We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel that has trouble actually booking rooms?!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Head Hotel Masham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kings Head Hotel Masham to your Saves list
Kings Head Hotel Masham
Market Place, Masham HG4 4EF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Masham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“A hotel that has trouble actually booking rooms?!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We didnt even get to stay here on the night we had booked. My partner booked the room, got an email confirmation from the Manager which had someone elses name and address and dates of booking, which he pointed out, only to get an email back which had just changed the name to his, but still had the other mans address and details on! He rang and spoke to the manager TWICE who assured him we were booked in for our date (the email also had the wrong month and dates which I assume were the other customer's). When we arrived that evening, no room and very little apology from the desk staff, there was a cursory "sorry" as we left. They did ring a local bed and breakfast to see if they had room, but we decided to look after ourselves, we had no faith in them by this point! They also offered a complimentary meal but we were not planning on eating there anyway as there is very little choice for vegetarians (I don't want to live on lasagne or veggie burgers wherever I go!) As well as this, we couldnt stay in Masham as we had nowhere to sleep-so how were we to actually get to this free meal?
We were disgusted, in all we gave the details of when we wanted to stay FOUR times and they still failed in this simple task.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    127
    55
    18
    26
See reviews for
67
234
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Some of the reviews hadn't been great, but it has recently had a re-furb and the more recent ones were OK. The hotel is very nice and the rooms to a very good standard and clean for the price charged. A word of warning about the food. There was nothing wrong with it, but it is a Chef & Brewer chain and as such, that is the standard you get. If the prices reflected that then it would have been OK, but at £10 or more we were expecting more of a freshly prepared home cooked meal. There are other places to eat in Masham of a similar price where you do get that quality of food.
We would definitely stay there again if visiting Masham. The Theakston brewery tour is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Had a 2 night break. Masham is gorgeous and staying at the Kings Head, in the square, in the beautiful 'stable' accomodation was perfect. Accomodation really was very good and spacious. The breakfast was good, but overall the food was very 'pubby'. Evening meals were better elsewhere. For a very comfortable nights stay, with a touch of luxury however, it could not be beaten. Staff were excellent, friendly and helpful, from the management, bar staff and restaurant staff, right to the ladies who served breakfast and cleaned the rooms, a real credit to the hotel. Would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, uk
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed here for the second time on May bank holiday weekend with my wife and baby daughter. Had a nice room behind the pub in the yard which was well appointed, spacious and quiet enough for the baby.
We visit Masham once a year or so, and the pub is in the best location in the centre of the Market square. There is a market on every bank holiday and its a nice place to explore. . Breakfast the next morning was good quality and service friendly.
Got a cheaper rate for the hotel by booking through laterooms a few weeks in advance.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a wedding in the arear for 3 nights. The room was in the main building right above reception. We did not have any problem with noise, and the room was extremely clean and comfortable, so I am not sure whether the position of the room and the refurb may have impacted this. The staff were very friendly and I would definitely recommend this hotel as a place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Stayed at this hotel on a family trip, on arrival was displeased because had booked a double room, which on arrival had been changed to single without prior consent, this I classed as discriminatory as I was willing to pay for a double room, also meant I was separated from rest of family. The single box was a serious disappointment for several reasons one it stank of paint which during the night triggered an asthma attack, which was frightening as I was so far away from the help of family. The second complaint was the room overlooked the main square I am no misery but was kept awake till two in the morning by screaming yobs and fighting girls, because the windows were painted open and nothing could shut them could not escape the noise. I feel that at £71 without breakfast this room is vastly overcharged . Therefore I will not return or recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

We only stayed one night and for £79 a night it wasn't great value. The room was ok, big and comfortable but needed some TLC and wasn't 100% clean. That said, the hotel was closing for a refurb, so hopefully they will update the rooms. Our room was over the front of the pub, so it was noisy at closing time, so maybe not great for light sleepers. Masham is a great town, and this is a fab location, right on the Market Place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kings Head Hotel Masham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Head Hotel Masham

Address: Market Place, Masham HG4 4EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Masham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Masham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Kings Head Hotel Masham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Hotel Masham Ripon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Head Hotel Masham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.