We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Cremaillere

Save Saved
You added La Cremaillere to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Cremaillere
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue de la Combattante, 14470 Courseulles-sur-Mer, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
newcastle
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We were taking the ferry home from France at the end of our holiday. We have, in the past travelled from St Malo to Portsmouth and managed to make it part of our holiday, enjoying 2 nights in a comfortable hotel. We usually pay 70- 90 Euro a night and have never been disappointed.
This year we decided to try the Caen ferry and booked 2 nights at Le Cremaillere at a discounted rate, the cost was more than we usually pay and was for a 4 person duplex room in an annex from the main hotel and included a buffet breakfast.
On arrival we were given our keys and directed to our room. The receptionist advised us to book a table for our evening meal as the hotel was busy. We enjoy our food and can usually negotiate our way around a french menu, however there were a couple of items that we weren't sure about but the waiting staff were unable to enlighten us.
We were seated on a table for 2 between the main room and a back room, which was fine until a block booking of perhaps 50 people arrived. They managed to squeeze past us and for the rest of our time in the dining room it felt rather like being on a traffic island, being bumped and pushed about. There was an empty window table in front of us, but staff appeared to prefer to hope for a walk in rather than move us to a more comfortable position. The food was very nice and we enjoyed a very good bottle of wine.
Our room was disappointing to say the least. No air con. and the only way to gain ventalation was to leave the three foot wide 'balcony' door open. I have the midge bites as I write this, to remind me of this.
There were two (very comfortable) single beds pushed together, a table and two kitchen chairs in the room, but no room for anything else or even to pass each other.
The bathroom had the smallest shower, it was the size of a washing up bowl in a cupboard, no hair dryer
On the plus side there was free wifi, which was very good.
Breakfast was at 7.15 - 10am very civilised times. A wide choice of foods and we thoroughly enjoyed it.
Our ferry was at 8.30 on our second morning and we needed to be at port by 7.45. We preferred not to wait untill the morning of our departure to pay our room bill and so went to reception in the late afternoon on the day before.
The receptionist was on the telephone when we arrived, after waiting for a while she asked what we wanted. When we said we'd like to pay our bill she said she was ''busy'' and to pay in the morning, later or wait until she had time for us

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    143
    48
    29
    19
See reviews for
80
256
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Thame, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Great location overlooking the beach & sea, the food was wonderful and represented value compared with other restaurants of the same standard in the town. The room (in an annex 60 metres away) had the same view as the restaurant but was of an adequate rather than good standard. The staff were good, and we enjoyed our 2 night stay.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before agreeing to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We chose to extend our two week holiday in France by an extra night before travelling home via Le Havre which is just over an hour away. I must say after a week in highly touristy and overpriced (albeit beautiful Honfleur), Courseulles was a very welcome, more authentic French seaside experience. Husband and teenage son visited the excellent Canadian war museum, younger one and I played on the huge wide beach. You cannot help but be touched by the history of the area even if it is not your reason for coming specifically.
I would agree with other reviewers re the duplex family rooms across the street. Nothing special and very cramped. The half board tarif compared with just B&B is so reasonable and the food so amazing at the hotel restaurant across at the beach that it would be madness to stay here and not eat. Having spent the whole holiday complaining about how expensive France is for us (due to awful exchange rate), our last night dinner, which would only have been 22 euros per person if billed separately, was one of the best value and most delicious meals we've ever eaten. And our children age 13 and 9, who are used to eating proper food, were allowed this menu too, not some horrible chicken nugget experience. The staff though extremely busy, were charming without exception.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

The good bit was the restaurant, superb and the food was almost as good as the excellent service. You could not fault that.
However, we had a family room at the Gytan, which is away from the main hotel but not too far and expected it to be quite good. It was in fact quite basic, if not rather rustic for the money they want. We stayed in guest houses for 100 euros the week before and had much better value for money on that front, 157 euros for what was not so special a room left us feeling perplex. Breakfast is OK, nothing to report home about, and in fact you feel like staying in a Travelodge but paying quite a lot for it. I would recommend other places to stay for a family, this was overall a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

The location was fantastic - centrally located if you are visiting all the D-Day beaches. The seaside rooms were wonderful - quaint and spacious. The resturaunt had great food and a nice breakfast and lovely views of the sea.

Our family of four did not get a seaside room, but had to stay across the street in a seperate building that was an annex. The room was cramped with very steep stairs to a loft area. We had to keep the window open all night because of the musty smell. The shower stall was so small that you could not turn around in it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Nothing much to say about the hotel that hasn't been said by other reviewers. Nice position right on Juno beach. Good base camp for exploring any D-day-site. Rooms fair. Restaurant more than fair. Breakfast poor. Staff very nice. Overall, fairly good value. Location, as said, excellent for excursions. Wifi, which is free, worked in some parts of the hotel. If wifi is important, you must have a room facing the street. Entrance to the rooms (at least our room) was through the restaurant. Felt a bit like an old fashioned "gasthaus" where you slipped up to your room behind the bar... or something like that. Not a problem - just a little bit odd.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea are very nice. Try get one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

We enjoyed three nights in our triple room overlooking Juno beach. Great room. Spacious, two balconies and clean. Excellent food with lots of choice for a half board arrangement. Very busy but still attentive and friendly. Excellent value for money and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Cremaillere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cremaillere

Address: Avenue de la Combattante, 14470 Courseulles-sur-Mer, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Courseulles-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Courseulles-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Cremaillere 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
open every day, l'hôtel restaurant la crémaillère logis de france is 3 star hotel and maitre restaurateur for the restaurantrestaurant and rooms on sea side or with garden view ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your La Cremaillere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cremaillere Courseulles-Sur-Mer, France - Basse-Normandie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cremaillere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.