We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food with attention to detail” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samuel's at Swinton Park

Samuel's at Swinton Park
Swinton Park,, Masham HG4 4JH, England
+44 (0)1765 680900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Masham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $110
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Richmond, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Amazing food with attention to detail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We enjoyed an evening meal here as part of our hotel stay and the food was a real treat. The staff were very helpful and friendly without being over bearing.
The service wasnt rushed so we were able to enjoy everything without the staff hovering ready to serve the next course. A few nice touches included a plate of canapes when we sat down and a gorgeous Bubble and Squeak amuse bouche after our starter.
Afterwards I had coffee in the drawing room in front of the fire and it was served with some amazing homemade petit fours including a beetreet meringue wtth blackberry and an apple marshmallow - yum!
Breakfast the following day was also brilliant with a wide range of juices/ continental style foods & cereals to choose from before embarking on a lovely cooked breakfast.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    18
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Swinton dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Unhurried meal in superb surroundings. Service discreet. Food of Michelin star quality. Much recommended. I am unable to comment on price as the meal was part of a DB&B package.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

We celebrated our wedding anniversary with lunch at Swinton Park and were not disappointed. The service and ambience are truly 1st Class and the food is 5 star. Superb when you are looking for something classier than a pub lunch. We were really made to feel welcome by the friendly staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had the 7 course taster menu and sampled items that we would not have normally chosen. Just exquiste, the flavours of the food were just like fireworks going off in your mouth. Each course was beautifully presented and staff were on hand to explain what each dish consisted of and also in suggesting wines. We actually had the taster menu with the wine to accompany each course and each wine, port and muscat matched the food to perfection. Would definitely recommend, deserves the 3AA Rosettes that it has been awarded

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Two friends and I had lunch here as part of a spa day experience.

We were asked if we wished to eat in the ding room or the drawing room, we selected the dining room as eating lunch from a coffee table would have been difficult. The dining room is very large and beautifully laid out but as we were the only guests in there on a midweek lunchtime a little chilly and without atmosphere.

The inclusive lunch consisted of two courses but a third could be selected from the menu at an additional cost. The staff were helpful and informative and went out of their way to accommodate my friend who wanted the venison but without the walnuts.

The menu was well balanced with a reasonable choice and very descriptive but the food although nice did not live up to the fanfare. We all had the Yorkshire piggy starter which was warm chopped ham with piccalilli inspired vegetables (a bit of turmeric and a hint of vinegar on shredded veg) I had the fish which was tiny and the thinnest fillet I have ever seen thin served with some puree which added little to the dish and garlic cloves, My friends had the Venison which was well cooked though both portions differed in their degree of ‘done’.

In summary the food was nice, not particularly special and although there was sufficient food for a snack there wasn’t really enough for lunch, this is Yorkshire after all! I would go back to the hotel as a whole for a longer stay as it was lovely and the service excellent; however I expected quite a lot more of the food

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samuel's at Swinton Park also viewed

 

Been to Samuel's at Swinton Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samuel's at Swinton Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.