We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful ice cream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brymor Dairy

Brymor Dairy
A.B. Moore Farmers Ltd | High Jervaulx Farm, Masham HG4 4PG, England
01677 460337
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 10 Attractions in Masham
Type: Specialty Shops, Ranch & Farm
Attraction details
Ripon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Keep coming back here every few weeks. Huge choice of ice cream,cornets,tubs etc. Value is great and you can have lovely whipped cream on as well. If your having a special occasion they do wonderful ice cream cakes. Weve had at least 4 of these they are that good. They also serve tea/coffee etc. Great even on a cold day. Kids can even visit the cow shed. Must try it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    21
    3
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A regular treat for all our family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We have been coming to Brymor for years - it's the top treat for my children when there's something to celebrate. Easy parking, lovely rural setting, super icecream in loads of different flavours, a chance to visit the calves in the barn, and some delightful hens / ducks / geese / turkeys to admire: what's not to like? Sadly, though, I would agree with another reviewer that the staff leave one with a slightly sour taste in the mouth. I know it must be an intensely boring job for them, but for us it's a special occasion, and the heavy sighs as my daughter dithers over her flavour choice really do put one off. We too have experienced the 'we're coming up to closing time and it's too much effort to serve you' syndrome. It's a great shame, because better service would really raise this into the excellent category.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“One of the best ice-cream dairies - just don't expect a smile!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We always stop off at the Brymor Dairy (and have done for several years now) - the ice-cream is the best we have found and the range of flavours is very impressive. You can see the cows in the barn and there are toilet facilities.

Our favourite flavours are: Black Cherry Whim Wham, Supergold and Raspberry Cheesecake. We usually have the three scoop sundaes with sauce and a wafer (it is usually a once a year visit after all!)

We have found, though, that we don't usually get a smile or much courtesy from the staff who can come across as quite surly. On our last visit we arrived 45 minutes before closing and felt very much that we were seen as an inconvenience for turning up at that time! We weren't allowed to have our ice-creams in a glass bowl (apparently because of the time) and staff were hoovering around us. It's still well worth a visit though - and even a detour - for the wonderful ice-cream. You can take tubs home with you so take your cool bag!!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Sundae Best!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Very very busy ice cream parlour, but no wonder the ice cream is lovely, really nice texture and flavour. I had a nutty crunch ice cream sundae and it was worth every calorie. The ice cream parlour itself could do with a bit of an up-date, but who cares when the ice cream is yum, you eat it quickly anyway, so are not there long. Can't wait to go back.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best ice-cream ever, and a lovely spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Brymor is on the edge of the Dales, and worth calling in to if you are travelling through Leyburn, Masham or on your way up Wensleydale.
They have a large car-park, and kids will like to visit the lovely Jersey cows who provide the milk for the totally delicious ice-cream (try the Praline Pecan Delight). They also serve cream teas and ice-cream sundaes. They have indoor and outdoor seating.
You can also buy tubs of the ice-cream to take home.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brymor Dairy also viewed

Masham, North Yorkshire
 
Masham, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Brymor Dairy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brymor Dairy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.