We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Bear Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Masham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Bear Hotel
Save
You added White Bear Hotel to your Saves list
Wellgarth, Masham HG4 4EN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Masham
West Sussex, UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We ate here 3 times over Christmas. Every time the service was great, the food delicious and piping hot. The staff are lovely and friendly and of course the beer is superb. We visited two years ago at Christmas and we are so pleased to say that it's just as good.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    42
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
38
160
1
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Had a dog friendly room which was luxurious with tv, dvd,new furniture, good bathroom.The hotels food was as good as it gets.The hotel is next to the Blacksheep brewery which was a bonus. Staff were very attentive. Overall great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Booked into the white bear restaurant for our first evening meal in Masham (21/12/12), the staff were friendly, the service was superb, the food was excellent, the surroundings delightful and the cherry on the cake the Theakstons Old Peculiar was amazing. One of the best points is that the food was served piping hot, even the bar snacks are excellent, would definately go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay! A lovely country hotel with excellent food, hospitable staff. We hope to stay again in the near future. It truly is a little gem. And as a manager said to me " It is all about you ( the guest ). It most certainly is. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here for just one night, after eating there last year and enjoying the experience.
I'm glad we did. Although it was freezing outside, the hotel and pub/restaurant areas were all so lovely and warm. The log fires always help in winter.
The room was very spacious with a large bathroom too. The room was spotless and nicely furnished. We ate in the restaurant,having a starter and main course. Everything was perfect. After the meal, we wandered into the bar and had fun while the pub was hosting a competition for darts and dominoes with what I assume was another pub. We were made very welcome by the staff and customers.
Breakfast was also amazing.... I was really full afterwards.
We shall be returning here. Definately

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Booked a 2 night break here for the end of October for a quiet country break, but also within distances of Lightwater valley theme park for our young daughters entertainment. From the minute we arrived the staff were fantastic, friendly, helpful and always smiling! The room we stayed in was spacious, immaculate and everything you would expect from a 4 star + hotel. The bar and lounge were warmed and lit with big open fires, very traditional and cosy. The food was beautiful with a big variety on the menu including al a carte and daily blackboard specials. I could not fault a single thing and will definitely go back without a doubt!!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Many thanks to Sue and your staff . We had a marvellous time !! Wonderful atmosphere, everyone was so friendly and helpful. The hotel was beautifully decorated and cleaned to a very high standard.The food was superb!!! The pub itself was full of charm and so welcoming with the open fires in the bars.
.Great location. A visit to Theakston brewery a must. It is refreshing to find a place with everything about it so good ,well done !!!! WE WILL BE BACK .

Room Tip: What ever room you choose it will be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with IKnowUK

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Bear Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Bear Hotel

Address: Wellgarth, Masham HG4 4EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Masham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Masham
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Hotel White Bear
White Bear Hotel Masham/Ripon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Bear Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.