We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bellavista

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bellavista to your Saves list
Hotel Bellavista
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Pare 87, 23868 Valmadrera, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Valmadrera
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Still the best find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our 2nd stay here was as good as the first in 2008. We enjoy the friendly family atmosphere, the location right on the lake edge and close by Lecco and a short distance from Milano and Como. Rooms are clean, windows open onto the patio and lake view.

Room Tip: Definitely a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    39
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
68
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kinross
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Arrived in Pare walked from bus stop to hotel. Greeted by Christina and Carlo. So welcoming . Room overlooking Lake Como with San Martino mountain in front. Breathtaking views. Christina and Carlo could not do enough for us. So friendly, obviously proud of their Hotel. Perfect Hosts. Gave us suggestions of things to do. Breakfast simple but really good lots of fresh fruit! Place spotless you could eat off the floor. Loved it can't wait to come back. Hospitality .... A gold star.Restaurant next door really simple food good prices.

Room Tip: Book a room with the Lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were on a two week tour of Italy, our second night was spent in Rimini. We should have stayed there for 4 more days but disliked the area so much we skipped ahead to lake como and booked the bella vista on the basis of trip advisor reviews.

We were not dissapointed, the building is situated about a mile from lecco and is probably the nearest lake side location from bergamo airport. It's about 5 minutes off the dual carriage way (don't let that confuse its very quiet)

It's down a small side road and directly overlooks a small marina at lakeside. The staff (all part of the same family) were helpful and quite charming. The facilities whilst a little basic, were clean modern and well decorated. We had just left a 5 star hotel in Rimini, here we immediately felt at home.

Our room was a lake view room, which opened out onto a shared terrace, view was spectacular, and although shared we each had a little divider and a couple of chairs and tables.

Internet connection (2 euros ) was super quick.

Alberto appeared to speak every European language to a good standard

Couple minor observations - all hotels on this side lake fall into shadow earlier than there counterparts across the water.

The terrace would really benefit from a couple sunbeds or similar.

All in all great value highly recommended

Room Tip: Book lake view room on terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Wonderful hotel, a little off the main area in lake Como. On a very peaceful part of the lake. Not much to do in the town. Close to lecco, but a little far to walk to. If your spending a few days here this is a great place. Make sure to check the bus schedule to plan your day or rent a car. Lecco has trains and boats to the main area of the lake, but fairly infrequently.

So back to the hotel, the rooms are a pretty decent size and the views are incredible. The hotel proprietors are there all day and are very helpful and kind. They clearly care a lot about their hotel and are very proud of it. I loved our stay here. The free breakfast is mostly packaged foods and is pretty basic, but perfectly adequate. Beds and shower are basic, but perfectly fine.

Make sure you pay the extra euros for a lake view. I stayed in room 205, which has 2 balconies and I think is one of the better rooms in the hotel.

Room Tip: Lake view - cant say that enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in late August.Firstly the views are everything we hoped they would be and right on the lake looking across at Lecco village.The owners are great and really look after you.The hotel is immaculately clean.The location is good for restaurants(one attached to the hotel).Special mention to Alberto who was a gem on the local area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Excellent 3* hotel at Lake Como. The owners are great and care very well about their guest. They were helpful with everything we needed. Despite only 18 rooms we did see at least 4 cleaning ladies; consequently, room and spacious bathroom were always super clean. You need a car to appreciate the location but we thought it is great and only 4 minutes drive to the town of Lecco, which is very nice with many shops, restaurants and sea-type promenade. It is also a short drive to (15-20minutes) the most tourist town Bellagio, from where you can take boat to both coasts of Como. The breakfast was not great but good enough and the room has large windows to enjoy beautiful sight at the lake during breakfast.
When I have to think about the negatives only weak sound isolation between the rooms comes to my mind, I guess thin walls are the problem. The furniture is ok for a 3-star hotel.
Overall we recommend this hotel greatly and we wish to return someday.

Room Tip: The surcharge for rooms with lake-view is not high so choose it as it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with a friend for 3 nights and it was gorgeous. Breaktaking view. From our very very clean room you could see the lake and mountain.Nice couple who own it and very helpful. Good location as we walk to restaurants and bar down the road for dinner and drinks.
The only negative I have is the breakfast. Not enough selection. I think if time and money obviously is invested in a proper selection e.g fried eggs, sausages and fresh bread, then that place will be one of the best in the area.
Other than that i loved every bit of the place and will actually recommend the place to my enemy......

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bellavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellavista

Address: Via Pare 87, 23868 Valmadrera, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Valmadrera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Valmadrera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bellavista 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bellavista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellavista Hotel Valmadrera
Hotel Bellavista Valmadrera, Lake Como, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bellavista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.