We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accomodation ok but seafood amazing!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Cremaillere

Save Saved
You added La Cremaillere to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Cremaillere
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue de la Combattante, 14470 Courseulles-sur-Mer, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Accomodation ok but seafood amazing!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed in this cute seaside town two nights and this hotel was pretty good. The rooms were big and clean with sea views, and while nothing amazing were good enough. However the service and restaurant here were very good. The fish had literally just leapt out of the sea!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    154
    55
    29
    19
See reviews for
85
274
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

First off the staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed in one of the Cabanas with a view of the Beach. This was great to see the ocean and here it as well. The breakfast was excellent as well we had supper in the Restaurant. The supper was plentiful, reasonably priced, and above all very tasty!!
The area is worth seeing especially if you are a Canadian as it gives you a picture of what the Normandy Juno beach landings was all about.
If you plan to go to this area, this is the place to stay!!
Thanks very much, I only wish is that we could have stayed longer

Room Tip: Ocean view if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Clean modern spacious room, excellent Sunday lunch. Polite and efficient staff even though restaurant was full. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for large bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Beds were terrible very uncomfortable no sleep, used the sofa bed a bit better, no tea/coffee making facilities. Manageress stated that they do not cater for English people. Very overpriced, charged us the full 9 euro for one coissant had to supply our own tea as all they had was minted and other perfumed tea. All in all a very poor 2 star hotel and I would not advise anyone to stay here, glad to go home

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We were taking the ferry home from France at the end of our holiday. We have, in the past travelled from St Malo to Portsmouth and managed to make it part of our holiday, enjoying 2 nights in a comfortable hotel. We usually pay 70- 90 Euro a night and have never been disappointed.
This year we decided to try the Caen ferry and booked 2 nights at Le Cremaillere at a discounted rate, the cost was more than we usually pay and was for a 4 person duplex room in an annex from the main hotel and included a buffet breakfast.
On arrival we were given our keys and directed to our room. The receptionist advised us to book a table for our evening meal as the hotel was busy. We enjoy our food and can usually negotiate our way around a french menu, however there were a couple of items that we weren't sure about but the waiting staff were unable to enlighten us.
We were seated on a table for 2 between the main room and a back room, which was fine until a block booking of perhaps 50 people arrived. They managed to squeeze past us and for the rest of our time in the dining room it felt rather like being on a traffic island, being bumped and pushed about. There was an empty window table in front of us, but staff appeared to prefer to hope for a walk in rather than move us to a more comfortable position. The food was very nice and we enjoyed a very good bottle of wine.
Our room was disappointing to say the least. No air con. and the only way to gain ventalation was to leave the three foot wide 'balcony' door open. I have the midge bites as I write this, to remind me of this.
There were two (very comfortable) single beds pushed together, a table and two kitchen chairs in the room, but no room for anything else or even to pass each other.
The bathroom had the smallest shower, it was the size of a washing up bowl in a cupboard, no hair dryer
On the plus side there was free wifi, which was very good.
Breakfast was at 7.15 - 10am very civilised times. A wide choice of foods and we thoroughly enjoyed it.
Our ferry was at 8.30 on our second morning and we needed to be at port by 7.45. We preferred not to wait untill the morning of our departure to pay our room bill and so went to reception in the late afternoon on the day before.
The receptionist was on the telephone when we arrived, after waiting for a while she asked what we wanted. When we said we'd like to pay our bill she said she was ''busy'' and to pay in the morning, later or wait until she had time for us

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thame, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Great location overlooking the beach & sea, the food was wonderful and represented value compared with other restaurants of the same standard in the town. The room (in an annex 60 metres away) had the same view as the restaurant but was of an adequate rather than good standard. The staff were good, and we enjoyed our 2 night stay.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before agreeing to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We chose to extend our two week holiday in France by an extra night before travelling home via Le Havre which is just over an hour away. I must say after a week in highly touristy and overpriced (albeit beautiful Honfleur), Courseulles was a very welcome, more authentic French seaside experience. Husband and teenage son visited the excellent Canadian war museum, younger one and I played on the huge wide beach. You cannot help but be touched by the history of the area even if it is not your reason for coming specifically.
I would agree with other reviewers re the duplex family rooms across the street. Nothing special and very cramped. The half board tarif compared with just B&B is so reasonable and the food so amazing at the hotel restaurant across at the beach that it would be madness to stay here and not eat. Having spent the whole holiday complaining about how expensive France is for us (due to awful exchange rate), our last night dinner, which would only have been 22 euros per person if billed separately, was one of the best value and most delicious meals we've ever eaten. And our children age 13 and 9, who are used to eating proper food, were allowed this menu too, not some horrible chicken nugget experience. The staff though extremely busy, were charming without exception.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Cremaillere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cremaillere

Address: Avenue de la Combattante, 14470 Courseulles-sur-Mer, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Courseulles-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Courseulles-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Cremaillere 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
open every day, l'hôtel restaurant la crémaillère logis de france is 3 star hotel and maitre restaurateur for the restaurantrestaurant and rooms on sea side or with garden view ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your La Cremaillere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cremaillere Courseulles-Sur-Mer, France - Basse-Normandie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cremaillere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.