We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Millgate Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Millgate Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Millgate Bed & Breakfast
5 Millgate, Masham HG4 4EQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
MON-THURS 4 NIGHTS £200.
Ranked #1 of 8 Masham B&B and Inns
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Good location for sampling the local breweries and meandering about the village. We were made to feel extremely welcome and were spoilt for breakfast - including homemade rolls and freshly caught trout!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurrellMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear K

What a lovely surprise to get this review - Thank you. Andrew has not been able to catch Trout recently because the river is getting too much water. You were one of the lucky ones.

We are so glad you enjoyed Masham and hope to see you back again soon.

Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
248
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Heywood, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

From start to finish our stay was fantastic. We had lovely hot scones on arrival and the room was beautiful and relaxing. Sue and Andrew were perfect hosts and very knowledgeable of the area and the history of the house. Breakfast was delightful with hot homemade bread and a good cooked breakfast. Could not wish for anything more, didn't want to come home. Lovely lovely people and guest house.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurrellMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Amanda
This is a delightful review and we are thrilled that you had a fantastic stay. You were only here for one night but you made a big impression on us.

Thank you for your comments about my homemade bread and the breakfast. We look forward to your return to Millgate and lovely Masham.

Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Terrace
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We arrived to a warm welcome and freshly baked scones. The house was quaint,tastefully renovated and beautifully decorated.Our room and en-suite were very well appointed and the bed the most comfortable we have had. Breakfast was delicious and the hosts helpful and charming. We would highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurrellMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Stephen

Thank you for this excellent review and for saying that you would highly recommend a visit to Millgate. It means such a lot to us when guests take the time to write about their stay.

We loved having you both here at Millgate and look forward to your return visit.

Best wishes to you both
Sue & Andrew Burrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We had a lovely room and enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere. Sue made the most beautiful bread for breakfast and cooked to our request. The B&B is in an excellent location with all village amenities just outside the door. We were treated as friends who had popped in and not as strangers. Excellent.


Jean Dolan

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurrellMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Jean

Thank you for this wonderful review. How flattering for us that you felt calm and relaxed after your break. Your 3 day stay with us at Millgate meant you really were able to take your time exploring Masham and the Dales.

We are both delighted to count you as friends and hope you are able to visit again soon.

Love to you both
Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had a very relaxing stay at Millgate with the last of the perfect summer weather! We read the reviews on Millgate of which were good, but I have to say we had an excellent stay from the scones in the garden to the award winning breakfast.
We even had a breakfast starter of local trout that Andrew had caught the day before! Sue and Andrew are perfect hosts and have a wealth of local knowledge especially on walks near by, Hackfall is a must

I would recommend Millgate as the place to stay in Masham.

Room Tip: The double room comes with the en suite bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurrellMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Stuart

Thank you for your thoughtful review. It was a real pleasure having you all to stay. The weather was perfect for sitting in the garden having afternoon tea. It is getting cooler now and Hackfall is particularly lovely at the moment as the leaves are beginning to change colour.

Andrew was really chuffed that you mentioned his trout. The trout season is nearly over so you were one of the lucky ones.

Hope to see you all again very soon
Kind regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Perfection! Fabulous hosts, imcredible history of the house, and a gorgeous comfy cosy room. To be greeted with fresh baked scones was marvellous too! We BnB a lot and can say that Millgate is our new gold medalist. The only thing that would have inproved our stay would have been to stay longer! We asked Sue and Andrew to adopt us . Hopefully the paperwork will come through soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurrellMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Sabrina

This is a wonderful review – thank you. To be awarded a gold medal and be described as perfection is just the best.

We would have loved to adopt you both and hope to see you back in the UK one day soon. It was really fun having you both to stay. Give our love to all your Canadian friends.

Best wishes & kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We booked a last minute night away at Millgate B & B. Within an hour of arriving we felt relaxed and unwound. Sue and Andrew were so welcoming and treated us like friends. The house is immaculate and meticulously clean but homely and cosy. Our room on the top floor was beautifully appointed and the welcoming home baked scones and jam were a lovely touch. We had a lovely dinner at the nearby Black Sheep Bistro on Sue's recommendation followed by a coffee and liqueur in the nearby hotel. At breakfast the next morning we were served hot, home baked sunflower & orange marmalade bread rolls, freshly squeezed orange juice, freshly prepared fruit salad followed by a delicious full english breakfast all made with local supplies.

We had planned to visit nearby Forbidden Corner but ended up spending the morning wandering around Masham and exporing their local shops which were a delight. Bought some hand made glass jewellery and mugs from a local artist, some picture cards from a little art shop, free range eggs and sticky toffee pud from the local butcher and all sorts of treats from a little delicattesen which is an aladdins cave.

The afternoon was spent wandering around the grounds of the nearby Swinton Park Hotel on Sue's suggestion. We walked for miles round the walled kitchen garden, the birds of prey enclosure, the lily pond, lakes, woods and fields.

We returned home less than 24 hours after we had left and felt as though we had been away for a weekend or more. Thank you Sue. Our time spent at your charming Millgate B & B was just what we needed to recharge our batteries. Hope to see you again very soon. Shona and Chris

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurrellMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Shona & Chris

We were really touched to read your review. We try so hard to make each guest feel welcome and to read that you were able to relax and unwind and recharge your batteries so effectively is wonderful.

Your comments about Millgate being homely and cosy were appreciated so was your fantastic description of breakfast– Thank you.

I have loads more suggestions of places to visit on your next visit and hope to see you both again very soon.

Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Millgate Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millgate Bed & Breakfast

Address: 5 Millgate, Masham HG4 4EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Masham
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Masham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Millgate Bed & Breakfast we provide 3 lovely letting bedrooms for our guests with luxurious beds and high-quality bedding. Our Award Winning Breakfasts are cooked to order and served with freshly baked bread. Our guests receive all sorts of little extras; a sociable welcome with complimentary refreshments on arrival, chilled and filtered water and fresh milk for beverages, serviced rooms, conversation, views, a peaceful and quiet location, advice and guidance on the best places to visit, plus flat screen TV, Internet access etc. All presented in a unique, Grade 2 listed historic family home which is both characterful and idiosyncratic and run with painstaking attention to detail. Quite simply a joy to stay in which is why we receive 100% Excellent reviews from our guests. Come and try Millgate for yourself. Walking distance to all the pubs and restaurants,yards from Masham's historic Market Place with its galleries, shops, cafes and restaurants and a short walk to Theakston and Black Sheep Breweries. Lovely riverside walks just off Millgate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Millgate Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millgate Bed & Breakfast Masham/Ripon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millgate Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.