We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Fashioned seaside location hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beau Rivage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Beau Rivage to your Saves list
Hotel Beau Rivage
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 rue Charcot | Luc-sur-mer, 14530, Luc-sur-Mer, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Luc-sur-Mer
stoke on trent
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned seaside location hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Good hotel on sea front, we had a room, overlooking the beach, but I think we go this due to the wind whistling through windows, and other visitors not wanting the rooms, but did it was fine.
Old fashioned charming rooms, with rather outdated but working fittings.

We ate in the dining and had the set menu for 27 euros, which was very tasty.

Overall good value a hotel and I would recommend, but ............

My only gripe was that I was overcharged by the hotel owner when I checked out, on what I had booked throught the website booking site, and I did not realise until I had left.

Room Tip: sea front, if not blowing a howling gale!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    41
    14
    6
    11
See reviews for
21
60
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Our three-generation family of nine, ages 16 to 70, enjoyed a two night stay here in early July. As others have noted, there is a steep staircase to the upper floors, and the rooms and bathrooms vary in size and details, but these are aspects of an authentic traditional French family-run hotel. Philippe, who greeted us, was very helpful in offering us a choice of rooms that would best accomodate our party. Comfort and cleanliness happily coexist with charm here: comfortable beds, good plumbing, and blackout shades allowing for late sleeping if desired. Housekeepers were pleasant and efficient.

We wanted to keep our schedule flexible so we didn't arrange for meals in the restaurant, and felt no pressure to do so.

At the end of the beach, the location is quiet and offers beautiful views. We enjoyed the mini-golf neaby, and strolling to a cafe on the beach for breakfast or afternoon coffee. Luc-sur-mer is a good base for excursions to Bayeux and the D-day beaches, but also offers beach activities and a pretty municipal park for those who want a break from intense sightseeing.

Having researched many alternative Normandy beach hotels, and having previously stayed at a different hotel in Luc-sur-mer, I was very happy to have chosen Hotel Beau Rivage, and would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: If it's important to have a shower vs. a bathtub, contact Philippe directly and I'm sure he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We wanted somewhere to stay overnight on the way back to the Tunnel and found this family run hotel right on 'Juno Beach'. It was inexpensive so we weren't expecting much, but the welcome was warm and the room and public areas were adequate and very clean. We had no shower in our en suite and the bath was tiny, but neither of these was a problem and I didn't say anything, but when we settled the bill the friendly proprietor offered an unsolicited apology, explaining that we'd taken the last room, and knocked 20€ off the bill. The hotel is in a lovely position and 'does what it says on the tin'. If you're looking for somewhere to lay your head it's perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takeley, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

friendly family run hotel,right by the beach,in need of some refurbishment to say the least but clean enough,good location for d day beach trips

Room Tip: clean but bathroom tired sea view essential
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoe City, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

We enjoyed our stay very much and look forward to a return visit soon. The owners made us feel totally at home and catered to our every need. They made our stay very memorable. The location is charming and the sea air was invigorating....do try a stay there when in the area.....Jone and Patrick

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

We have been welcomed in a warm and friendly way by the owners of this small family hotel in the quiet little Luc-sur-Mer, where it is standing right in front of the sea. Although the hotel needs some refurbishing, everything was very clean and we did have an enjoyable stay. The owners took over the hotel some years ago and are refreshing it bit by bit. The beds are of good quality, which is important for a good night's sleep. We took the half boarding formula incl. breakfast and dinner. The food is very tasty if you like fish and seafood, but you the menu can be changed if you inform them in the morning; they also adapt it to the children. You only have to ask. Breakfast is identical every day (no buffet; juices, coffee/tea/chocolate, petit pains & croissants, cereals), but good, sufficient and nicely presented; if you need anything special it will be ordered for the next day. I can only recommend the Beau Rivage, we had no problems whatsoever. The owners make you feel at home without being familiar. They give you good recommendations about sightseeing, surrounding places, roads to take/avoid and they are genuinely concerned when you encounter a problem. We stayed there for a week and may want to go back some time later for both the stay as well as the things we did not get to see this time. There's plenty of interesting places to visit in the neighbourhood, i.e. landing beaches, cemeteries & memorials, Caen, Bayeux, Honfleur, Trouville, Deauville, castles and manors, Mont-Saint-Michel (1h30 drive), etc. It's an ideal starting point for such small trips.
If you expect the atmosphere and grandeur of an international address this is not the place to be. You go to the Beau Rivage for its quiet location, hospitality and good food. And as it happens to be a general rule you will be treated with respect if you act in the same way.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

We didn't stay here (thank goodness) only ate here. It was the worst meal we had in 2 glorious weeks in France, and the most expensive. We were not shown to a table, and were then told the one we had settled at (with sea view) was reserved - poor management and immediately made us feel unwelcome. The staff seemed unhappy, the decor tired, and the food had that sort of bland taste that comes from bought-in ready-made meals. My salmon and spinach starter barely tasted of either and there was not a scrap of fish to be seen, the Trou Normande was 99% ice, and we were charged €10 for a gin and tonic - fine if you're paying for glamorous surroundings and excellent service but we had neither to console us. All the locals were enjoying a special , no doubt cheap, deal of moules and dessert designed to fill the place. Having sampled the 'menu' we realised why none of them were eating from it!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Beau Rivage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beau Rivage

Address: 1 rue Charcot | Luc-sur-mer, 14530, Luc-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Luc-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Luc-sur-Mer
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Beau Rivage 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Beau Rivage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beau Rivage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.