We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“D-Day through Candian eyes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Juno Beach Centre

Juno Beach Centre
Voie des Francais Libres, BP 104, 14470 Courseulles-sur-Mer, France
(00.33) (0)2.31.37.32.17
Website
Improve this listing
Type: History Museums, Monuments/ Statues
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Canadian World War II memorial museum features interactive animations and a dramatic eight-foot bronze sculpture entitled "Remembrance and Renewal."
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
2 reviews
“D-Day through Candian eyes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The museum is worth the visit, but not a must see.

Walking on the beach however gives you great insight on what happened in the 6th of June 1944.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    50
    18
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Well done and Comprehensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is a fabulous center. No where else in Europe can you get such a in depth understanding of the Canadian experience in WWII. I also took the guided tour outside of the museum and I enjoyed it. As I visited off season the tour was French and English at the same time which didn't bother me, but may be annoying to others. It was very informative though. There is a really nice section of the museum of video taped interviews with the WWII Canadian veterans discussing their experiences which were truly fantastic.

This museum is full of information but does not have as many artifacts as some other museums.
This center is a must see for all Canadians, but when I visited there were MANY different nationalities visiting as well! This is not just for Canadians !

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great introduction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a great introduction into the roll that Canadians played into the D-day invasions.
We did not take a tour on the day that we were there as it was pouring rain, but I understand it is well worth it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A must-see for any war-history buff, especially Canadians.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Rented a car when our cruise ship stopped in Le Havre for the day. About 80 min drive on excellent highways, easy to find. Absolutely excellent, interactive museum that teaches a lot about the D-Day invasion. Included walking tour with Canadian guide on the beach to explain the events of the day. Not to be missed for anyone interested in World War II and especially Canada's part in it. Made me sad for the guys who went in that day, but especially proud to be Canadian.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“All things Canadian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I felt so proud to be a Canadian at this Centre it is one of the best memorials that i have ever seen. Take the tour and the beach tour it is well worth it. They walk among us you can almost feel it on the beach. If you bring the kids, it is so friendly for them. They Bring canadian students from Canada to work the centre make a little home away from home.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Juno Beach Centre also viewed

Saint-Laurent-sur-Mer, Calvados
 

Been to Juno Beach Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Juno Beach Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Juno Beach Centre to your Saves list