We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of White Bear Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Masham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Bear Hotel
Save
You added White Bear Hotel to your Saves list
Wellgarth, Masham HG4 4EN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Masham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012 via mobile

We visited here for lunch with the family. We waited a long time before they took our order and throughout the various courses also. We found the food bland and lacking flavour. The mash was lumpy, we had three carrots each and found them stingy with most of the portions. Eventually after waiting 15 mins for the billl we had to go to the bar and pay. We were asked if we enjoyed our meal and was honest with them....we were rudely told we were entitled to our opinion and that was that. All in all... Not impressed!

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    42
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
38
160
1
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich,Cheshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012 via mobile

Friendly welcome,attentive staff,roomy accommodation ,good food- reasonably priced,great beer,easy walking distance from attractive Masham.
I would stay there again.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Stayed at the White Bear for just one night 17/03/2012 but will definitely return. Beautiful rooms (we were in the Aysgarth room). Very warm but okay once the window was opened. Huge comfy bed and lightweight but very warm duvet. Well stocked tea and coffee tray. Super pub with excellent staff. The food on the Saturday night was superb and there was an excellent wine list with reasonable prices. Breakfast did not let the pub down - good choice of cereals and fruit juices and some lovely fresh fruits and yogurt. Good choice of cooked breakfasts - the full english looked lovely, but the smoked salmon and scrambled egg was just right. Beautiful fresh flowers everywhere. A great experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roubaix, France
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

great accommodation, friendly efficient staff, good food and excellent beer. Amazing flower displays and a real cosy place to stay , far better than inhospitable corporate chains.
We loved it and will revisit. They even apologised for the smell of paint in the recently re- decorated room.Go visit

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilapot
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Just stayed the one night as a stop over on the way back from Norfolk to Scotland and will be using this establishment again. The room was very spacious including a huge bed, TV & DVD. Ate elsehwere on the night of our stay but headed back to the lounge bar for brekkie before a wander around Masham. Breakfast was spot on, tasty bacon & sausages and I've a soft spot for a wee bit of fried bread (oh the cooked tomato was the best I've had in a breakfast).

In short I was gutted I only got to stay the one night.

Room Tip: Masham room was very spacious, sep seating area and bathroom large with sep bath and shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadcaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Superb all round - Good Food, classy clean accommodation yet friendly pub atmosphere. Nothing was too much trouble. I will definately recommend the White Bear Hotel at Masham to anyone.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely. They are clean, warm, quiet and have TV and tea/coffee making facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the White Bear Hotel on two separate occasions, once in the wonderful Penthouse and once in one of the other lovely rooms. On both occasions we thoroughly enjoyed our experience, the rooms were well appointed, very comfortable, clean and above all, we were made to feel very welcome by the ever attentive staff.

We had dinner in the restaurant which I particularly enjoyed and on one evening I was offered a dish which was not on the menu, purely because I happen to mention an ingredient to the friendly manageress who took our order. We found this to be a lovely touch and made us feel special.

The atmosphere at The White Bear is very relaxing and enjoyable and we are looking forward to our next visit very soon!

Ooh, I like the cricketer illustrations on the stairs leading to the rooms and my wife loved the abundance of fresh flowers everywhere.

Bravo!

Room Tip: Treat yourself to The Penthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Bear Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Bear Hotel

Address: Wellgarth, Masham HG4 4EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Masham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Masham
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Hotel White Bear
White Bear Hotel Masham/Ripon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Bear Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.