We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable & interesting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Sheep Brewery

The Black Sheep Brewery
The Brewery Visitor Centre, Masham, England
01765 680101
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 10 Attractions in Masham
Type: Breweries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Littleborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Enjoyable & interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Had a very enjoyable tour round the brewery, which was most informative. Excellent guide who seemed to know everything possible about the brewery and its history. Had a tasting session afterwards and bought one or two items from the shop. Restaurant looked good and had been recommended to us, we were told the portions are huge. Sadly we went to eat there on a Sunday evening only to find it was closed, as on Sundays they only serve food at lunchtime. Would recommend the tour.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    60
    13
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Amersham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The Tour around the brewey is very informative and entertaining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed the tour, very informative guide who made the whole tour very entertaining while still managing to explain the brewing process used at Black Sheep.

Needless to say the tasters included in the price were a welcome bonus!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good food, enthusiastic tour guide, but just an average tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I'd recommend stopping by the Black Sheep for food and a pint of their namesake ale. The restaurant is clean, roomy, and inviting. However, the brewery tour just isn't worth the price of admission. Most of the tour consists of a video, and then you walk near some of the equipment. I got the feeling that they tried to keep you at a distance from the process. They use more modern equipment, some of which wasn't viewable. The Theakston's brewery down the street offered a much more close-up and interesting tour. Skip this one and walk over to Theakston's. Theakston's also provided more taste samples; Black Sheep was a little stingy with their beer samples. Interestingly, the founder of Black Sheep was a relative of the Theakston family but founded his own brewery after financial issues arose. If you do choose to attend this tour, call in advance to reserve a spot.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A place where everybody knows your name”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We didn't know if it was going to be open and was presently surprised by the bar and restaurant. The beers were fantastic and there is a great beer garden. The restaurant menu looked good though we did not eat there. There a good shop and the whole place made me want to stay longer. I would definitely recommend a trip to the brewery if you are in the area but you will need a designated driver......

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

While staying in masham we decided to visit the brewery. After buying some gifts we wanted to sample the beer. We were told to take a seat and a waitress would take our order. 15 mins later we were still waiting to order.despite staff walking past us with out even a glance we returned to our hotel where we were served black sheep ale in 2 minutes.my advice it's quicker to use the pubs outside the brewery .

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Sheep Brewery also viewed

Masham, North Yorkshire
Masham, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Black Sheep Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Sheep Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.