We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia

Save Saved
You added Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alberi 300 A, Savudrija 52475, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Savudrija
Ljubljana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Me and my fiancee stayed at Kempinski hotel in Savudrija at the end of October 2012. We visit the hotel each year, usually in spring or autumn. Hotel is by the golf course, which is great, since my fiancee plays golf. The hotel has a great spa with different saunas, which are excellent. On the other hand there is also Carolea spa where I also went for a a facial by Babor cosmetics. It was good. The personnel at Carolea spa is very professional and really nice. The service in the hotel improved much from when we first visited the hotel and were very disappointed. The reception still needs some improvement, but otherwise it was a perfect stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Knoll_GM, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Ms Maja,

Thank you very much for choosing the Kempinski Hotel Adriatic during your stay in Istria and for taking the time to share your impressions on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Thank you once again for your compliments which I have already shared with my entire Team. They are the best recognition for a job well done and a great motivation for all of us.

I hope to welcome you back to our resort next year or in the near future and will be glad to assist you with your next bookings.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Knoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    57
    10
    5
    6
See reviews for
48
120
6
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We spent four days at the Kempinski Adriatic, having previously stayed in city locations we wanted a different holiday. We could not have chosen better. (We have stayed all over the world in different 5 star groups and the Kempinski group are superior in our view.)
From the lobby staff to the beach restaurant manager, all the staff were truly a credit to the hotel. We were addressed by name each time we requested our vehicle or arrived at breakfast and staff couldn't have been any more helpful.
The rooms, breakfast and whole experience were superb.
We ate in the restaurants. The beach Kanovo restaurant was simply amazing - best meal we have eaten for a very long time.
We had read some of the less favourable reviews of the food and cannot agree. The meals were superb value as they were very, very good! If you want cheap food and a cheap experience quite simply, go elsewhere. This is high quality and you won't be disappointed.
We knew the hotel closed on the day we left, you couldn't tell! The manager was very visible and his high standards were evident in his own actions eg even taking dirty plates from residents as he walked past tables, to shaking his staff's hands on arrival and to the high levels of resident care during our stay. Amazing, even by Kempinski high standards. We will return next year.

Room Tip: Second floor has better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Knoll_GM, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Ms Andrea,

Thank you very much for choosing the Kempinski Hotel Adriatic during your stay in Istria and for taking the time to share your impressions on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Thank you once again for your compliments which I have already shared with my entire Team. They are the best recognition for a job well done and a great motivation for all of us.

I hope to welcome you back to our resort next year or in the near future and will be glad to assist you with your next bookings.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Knoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We went as a coupe during the summer but we saw that it is also great for families.
In a country where most hotels are privately owned and have no international background, it was refreshing to experience true service and great food.
It has its own private secluded beach a stroll away and a restaurant with incredible views of the Adriatic.
Recently built, the bedrooms are comfortable in size and facilities. Some connecting for families.
Opposite the hotel there is also the best Golf course of Croatia so we are thinking of coming back this Autumn...
Located in the northen part of Istria, it is 40min drive from Rovinj, Porec and Portoroz which are great for day trips.
You can also get the boat to Venice !

Room Tip: Full sea view rooms are called Deluxe. Ask for a higher floor to have an unobstructed view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantin_Zeuke, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time and posting your comment on TripAdvisor. It is always extremely helpful to receive a sincere and constructive feedback from our guests. I am very glad to read that you have recognized and enjoyed the luxury and quality the Kempinski brand stands for. We are looking forward to host you as well during spring and autumn, when Istria is offering an amazing gastronomical voyage, starting with the wild asparagus season in spring and ending with very fruitful autumnal months celebrating olives, wine and the precious white Istrian truffle. Thank you once again for sharing your experience with us. I hope to see you soon at the Kempinski Hotel Adriatic.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

It's already the 3 time we spent 1 week in this hotel. The reason why we always come back is the 100 million dollar view over the sea, it's the best you can find. The staff is friendly (if YOU are friendly to them), t he prices are a bit overrated. The dinner in Dijana Restaurant is very good and you can eat outside on the terrasse (even in October if the weather is fine). The breakfast is very good, they only have a problem with small black insects on the food.

This year there was a little problem with our room which was not very clean when we arrived. The head of the bed which is in white leather was stained (not only one brown stain but a lot, it was awful) and I had to call the housekeeping to get this cleaned. They arrived very quickly after 10 minutes. But the whole room was not as good entertained as it used to be the last 3 years. Also the corridors of light brown stones, which were very clean as we arrived, had a lot of stains when we checked out, they didn't clean it the whole week (which is not good for a 5 star hotel).

The balcony of the hotel is big enough for 2 chairs and one table, they only have chairs which make a lot of noise when you move them. If you want to sleep and some of your room neighbours are outside, it's impossible to sleep. The room is very well furnished with a Bose Entertainment System, the TV in the bathroom does not work. You can control the air condition individually.

The bar menu is very good, the cocktails are nice, also at the beach bar. The beach is not sandy, you have big white rocks and you need shoes to go into the water. The beach is not very big, it can be crowded in the summer season. You have to walk for minutes to go to the beach. The water is very clear and you see the coast of Slovenia. I didn't use the swimming pool so I cannot say anything.

Room Tip: A room with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantin_Zeuke, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Mrs Thessy,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for taking your precious time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor, as constructive dialogue is the only possible way to improve our services and to stay on the right track.

I am very pleased to read that this is already your third stay at the Kempinski Hotel Adriatic. Thank you very much for your loyalty and thrust. In regards to our location and the breathtaking views, there is not much more to be said. As you already stated nicely, it is definitely one of the best views on the Adriatic coast with a unique feature: it gives you the possibility to enjoy the view over 3 different countries, and the sea, and the Alps from the very same spot.

We have read carefully all your remarks about the housekeeping service in your room during your stay and I already informed our Rooms Division Manager in order to investigate what happened. I apologize for all the inconvenience this might have caused you.

I am glad you enjoyed our beach, bars and restaurants. It is true that at the time of your stay we had some problems with really tiny fruit flies, typical in the region in the autumnal period of grape harvest. The phenomenon usually persists for seven days and we didn’t want to use any possibly harmful chemicals, as the fruit flies are completely harmless. In that case we have chosen “the lesser of two evils” and waited for the nature to take its course. We are sorry once again for the possible inconveniences this might have caused you and at the same time glad to read that nevertheless you have found our breakfast very good.

Thank you once again for sending us your comments. We sincerely hope that you will come to visit us again and will do our best to make you stay a memorable one. In the meantime I send you my kindest regards.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I visited this hotel on May. It was very good experience, very good breakfast with wide sort of food. Hotel restaurant is very good but better restaurant is hotel restaurant neer beach which is open just on Friday and Saturday. I recommend this restaurant is very very good and nice views on the sea. Hotel bar is perfect as well. Room is comfortable like a Kempinski, which is amazing hotel chain.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

It is very modern hotel with indoor and outdoor pool, nice rooms, good breakfast and friendly staff. We were there end of September, beginning October. There were a lot of Swiss people there, five coaches of Twerenbold. Nevertheless it was not very crowded. It is remote, therefore you need a car. There is a taverna next to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantin_Zeuke, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to post your valuable feedback. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our hotel, the service, as well as the staff performance and attitude. In regards to the location, I would say that the main challenge is the lack of public transportation, what makes it indispensable to have a car. But for the rest, Istria is really a precious gem waiting to be discovered.
I thank you once again for your feedback. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel next year or even before.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadera, Israel
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed two nights in August 2012 at the height of the European tourist season and the hotel was full. Read crowded. A hotel can be full but not feel that way, but here it was very much in evidence. We arrived at 2 PM and had to wait an hour for our room to be ready--not surprising and no big deal. We went to the dining room for lunch and when we asked about reservations for dinner we were told that the entire restaurant was given over to "Latin Night" with an outdoor barbecue and a multi piece band. That left us with no other choice but the other a la carte restaurant which entailed a ten minute walk (in 104 degree temperatures) to an indoor-outdoor seating arrangement overlooking the small stone beach. However, the restaurant itself that evening was superb and the service excellent. As soon as the sun went down a breeze came in and made the evening tropical. A lovely view of the sea and the Slovenian coast added to the charm. We shared a 2 kilo branzino baked in salt which our server filleted after releasing it from its thick salt casket. It was remarkable. He was very knowledgeable about Croatian wines, introducing us to their "orange wine"--a blend of Pinot Grigio and Sauvignon Blanc with the must allowed to stay with the grape skins an extra day, giving the wine a distinctly orange hew and a very interesting taste. The experience was so good we made reservations for the following night and were just as pleased with the other choices of fish we had. While the menu had a good selection of meats as well, overlooking the sea it seemed a sin not to go with the fish. The breakfast buffet was extensive with different cuisines, many choices beautifully presented, but like the rest of the hotel, it gave the impression of trying to impress with more rather than with better. Our room was modern and spacious but the multi page room menu offering different scents for the room, different oils for the bath, and two pages of pillows was a little over the top as were the push button open/close drapes, the flush tv in the bathroom mirror and the spa offerings which included a cooling cabinet with tiny ice cubes which we didn't care to try. The poolside was a madhouse of people, many with children, understandable at this time of year, but with no lounges avaiable except two (one broken) next to a kiddie pool. It did not make for a great experience. Nor did the equally crowded conditions at the small beach. One felt as if every last person was being squeezed into the hotel at its peak just for that extra kuna or, more like it, extra hundreds of kunas or so. If a hotel aspires to excellence as the Kempenski chain does (we have stayed in several others which have been top notch) the true test comes when it is fully booked. On that basis THIS Kempenski rates a C at best. The hotel is located in what can only be described as the Croatian hicks and there is no place else to go, even with a private car and that too I suspect ,adds to the attitude problem that seems to exist with the staff. When we checked out we were billed for parking even though we had no car as our registration no doubt would have revealed. Perhaps for the many Russian oligarchs who were there and their trophy wives, this hotel fulfilled their fantasies. There is a quiet and discreet luxury that some of the finest hotels in the world reflect and there is the loud and ostentatious bling that shouts money and wealth. This Kempenski is still ringing in our ears.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantin_Zeuke, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for taking your precious time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor, as constructive dialogue is the best way to improve our services and to stay on the right track.
July and August are our peak months where not only our hotel, but the entire Adriatic coast is swarming with tourists. In fully booked city hotels the guests mainly go out during the day, while in resort hotels they tend to stay on the hotel’s ground, enjoying the many services available. High occupancy was not the reason why you had to wait 1 hour upon check-in for your room to be ready, as our check-in time is from 3 pm (stated also on your booking confirmation), while unfortunately you arrived a little bit earlier, that is at 2 pm. Of course, whenever possible, we try to accommodate our guests in the shortest possible period, but as you noticed yourself, the hotel was fully booked.
In regards to the food & beverages offer, on the night of your arrival the weekly Latino evening was taking place at our main restaurant Dijana. Nevertheless, you were offered a very nice alternative, which you utterly enjoyed for two nights in the row - our charming Istrian-style restaurant Kanova, located on the top of our conference building on the beach. The restaurant is not really at a 10 minutes walk (actually it is situated at 350 m from the hotel), but considering the fact that it is dislocated, we offer complimentary transfer to our guests with our two Mercedes vans. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the ambiance, service as well as the unique view over three different countries our restaurant Kanova offers: the Slovenian, Croatian and Italian coast. Thank you very much for the nice words describing the food and the service. I will share your positive impressions with my staff. Our culinary philosophy is to prepare fresh, local and seasonal dishes, while the spices used by our chefs are from our herbs garden.
The Kempinski Hotel Adriatic is one of the most state-of-the-art hotels in Croatia, a proper “smart hotel”. Of course, some people like the modern technology, other prefer to keep it simple. That is purely subjective, as well as the location and destination itself, described by yourself with a rather inappropriate term “hicks”, while Lonely Planet and the National Geographic listed Istria as one of the 10 must seen places in 2011 and 2012. It is a pity you didn’t contact our concierge who would then suggest you a nice discovery tour, inclusive of transfer.
I am sorry to hear that initially the parking fee was listed on your invoice. Unfortunately, involuntary mistakes can always occur, and that is why our modus operandi is to present first to our guests the info check, giving them the possibility to go through each single cost and correct it if needed. Thus in the end the receptionist kindly amended your final bill and you were not charged the nonexistent garage parking. I apologize once again for any possible inconvenience this might have caused to you.
Finally, when travelling during peak season, one unfortunately cannot expect to experience the same calmness of the shoulder season months, especially considering the record number of tourists visiting Croatia this summer. The Kempinski Hotel Adriatic, with its elegant, high-tech, but at the same time sober architecture, surrounded by unspoiled nature, century old vineyards and olive groves, offers different dimensions of leisure, in harmony with the seasons, from the quite, relaxing weekend spa & golf getaway to the vibrant and exciting family summer destination, or the perfect staring base for discovering the most famous autumnal Istrian treasure: his majesty the white truffle.
Thank you once again for sending us your comments and for choosing our hotel as well as other hotels belonging to the Kempinski group. We sincerely hope that you will come to visit us again, maybe in spring or autumn, in order to discover the multiple facets of the Kempinski Hotel Adriatic and the Istrian region.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia

Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia Savudrija
Address: Alberi 300 A, Savudrija 52475, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Savudrija
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Savudrija
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.