
We thoroughly enjoyed having all your party stay for the wedding, you are a fun bunch to have around.
Hope you have all recovered from the celebrations!
It will be wonderful to see you all again,
Best wishes.
Liz and Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, Lancashire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Lovely guesthouse and Graham and Liz made us very welcome, nothing was too much trouble. The house is a traditional old villa and is large and quirky. The communal areas are great to relax and we enjoyed a nice glass of wine in the conservatory, which was nice and relaxing rather than having to stay in the bedroom. The place was immaculately clean and what a great breakfast! The produce was fresh and locally sourced and we didn't need to eat again until the evening. I would recommend this as a good place to stay.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Bank Villa, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Hello,
Thanks for writing this fantastic review. It was fun meeting you both. Hope you can visit again soon, hopefully with the bikes next time!
Take care,
Best wishes,
Liz and Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Wonderful guest house. Friendly welcome with assistance with luggage for a less than able guest. The bedroom was quirky but very comfortable. The lounges are just what every traveller needs to relax instead of being confined to a bedroom. The breakfast was better then you would expect from a guest house both in quality and quantity. will make a point of staying again when in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashamduo, Owner at Bank Villa, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and all that we have to offer. It is heartening that you also took the time to write your review. For which we thank you.
We enjoyed your company and certainly hope we can meet you agin soon.
Kind regards,
Liz and Graham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bank Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bank Villa

Address: The Avenue, Masham HG4 4DB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Masham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Masham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yorkshire Dales is a beautiful and varied area to explore. Bank Villa in Masham is in the most perfect location for you to enjoy all that is on offer. You may not need to drive anywhere! Which is a good thing with first class restaurants, pubs and both Black Sheep and Theakstons breweries on the door step!If you want to get out and about there are fantastic walks, cycle rides and drives from our door which will take you into the beauty and tranquility of the Dales. We are on the actual route of the Tour de France. Cyclists will have their bikes locked away overnight. Motorbikes are locked behind gates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bank Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank Villa Masham/Ripon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bank Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.