We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Very Best B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Millgate Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Millgate Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Millgate Bed & Breakfast
5 Millgate, Masham HG4 4EQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SPECIAL OCCASION TREAT
Ranked #1 of 8 Masham B&B and Inns
Essex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Very Best B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend stay at Millgate B&B Masham and honestly can not fault anything about our weekend. Sue & Andrew were wonderful hosts, Sue gave us a lovely warm and friendly welcome with an interesting tour of the house & its history and then left us to enjoy our tea and gorgeous warm homemade scones.
Our room at the top of the house was beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean with fresh flowers on arrival. The double room has a modern en-suite bathroom which again was spotlessly clean. Breakfast is freshly cooked to order with plenty of choice, and Sue makes gorgeous homemade bread.
If you are visiting Masham then this is the place to stay!
Sally & Ian

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Sally & Ian

Thank your for a really lovely review. We are so lucky to be able to share our home with guests as charming and entertaining as yourselves. It was our pleasure to have you stay. We hope to see you both again.

Best Wishes
Sue & Andrew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
295
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Paul Hollywood and Mary Berry eat your heart out!

Rarely do you come across a b and b that is run with this much enthusiasm and care.....and even rarer are guests offered super light delicious scones and beautiful imaginative homemade breakfast bread. Many thanks Sue and Andrew for a lovely stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Boppsey

Thank you for the marvelous review and the compliments. It was a real pleasure to have your company
and we are both thrilled that you enjoyed the homemade bread and scones.

Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This was our second visit to Millgate and once again we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The home made scones on arrival are yummy and there is a variety of refreshments in the room. You can't beat the full English breakfast with fresh local produce and home made bread. Sue and Andrew welcome you into their home as friends not just customers. Gillian & Stephen

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Mitchells

Thank you for the lovely review. It was so enjoyable for us to be able to catch up with you both again. Lets hope we don't have to wait as long for your return visit.

Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

From the freshly baked scones on arrival to the fantastic fish breakfast just before our departure I cannot criticise any point. Should you be considering a visit to the area try here first. Do it early as there are not many rooms and the accommodation will be very popular

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Chocky60

Thanks for a great review. It was a real surprise - I thought you would be so busy and yet you found the time to write about your stay.

Really glad that you had a great Beer Experience in Masham. I passed on your comments about the top quality ale to the Kings Head and they were thrilled. Hope to see you back in Masham soon.

Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were attending a family wedding in Grewelthorpe and stayed at the Millgate for one night. It is centrally located in Masham, which is a lovely village. On arrival I was given a warm welcome by Sue and told all about the B & B and its history. The bedroom was cosy and had nice touches, like tea and biscuits and scones. Sue and her husband made us a fantastic breakfast - trout fish cakes, homemade buns and the best cooked breakfast I've ever had.
The Millgate is a very good quality B & B in an interesting old building. If you want any information about the local area just ask Sue and there are leaflets in the B & B as well.
I would recommend staying here for a few days to do some walking, fishing and sampling the local restaurants and pubs.
Thanks for making us feel welcome on our short visit.
Joanne and mum Irene

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Joanne

Thank you for your thoughtful review. We look forward to your return visit.
It was a real treat for us as your whole family were such fun and delightful company and your comments are really appreciated..

Give our love to your Mum
Kindest regards
Sue &m Andrew Burrell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We only stayed one night in Millgate which was definitely not long enough! It is a perfectly situated B&B within walking distance of shops, pubs/restaurants and fabulous scenery. Sue greeted us like long lost friends and made us feel so welcome it was only the lure of half price prosecco in a local pub which dragged us away from her company. The room was spotless and very comfortable with extra pilllows and fresh milk for tea. The breakfast the next morning was absolutely wonderful including freshly caught trout (by Andrew) and home made soda bread (by Sue). Sue and Andrew go out of their way to make you feel completely at ease in their unique home - thank you both for a fab stay. Deborah & Vanessa

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hello Deborah and Vanessa

What a lovely review - Andrew and I were both flattered to get a mention - Thank you very much.

Andrew is fishing almost every day for trout. Yesterday whilst fishing he lost a fish and a man overboard. He was more upset about the loss of the fish and it was said that he grumbled the whole way whilst towing his soggy friend from the middle of the lake back to dry land.

Love and best wishes to you both
Sue & Andrew Burrell

NB. This morning's guests were able to have freshly baked rainbow trout for a breakfast starter as Andrew had 2 more fish safely stored in the boat before the incident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay here at Millgate. The full Yorkshire breakfast was the best we have ever had!! Sue was a brilliant hostess, and made us feel very welcome. I found the e mails she sent us prior to our arrival, very thoughtful, and a nice personal touch. It is perfectly placed in Masham, so you are within walking distance to the breweries, and nice pubs, which do great food. Would definitely recommend staying here for anyone visiting this beautiful piece of Yorkshire. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Joanne

Hello there in Jindalee - Thank you for this top review. Glad you returned home safely and thrilled that you wrote so kindly about your stay.

I always send emails to guests as some people find that half the fun of a holiday break is in the planning and preparation. If I can advise on places to eat or give suggestions on places to visit for guests then they can relax and unwind more easily when they arrive in lovely Masham.

Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Millgate Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millgate Bed & Breakfast

Address: 5 Millgate, Masham HG4 4EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Masham
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Masham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Millgate Bed & Breakfast we provide 3 lovely letting bedrooms for our guests with luxurious beds and high-quality bedding. Our Award Winning Breakfasts are cooked to order and served with freshly baked bread. Our guests receive all sorts of little extras; a sociable welcome with complimentary refreshments on arrival, chilled and filtered water and fresh milk for beverages, serviced rooms, conversation, views, a peaceful and quiet location, advice and guidance on the best places to visit, plus flat screen TV, Internet access etc. All presented in a unique, Grade 2 listed historic family home which is both characterful and idiosyncratic and run with painstaking attention to detail. Quite simply a joy to stay in which is why we receive 100% Excellent reviews from our guests. Come and try Millgate for yourself. Walking distance to all the pubs and restaurants,yards from Masham's historic Market Place with its galleries, shops, cafes and restaurants and a short walk to Theakston and Black Sheep Breweries. Lovely riverside walks just off Millgate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Millgate Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millgate Bed & Breakfast Masham/Ripon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millgate Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.