We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over the top with too many bells and whistles” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia to your Saves list
Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alberi 300 A, Savudrija 52475, Croatia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Savudrija
Hadera, Israel
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Over the top with too many bells and whistles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed two nights in August 2012 at the height of the European tourist season and the hotel was full. Read crowded. A hotel can be full but not feel that way, but here it was very much in evidence. We arrived at 2 PM and had to wait an hour for our room to be ready--not surprising and no big deal. We went to the dining room for lunch and when we asked about reservations for dinner we were told that the entire restaurant was given over to "Latin Night" with an outdoor barbecue and a multi piece band. That left us with no other choice but the other a la carte restaurant which entailed a ten minute walk (in 104 degree temperatures) to an indoor-outdoor seating arrangement overlooking the small stone beach. However, the restaurant itself that evening was superb and the service excellent. As soon as the sun went down a breeze came in and made the evening tropical. A lovely view of the sea and the Slovenian coast added to the charm. We shared a 2 kilo branzino baked in salt which our server filleted after releasing it from its thick salt casket. It was remarkable. He was very knowledgeable about Croatian wines, introducing us to their "orange wine"--a blend of Pinot Grigio and Sauvignon Blanc with the must allowed to stay with the grape skins an extra day, giving the wine a distinctly orange hew and a very interesting taste. The experience was so good we made reservations for the following night and were just as pleased with the other choices of fish we had. While the menu had a good selection of meats as well, overlooking the sea it seemed a sin not to go with the fish. The breakfast buffet was extensive with different cuisines, many choices beautifully presented, but like the rest of the hotel, it gave the impression of trying to impress with more rather than with better. Our room was modern and spacious but the multi page room menu offering different scents for the room, different oils for the bath, and two pages of pillows was a little over the top as were the push button open/close drapes, the flush tv in the bathroom mirror and the spa offerings which included a cooling cabinet with tiny ice cubes which we didn't care to try. The poolside was a madhouse of people, many with children, understandable at this time of year, but with no lounges avaiable except two (one broken) next to a kiddie pool. It did not make for a great experience. Nor did the equally crowded conditions at the small beach. One felt as if every last person was being squeezed into the hotel at its peak just for that extra kuna or, more like it, extra hundreds of kunas or so. If a hotel aspires to excellence as the Kempenski chain does (we have stayed in several others which have been top notch) the true test comes when it is fully booked. On that basis THIS Kempenski rates a C at best. The hotel is located in what can only be described as the Croatian hicks and there is no place else to go, even with a private car and that too I suspect ,adds to the attitude problem that seems to exist with the staff. When we checked out we were billed for parking even though we had no car as our registration no doubt would have revealed. Perhaps for the many Russian oligarchs who were there and their trophy wives, this hotel fulfilled their fantasies. There is a quiet and discreet luxury that some of the finest hotels in the world reflect and there is the loud and ostentatious bling that shouts money and wealth. This Kempenski is still ringing in our ears.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantin_Zeuke, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for taking your precious time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor, as constructive dialogue is the best way to improve our services and to stay on the right track.
July and August are our peak months where not only our hotel, but the entire Adriatic coast is swarming with tourists. In fully booked city hotels the guests mainly go out during the day, while in resort hotels they tend to stay on the hotel’s ground, enjoying the many services available. High occupancy was not the reason why you had to wait 1 hour upon check-in for your room to be ready, as our check-in time is from 3 pm (stated also on your booking confirmation), while unfortunately you arrived a little bit earlier, that is at 2 pm. Of course, whenever possible, we try to accommodate our guests in the shortest possible period, but as you noticed yourself, the hotel was fully booked.
In regards to the food & beverages offer, on the night of your arrival the weekly Latino evening was taking place at our main restaurant Dijana. Nevertheless, you were offered a very nice alternative, which you utterly enjoyed for two nights in the row - our charming Istrian-style restaurant Kanova, located on the top of our conference building on the beach. The restaurant is not really at a 10 minutes walk (actually it is situated at 350 m from the hotel), but considering the fact that it is dislocated, we offer complimentary transfer to our guests with our two Mercedes vans. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the ambiance, service as well as the unique view over three different countries our restaurant Kanova offers: the Slovenian, Croatian and Italian coast. Thank you very much for the nice words describing the food and the service. I will share your positive impressions with my staff. Our culinary philosophy is to prepare fresh, local and seasonal dishes, while the spices used by our chefs are from our herbs garden.
The Kempinski Hotel Adriatic is one of the most state-of-the-art hotels in Croatia, a proper “smart hotel”. Of course, some people like the modern technology, other prefer to keep it simple. That is purely subjective, as well as the location and destination itself, described by yourself with a rather inappropriate term “hicks”, while Lonely Planet and the National Geographic listed Istria as one of the 10 must seen places in 2011 and 2012. It is a pity you didn’t contact our concierge who would then suggest you a nice discovery tour, inclusive of transfer.
I am sorry to hear that initially the parking fee was listed on your invoice. Unfortunately, involuntary mistakes can always occur, and that is why our modus operandi is to present first to our guests the info check, giving them the possibility to go through each single cost and correct it if needed. Thus in the end the receptionist kindly amended your final bill and you were not charged the nonexistent garage parking. I apologize once again for any possible inconvenience this might have caused to you.
Finally, when travelling during peak season, one unfortunately cannot expect to experience the same calmness of the shoulder season months, especially considering the record number of tourists visiting Croatia this summer. The Kempinski Hotel Adriatic, with its elegant, high-tech, but at the same time sober architecture, surrounded by unspoiled nature, century old vineyards and olive groves, offers different dimensions of leisure, in harmony with the seasons, from the quite, relaxing weekend spa & golf getaway to the vibrant and exciting family summer destination, or the perfect staring base for discovering the most famous autumnal Istrian treasure: his majesty the white truffle.
Thank you once again for sending us your comments and for choosing our hotel as well as other hotels belonging to the Kempinski group. We sincerely hope that you will come to visit us again, maybe in spring or autumn, in order to discover the multiple facets of the Kempinski Hotel Adriatic and the Istrian region.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    74
    18
    7
    7
See reviews for
67
164
6
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, England
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

An hotel of contrasts, some functions being excellent and some terrible. But overall the quality of the rooms and standard of service/food at breakfast plus a very nice pool area won them the points.
Terrible - check-in was awful as we made the mistake of being early as the room wasn't ready, this did seem typical for many. Little to do unless you came prepared for the pool or beach.
Beach is a short hike away and great if you like rocks but there were plenty of umbrellas and beds there.
Location - not sure why they built a new hotel in the middle of no-where, literally only 1 maybe 2 local bars/restaurants to walk to otherwise you're in your car.
Were quite cut-throat with reservation of sunbeds around the pool but this was necessary as there weren't enough beds.
The B and O TV's in the bedroom, and inset into the bathroom mirror, were brilliant. In fact no expense had been spared in fitting out the rooms but as others have observed the design of the hotel looked like its layout had been based on a city centre location rather than somewhere with potential nice views.
Handy for stopping off before proceeding further into Croatia, which has far better ports of call if not of the same high quality.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantin_Zeuke, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

First of all thank you very much for taking time to post your comment on TripAdvisor. Each single constructive critique is very much valuable for us. We are pleased to read that our hotel left a general positive impression on you and that you enjoyed your stay, but I am also sorry to hear that you had to wait upon check-in, as you arrived earlier to the hotel. Our check-out time is at 12.00 and the check-in at 15.00, which is also stated in the booking confirmations sent to our guests. Due to the very high occupancy, it was unfortunately impossible to accommodate you earlier, although we always try to do our best in such cases.
We are sorry to read that you didn’t find very attractive the outside architecture of our hotel, but “the beauty is in the eye of the beholder “and such matters are quite subjective. On the other side, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the interior and coziness of our rooms which are, without false modesty, the most luxurious rooms in Croatia. The location is also a very subjective factor, as we are a secluded Golf & Spa Resort, perfect for guests in search of an unspoiled natural environment and relaxation. Istria is an amazing region to discover, but unfortunately you need to have a mean of transportation for that. Thus, our hotel is always available in arranging any kind of transportation for our guests, from bikes, cars, vans, boats, and similar. On the other side, for those in search for night-life, plenty of bars, restaurants, and casinos, the perfect place at only 20 km from our hotel is definitely the Kempinski Palace Hotel, situate in the very center of the vibrant town of Portorose, the Slovenian Monte Carlo.

We thank you once again for posting your feedback and are looking forward to welcome you again in the future.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in August 2012 in a premium double room at Kempinski Adriatic Hotel. The hotel looks as a “metropolitan building” rather than a building designed to fit a sea-side / country side environment.
Although the room was functional and modern, the shower in the bathroom was with alternatively cold and hot water due to an evident insufficient capacity of water supply. No bidet was available in the bathroom. The chair in the bedroom was improper for use when working at PC; wireless connection was free, but slow and weak. Balcony of the room was with an inflated floor.
Breakfast was very well organised, in spite of the staff’s annoying effort to over-check at the entrance the room number, guest by guest, conducting the guests at tables, while other guests were “queuing” since they had to wait for the person in charge to come back.
We were surprised that no buffet formula was available for lunch/dinner but only a la carte restaurant – two very expensive ones with no remarkable cuisine. We had only once our dinner at one of the two “a la carte” restaurants inside the hotel. Leaving apart some tragicomic details, we were served pasta with truffles and parmesan, but cheese was other than parmesan; then “beef tagliata” was served almost cold.
It would appear that 120 euro for 2 persons with pasta, beef tagliata, 1 glass of Prosecco sparkling wine and mineral water, is indeed too much. At a distance of 100 meters from the hotel, there is a local taverna flourishing due to Kempinsky Hotel “policy” regarding restaurant services. Reception is very collaborative with clients – they cautiously told us that they can suggest some good restaurants outside the hotel.
One evening we tried to order a tea and a grappa at the inside bar. We were given the list but after we ordered, the bar-woman continued preparing some cocktails which apparently were already in the pipeline. After 20 minutes waiting for the drinks, we gave up and left.
There is a “private” beach, far away from the hotel, which is too small for the hotel and overcrowded. The beach is without sand, a steady characteristic in Croatia. All services must be paid in addition to room costs – you pay for beach, inside swimming pool, SPA services, car parking (10 euro per day in non supervised parking in the open, or 80 euro per day in the hotel garage).
The outside pool is over overcrowded and, due to wrong design, the sun is in the morning in half of the swimming pool, and in the afternoon on the other half… .
Finally when paying the bill, we found out to have been charged for 30 euro drinks that we did not order. We asked to see the bill that we were supposed to have signed, but the reception desk officer did not even try to find it – he said immediately that he would rectify the invoice.
For all duration of our stay, personnel was asking us continuously if “we are satisfied”. Most likely they have a feeling that clients are not satisfied…
Never again in this hotel!

Room Tip: chose a room closer to the main elevator
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantin_Zeuke, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Mr Christian,
Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. Each single constructive critique is very much valuable for us. We are sorry to read that you didn’t find very attractive the outside architecture of our hotel, but “the beauty is in the eye of the beholder “and such matters are quite subjective. On the other side, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the interior and coziness of our rooms which are, without false modesty, the most luxurious rooms in Croatia. Referring to your comment about the bidet, we are entering the sphere of cultural differences, as bidets are very often a must be in Italy, but not in other countries. Nevertheless, our lavish bathrooms have a comfortable bath tube, a separate power shower cabin and a mirror integrated television. I am sorry to hear that you have some problems with water temperature in the room, which we solved immediately. It is possible that the WiFi Internet connection was a little bit slow during your stay and the reason for that is that we have offered to our guests a very comfortable use of free of charge internet in the entire hotel area, but sometimes, due to high occupancy and a high number of users, the line slows down.
I am glad to hear you enjoyed the rich and tasty offer of our gourmet breakfast and hope you will understand that asking for the room number is a standard hotel practice making possible for the hostess to conduct the guest kindly to an available, set and clean table. We apologize for the long waiting time at the Adriatic Bar, and will investigate the reason of the delay.
The fixed buffet formula for lunch and dinner is not a common practice in 5-star properties, although we do organize twice per week barbecue or Latino night when a very rich dinner is served in a buffet-style. The Kempinski Hotel Adriatic offers to its guest two excellent a la carte restaurant, the main restaurant Dijana and the Istrian style restaurant Kanova, situated directly on the beach with amazing view over the Adriatic Sea and three different countries. Very often, after trying the specialties of the hotel’s restaurant, our guests go out and discover the region. Our Concierge and reception staff are always more then happy to advice our guests and when needed book other restaurants for them. Luckily, Istria has so much to offer gastronomically.
Our private, serviced beach is situated at 370 m from the hotel and we offer a complimentary transfer to all our guests with our two Mercedes vans. In Istria, and Croatia in general, sandy beaches are not so common, thus our beach is a pebble one with all necessary accompanying services and infrastructure, deck chairs and umbrellas, as well as a lively beach bar and restaurant.
Further on, I will have to refute your statement that all other services offered in the hotel are charged extra, as well as some incorrect prices quoted in your review. Since the very opening, the room price at the Kempinski Hotel Adriatic is inclusive of our gourmet breakfast buffet, free WiFi Internet, entrance to our 3000 sq m Carolea Spa (includes the usage of the outside and inside swimming pools and whirlpool, saunas, Roman bath, Kneipp zone, ice cabin, relaxation area, beach entrance and deck chair). The parking in our secured garage is charged 18 Euro per day (not 80 Eur as stated by yourself), while the outside parking, belonging to the nearby Skiper Residence, is charged 10 Eur per day.
Upon checking out, the practice is to show to the guest the info check in order to go through the details and correct possible involuntary mistakes. As you have seen, you were not charged for a service you didn’t use.
All our employees know how important it is that the guests feel comfortable and happy, which means that we, as the Kempinski Hotel Adriatic, have succeed in delivering our promise of luxury. We want the guests to experience something new and exciting, but at the same time to feel comfortable, safe, at home. By politely asking the guests if everything is fine and in line with their expectations we express our attention and solicitude, not insecurity.
In case you might have further comments or questions, feel free to contact me personally. I sincerely hope that you will change your mind and come to visit us again in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pusiano
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I recently stayed for four days in a Jr Suite with Sea view.
The room was new, spacious and very well apppointed.
Unfortunately though my primary interest was to have a good time at the seaside and ironically this is what you cannot enjoy.
The hotel/residence complex is overdeveloped vs the space available on site: too many rooms and villas for the location.
The result is concrete all over, virtually no landscaping/green areas and a tiny pebble beach for too many customers.
The beach itself is located around 800 meteres away from the hotel.
You need to walk there alongside a tarmac road that provides car access to the villas compound: it feels like accessing the beach through an urban area.
The beach is tiny and heavily cementified with sunbeds literally packed on top of each other.; next to the beach you will find a rocky peer being developed that further spoils the environment.
Same issue with the pools.The pool area features great pools but there is very little space around them with sun beds packed against each other, and the bar/lounge areas mixing up with pool leisure facilities. Wherever you move in the open is crammed.
Same problem with the main restaurant: outdoor tables are so close to each other that you cannot have a private conversation. Despite that the tables are not sufficient for the number of residents: at breakfast you need to expect long queues to be seated! The buffet area is also congested and, as a consequence food presentation and the overall breakfast experience feels very much like a 3* packaged tour experience.
Food overall is mediocre especially vs the money charged, a rip off vs average Istrian prices even at top restaurant level (expect to pay at least 40% more at Kempisky for anonymous food).
Last but not least, although efficient and attentive, the staff is everything but warm: expect a very cold and detached atmosphere.

I would not recommend this hotel that in summary is overcrowded for the space available, certainly poorly planned and landscaped: not a 5* experience at all.

Ciao,

Marco

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantin_Zeuke, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Mr. Marco,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Istria and for taking the time to fill out our guest questionnaire. Constructive feedback is always helping us to keep on course in regards to quality and service. Our aim is to provide the quality and standard which will meet all guests’ expectations.
I very much regret to read that we did not succeed in making your stay special because of some architectural and landscaping features of the property, which unfortunately cannot be influenced from our side at the moment. Kindly let us know where you have seen the information that the hotel is located directly on the beach, so that we can review it. Our conference facilities and restaurant are situated there, so it is possible that not all information is correctly presented. Since the beach is located approximately 350 meters from the hotel, we offer transfer service for all our guests to and from the beach with our 2 Mercedes vans immediately upon request.
I have discussed your comments regarding breakfast service and further comments in regards to the restaurant Dijana with my F&B Manager to prevent any shortcomings and to make sure that we always keep all our services on the highest level. Furthermore, we try to treat all our guests with special attention and to make every guest feel good. I very much regret that we did not succeed in giving you that feeling of being pampered.
I thank you once again for your honest feedback. We hope that your overall stay was pleasant and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel next year or in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, null, Monaco
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Very nice reception and restaurant staff- friendly, helping, smiling, speaking very good english!
Bravo to chief cook! Breakfasts are superB.
The SPA salon is one of the best I had and at very reasonable prices.
The rooms are comfortable, big and clean.
Will return someday for sure!

Room Tip: I advise not to take the room on the swimming pool- noisy day and evening as they have live music in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We enjoyed a seven-day vacation at Kempinski Adriatic and there is nothing worth sharing that disturbed our all-together perfect stay. Staff was very friendly, helpful and professional (!) on whatever level we had to deal with, rooms were sufficiently premium, well-styled, clean and spacious, food incl. breakfast is excellent. Spa area, inside and outside pools plus the beach area were up to the mark. A sandy beach would have been preferred but we knew ahead that it is pebble stones only, which - on the other hand - carry for crystal clear water and not having to deal with sand in your shoes and clothes, your camera etc..

Besides, we especially liked the kids club and the dedicated staff there. Our two kids (3 and 5) were begging us to stay there longer and thus gave us parents good time to enjoy the hotel's amenities alone. The many families with kids during August anyhow added to the impression that the hotel is very available for family vacation also considering the generally very nice and relaxed attitude the hotel staff showed towards our kids and their needs and demands.

So, to keep it short: Thanks to everybody there for supporting our great vacation ...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
391 reviews 391 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
323 helpful votes 323 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed here as the first stop off point in our tour of Istria, attracted by the hotel being a Kempinski, having had some good experiences with the brand, most particularly at the wonderful Ciragan Palace in Istanbul and the charming Stafford in London. The area offered a convenient stop off but would not have attracted us in itself as there is little of great interest in this corner of Istria, the real gems being Rovinj, Porec, Bale and Vodnjan to name a few, (also beautiful Opatija which is just outside of Istria). It is a large, new and rather numb and functional looking building viewed from the outside. Within, it has a vast glamorous lobby extending to the bar and a pleasant terrace overlooking the pools. Everything is shiny and new reflecting its youth. The pool area is fine but just felt souless somehow, impersonal, resort style. Service for drinks and at reception was efficient and friendly, at breakfast less so and staff lacked polish including management who did not bid Good Morning. Breakfast is a generous buffet spread inclusive of Prosecco, always a welcome touch, and Cappuccinos were free which again is a feel good gesture as often hotels leg up the income by charging for such items. I found breakfast a bit of a bun fight though as the hotel was packed out on our high season visit and that is always a hateful aspect of buffet style breakfasts in larger hotels. We dined at the sea view restaurant Kanova, food was ok but service was hopeless, so slow that we didn't bother post main course, staff realised this without us mentioning it and our pleasant waiter was apologetic and brandished liquers. Our room was great, modern functional design, huge picture window, generous terrace, comfortable bed. All in all the hotel does a reasonable job for the price paid.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantin_Zeuke, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for taking time to post your valuable constructive feedback, helping us that way to keep on course in regards to quality and service, as our aim is to provide the quality and standard which will meet all guests’ expectations.
I very much regret to read that we did not succeed in making your stay special because of some architectural and landscaping features of the property, which unfortunately cannot be influenced from our side at the moment.
I have discussed your comments regarding breakfast service and further comments in regards to service with my F&B Manager in order to prevent any shortcomings and to make sure that we always keep all our services on the highest level.
In regards to the location, we are sorry you didn’t ask us for more information about our beautiful northern and central part of Istria, so humble and the same time so charming and full of events and monuments: jazz and blues festival, film festival, Sepomaia antique manifestation, the oldest and most romantic lighthouse on the Adriatic, the international town of arts and music Groznjan, the world truffle center in Livade, the most famous Istrina hill-top town of Motovun, the charming smallest town in the world – Hum, the main wine and olive oil roads of Istria, and much, much more.
In case you decide to show us your trust again and visit our hotel, what I sincerely hope for, our Concierge will be at your disposal and will prepare for you and individual discovery of our surroundings.
I thank you once again for your honest feedback. We hope that your overall stay was pleasant and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel next year or in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia

Address: Alberi 300 A, Savudrija 52475, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Savudrija
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Savudrija
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia 5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Escapio, Splendia, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia Savudrija

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.