We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B overnight stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Millgate Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Millgate Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Millgate Bed & Breakfast
5 Millgate, Masham HG4 4EQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
MON-THURS 4 NIGHTS £200.
Ranked #1 of 8 Masham B&B and Inns
st austell
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“B&B overnight stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

What a lovely house, run by lovely people in a lovely town. Sue and Andrews hospitality is second to none. Their attention to detail is excellent as is their breakfast. We would loved to have stayed longer. We have already recommended the B&B to friends and family. Look forward to seeing them again and visiting Masham.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Simon

Thank you for this review it was a lovely surprise for us both. So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we do hope that you both with return for a longer visit as there is so much more for you to see.

Masham is wonderful in the spring when all the lambs are born and the daffodils are in bloom.

Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
248
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Millgate B&B for one night whilst on business. I wish I could have stayed longer! Sue had a fresh scone and jam ready for me when I arrived, and the room had a variety of hot drinks.The room was lovely, very comfortable with tv and free Wifi, and a very posh shower! I'd highly recommend the B&B.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Stilton 79

You arrived so late and left so early I was worried that you had not had time to recover from your demanding work schedule. It would be really splendid if you were able to return one day as a tourist and have the time to unwind with us in lovely Masham.

Do come back and visit some day soon and thank you for a really lovely review – it was very much appreciated.

Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldham
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

most charming and quaint property. High standards throughout and the hospitality of the hosts second to none..Will certainly be returning and recommendng to friends and family .Welcomed x freshly baked scones fresh milk and water .Luxurious king sized bed and egyptian linen most comfortable nights sleep .Lots of info on local sites and eateries.Lots of personal touches and very high standards

Room Tip: only a twin and double our double looked down to the rest of the hamlet style houses and river very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Diane D

We were both delighted to read your review and we are pleased that you appreciated our facilities and the little extras we provide. We are a small establishment but we try very hard to give our guests a special experience when they stay at Millgate.

Thank you very much for your lovely comments

Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Where do we begin, so much to say about the warmth we felt from the moment we were greeted at the door, Having had our tour of the lovely historic home of Sue & Andrew we were given delicious homemade scones. Our room was perfect, so cosy & clean everything kept to such a good standard. Our breakfast of cereals fresh fruit and full english & homemade rolls was so nicely presented and very much enjoyed. (not every day you get to enjoy your time in jail !) Nothing was too much trouble for Sue & Andrew they were wonderful hosts, we regret not having stayed longer. The location of the B & B was perfect, easy walking distance to the pubs & shops & we had a most enjoyable visit to the Black Sheep Brewery. We found the info of walks, pubs & places of interest in and around Masham to be very useful which Sue & Andrew had left out for their guests. We would strongly recommend staying at Millgate B & B and would like to thank the excellent hosts for a memorable weekend. We would love to visit again. Gerald & Sue

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Gerald
This review is so lovely – thank you. How kind of you to write so much about your short stay. We are so glad to have made a good impression and it was our pleasure to have you as guests.

Do come back soon as you hardly had chance to get to know Masham and all it's charms.

Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

From the moment the front door was opened we felt as though we had been made part of Sue's extended family. Once we had been given the grand tour of Sue and Andrew's lovely historic home (breakfast is taken the old town gaol) freshly baked scones were handed to us, which we enjoyed in our very comfortable room. The selection of teas and coffees included a cafetiere with real coffee, which is a welcome rarity in accommodation providers. The well stocked tourist information included menus for all the local pubs and restaurants (of which there are many - Masham is a thriving small market town). We chose to drive a couple of miles out to the attractive village of Fearby, where the Black Swan serves innovative but reasonably priced meals. Upon our return we found that the beds had been turned down and a chocolate placed upon each pillow - a nice touch.

At breakfast we were presented with lovely warm soda bread - Sue really has her baking skills off to a tee (should that be tea!?). This was followed by a magnificent cooked Yorkshire platter, for which she has rightly won awards.

We would have no hesitation in staying at Millgate again, however we love Masham and the surrounding area so much that we are considering buying a property there!

Room Tip: We were fortunate in that, being the only guests that night, Sue allowed us to use the adjacent bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Tremewan

Thank you for this generous and thoughtful review. We are both extremely grateful for your lovely comments.

I do hope you find the house of your dreams and wish you every success in your new venture.

It would be our pleasure to have you as guests should you need a rest from house-hunting.

Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just what we needed. A haven tucked away in a beautiful part of Yorkshire.Before our arrival your welcoming e.mail set the scene, and we were,nt disappointed.We were greeted with yummy scones and nothing was too much trouble.Our cosy bedroom was a delight ,with everything thoughfully there for our use The breakfast did,nt disappoint with porridge,and warm oatmeal bread. Did you know I was diabetic!!.Then onto a good choice of menu to suit our hearty appetite.
It was areal pleasure to stay with you. Until the next time..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Mary P
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad to have provided you with a haven for a well deserved birthday treat. We really enjoyed your company and look forward to your return visit.

I am delighted that the porridge and oatmeal bread was good for your diet and we are both looking forward to your return visit.

Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had a lovely night at Millgate B and B. Sue and Andrew were warm and welcoming and the freshly baked scones on arrival were delicious. The double room was comfortable and clean with a nice en suite. The little touches like a turn down while we were out with chocolates on the pillows and a refill on teas and coffee etc made it special. The breakfast was absolutely spot on, with homemade rolls which were fresh out of the oven. We would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Ian and Wendy

What a perfect review - Thank you very much. It is such a delight for Andrew and I to receive feedback from our guests.

I am so glad you enjoyed the little extras we provide. We hope to see you both again soon now you know where we are.

Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Millgate Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millgate Bed & Breakfast

Address: 5 Millgate, Masham HG4 4EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Masham
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Masham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Millgate Bed & Breakfast we provide 3 lovely letting bedrooms for our guests with luxurious beds and high-quality bedding. Our Award Winning Breakfasts are cooked to order and served with freshly baked bread. Our guests receive all sorts of little extras; a sociable welcome with complimentary refreshments on arrival, chilled and filtered water and fresh milk for beverages, serviced rooms, conversation, views, a peaceful and quiet location, advice and guidance on the best places to visit, plus flat screen TV, Internet access etc. All presented in a unique, Grade 2 listed historic family home which is both characterful and idiosyncratic and run with painstaking attention to detail. Quite simply a joy to stay in which is why we receive 100% Excellent reviews from our guests. Come and try Millgate for yourself. Walking distance to all the pubs and restaurants,yards from Masham's historic Market Place with its galleries, shops, cafes and restaurants and a short walk to Theakston and Black Sheep Breweries. Lovely riverside walks just off Millgate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Millgate Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millgate Bed & Breakfast Masham/Ripon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millgate Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.