We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine, but could be outstanding” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Head Hotel Masham

Save Saved
You added Kings Head Hotel Masham to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kings Head Hotel Masham
Market Place, Masham HG4 4EF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Masham B&B and Inns
Northumberland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Fine, but could be outstanding”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

Our stay at the Kings Head was much anticipated, and was built around a fishing course for one of us and a days shopping for the other. We paid a bit extra to stay in a courtyard room, and we were impressed by the quirky nature of the lay out, and facilities. I liked the mix of modern facilities and old furniture. I was concerned that we would be disturbed by the smokers sitting out at the back of the hotel, but the double glazing did the trick and we never heard a thing. I never worked out how to use the shower, but the roll top bath was a pleasant way to soak the cares of the working week away. It wasn't until bedtime that we realised that we had no way of turning off an extremely bright security light that was on the wall at the top of the stairs, right by the bed. I was able to read my book by its light in the middle of the night! It was so intrusive that it certainly disturbed our sleep. When I mentioned it on checkout though, the staff told us that it has only just been fitted and they had asked for it to be removed. We were pleased to get a discount - though we hadn't mentioned it just to get one - and hope this will be fixed for future guests. We enjoyed our breakfasts, though we had thought that they were included in the room price and were surprised on checkout to find that they weren't.
My overall impression is that this hotel has the potential to become a really special place, but it just doesn't quite achieve. A few corners are cut - clean pressed bed linen, but a stained valance sheet; grubby walls that look as if a quick coat of paint would help; curtains that are not well hung. I know these are only small things, but when you are charging your guests quite high prices the details are important. However, if you are thinking of booking I would recommend you go, and enjoy yourself!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    94
    47
    13
    19
See reviews for
45
174
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

I recently stayed at the Kings Head on recommendation. The location of the hotel is great, right in the market square, and in walking distance of some good pubs and eating places. However the hotel does not live up to the £90 for room only we are used to. The room was a decent size, although bland and without any individuality for a small market town hotel. The problem was it was dirty. The bathroom particularly was disgusting. There where towels stuffed behind the sink, presumably to catch a leak or drip. The floor was not clean with a collection of dust and dirt in the corners. The liquid soap from previous users had not been cleaned from the shower, and there was dust on the shower rail which was easily visible. The skirting board in the bedroom had thick dust on. The plus side is that it was a warm room, the bedding was clean and the bed comfortable, but it was a disappointment for the price they charge. To the credit of the management when we complained the following morning there was no hesitation or discussion, and we where not charged a penny, which we did not expect as we had not complained before. We did not feel we wanted to eat in the hotel as the impression was of a pre produced meal, but we did not have experience of this. It is a pity, as with a little effort this could be a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

We stayed in the Copper room, a regular double room. The room was on the top floor and was large. It was very well decorated incorporating modern decor and original features such as an original wooden beam and even a sloping floor!

The area was nice and quiet with no outside noise, but yet a short walk to other pubs and restaurants.

The bathroom was ample, but could use a little updating.

Can't comment on the food as we didn't eat at the hotel, having tried Vinnells on the opposite side of the square as recommended by another traveller.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEORDIELAND
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

Well where do I start,here is a hotel that should be cleaning up, it has very little competition but doesnt seem to care, on arrival at the room we tried the tele, no good, did not receive main channels, we phoned reception and were told it sometimes works ? , It was rather cold, we asked for heating but were told Boiler had blown, this was fixed promptly at least, there was dust on the fittings, the room was draughty, we found a large gap between the window frame and the main wall, we stuffed this with paper to prevent the draught, perhaps they could install secondary glazing inside the windows, the toilet brush holder had brown stuff at the bottom !!!!, The shower glass allowed water to run onto the floor, so all in all not a pleasant experience, we will use a 4 star guest house in future, so to the food, well very average to say the least, watery lasagne, and a veg pie that was more like a stew, breaKfast had items on menu but not available, i.e granola, we got the toast before the breakfast, were not asked if we wanted brown/white , we were asked if we wanted coffee or tea while up at the cereal bar, please give people a chance to sit down , breakfast should be relaxed, oh back to the restaurant , i asked if the chips were freash but alas they told me they were frozen, I asked if the ice cream was locally sourced as they have probably the best ice cream makers in yorkshire on their door step and dont use it , strange as it does appeal to punters, and tp end it all an error on the bill on departure, the chap in charge of restaurant was very casually dressed so you had no idea he was the gaffer do to speak, impressions count for a lot , on this experience it would not be our chosen accomodation in Masham ,which is a shame because it is an ideal location, a fantastic building , but they just dont seem to even meet the basics of customer focus.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

Just back from a great stay at the Kings Head. With a broken shower unit our stay could have turned out to be a disaster but the staff handled the situation perfectly. They quickly moved us to another room and on check out adjusted our tariff to the lower rate. I can't rave enough about the food in the restaurant. The thai seafood medley was one of the best fish dishes I have ever tasted and the vegetarian selection is also excellent. All in all a wonderful stay. We will be back!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire England
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

Have stayed at the Kings Head many times, and will continue to return. The staff are very friendly, good food, real ales and reasonably priced wines. Rooms, particularly those in the old stables(?) are excellent with bath and large shower. Rooms very spacious, clean and comfortable. Excellent breakfast choice. Masham is ideally placed for visiting the Yorkshire Dales, and is only a short distance from Ripon, Harrogate and the A1 Road

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

We stayed for a wedding at the end of January. Our room was the Tack Room which was lovely and of the standard of a good 4* hotel. I think all the rooms are decorated differently which is nice. The food at the wedding was excellent both for quality of produce and quality of cooking. However, we had bar meals the night before. I had chicken skewers which were rubbery (in the way that microwaved chicken continues cooking) and my friend had a salad with a chicken breast which had freezer burn and was also overcooked. However, I also had breaded whitebait which was lovely.

I don't know what your alternative food venue would be though as we couldn't see any other restaurants in the village.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kings Head Hotel Masham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Head Hotel Masham

Address: Market Place, Masham HG4 4EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Masham
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Masham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Kings Head Hotel Masham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Hotel Masham Ripon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Head Hotel Masham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.