We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The White Bear Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Masham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The White Bear Hotel
Save
You added The White Bear Hotel to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wellgarth, Masham HG4 4EN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Masham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Booked a 2 night break here for the end of October for a quiet country break, but also within distances of Lightwater valley theme park for our young daughters entertainment. From the minute we arrived the staff were fantastic, friendly, helpful and always smiling! The room we stayed in was spacious, immaculate and everything you would expect from a 4 star + hotel. The bar and lounge were warmed and lit with big open fires, very traditional and cosy. The food was beautiful with a big variety on the menu including al a carte and daily blackboard specials. I could not fault a single thing and will definitely go back without a doubt!!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    47
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
43
173
1
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Many thanks to Sue and your staff . We had a marvellous time !! Wonderful atmosphere, everyone was so friendly and helpful. The hotel was beautifully decorated and cleaned to a very high standard.The food was superb!!! The pub itself was full of charm and so welcoming with the open fires in the bars.
.Great location. A visit to Theakston brewery a must. It is refreshing to find a place with everything about it so good ,well done !!!! WE WILL BE BACK .

Room Tip: What ever room you choose it will be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with IKnowUK

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in the Theakston room (Penthouse). The room was amazing, the staff were so friendly, the food was good. An excellent place to explore the beautiful Yorkshire Countryside and local sights.
Thank you to Sue and her team for making us feel so welcome and for the extra little baked treats that awaited us in our room every day when we returned from our travels.
We arrived feeling stressed and tired and left feeling relaxed, re-energised and slightly heavier!
Why can't all hotels manage this combination of luxury, informality and excellent service?

Room Tip: Theakston (Penthouse) is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornsea
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We chose The White Bear for a recent break in Masham. This was our first stay in the area so took a lead from tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. The hotel was warm,comfortable and the staff very friendly, making our stay very relaxing and enjoyable. The room was excellent, it was well appointed and clean, one would find it difficult to find fault.
The open fires in the bars contributed to the warm welcome we were given on our arrival and during our stay, the selection of beer on offer was more than adequate all of which was brewed within a short distance of the hotel.
The quality of the food was first class. Although a little bit pricey from the A La Carte menu the bar meal menu seemed better value for money. My pet moan is not being able to understand how good quality food can be served on COLD plates, even the hearty Yorkshire breakfast was marred by lukewarm food, this was our only criticism and other than that thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Yes we would revisit this hotel again and thanks to everyone at The White Bear.

Paul & Sue East Yorkshire.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at the White Bear, for the second time, while visiting the Black Sheep Brewery (for a Bistro night that ended up being cancelled). We received a warm welcome and were shown promptly to our lovely room. It was well decorated, clean and comfortable (although the mattress was a little too firm for our liking). The bathroom was spotless and very elegantly decorated, and contained good quality fittings (great shower!).
This hotel has the best combination of a lovely pub with open fires and (of course) great beer, with modern hotel facilities.
We were very happy with the breakfast, which included home baked banana bread which was delicious. After commenting on how nice it was, I was told I could take some for later, and did not hesitate to do so! Good quality food, lovely surroundings, and again very friendly and helpful staff.
Overall, a great place to stay for exploring the Yorkshire Dales.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Booked one night stay in theakston suite at the white bear for a special celebration. Room was amazing, staff were really friendly & helpful.
Dinner in the restaurant was very enjoyable (good honest well cooked food) & the breakfast excellent.
All in all a superb stay, only downside was we just had one night!!!
Looking forward to a return visit soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Took friends here for a meal last week for Sunday lunch. The quality of the meat did not live up to the expected standards, it seemed rather poor, not having the qualty of other places in the area. The meat seemed somewhat processed and overcooked, not having that freshly carved texture. The vegetables were flavoursome but just felt we could have cooked a better Sunday lunch at home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The White Bear Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Bear Hotel

Address: Wellgarth, Masham HG4 4EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Masham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Masham
Hotel Class:5 star — The White Bear Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Hotel White Bear
The White Bear Hotel Masham/Ripon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Bear Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.