We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pretty spot, good food,special service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Rosetta Hotel

Save Saved
You added Villa Rosetta Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Rosetta Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crvena Uvala 31 | Zambratija, Savudrija 52475, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Savudrija
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Very pretty spot, good food,special service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is a very special place. The location is lovely as it is set in a flower-filled garden on a small peninsula, and down a fragrant path is the private beach with chairs and umbrellas. They have a small outdoor taverna which is useful for lunch, drinks or a snack, or you can go up to the main restaurant (2 minute walk through garden) for a more formal meal. We really enjoyed dinner at the hotel and thought the food was very very good, as well as the wine, but the special treat was waking up to breakfast. Although there is indoor seating, when we were there in June everyone ate outside. You sit on a terrace surrounded by flowers and views down to the water. The breakfast buffet has varieties of eggs, cheeses, meats, wonderful fresh fruit platters, local Istrian treats, and a variety of really delicious home-made pastries and breads. We found it so very relaxing and pleasant to sit on the terrace after breakfast, drinking coffee and enjoying the view and the flowers. A very nice way to start the day.
Our room was not elaborate but perfect and comfortable and spacious. We had a nice balcony with table and chairs and sea view, a minibar, good closets and a safe deposit box. The bed was comfy and the room nicely air-conditioned.
I really have only good things to report about this place. The staff went out of their way to be helpful, and that might be an understatement. A very lovely woman at the front desk made various travel arrangements for us and did so cheerfully, intelligently and patiently. A very pleasant young man named Sascha, who works in reception and also in the beach bar, volunteered to drive us the short way into Umag for the farmacia and shops. There are several hard-working young people there who give the place a very cheery and warm atmosphere, as though you are a special guest at a wonderful private villa.
One note: the beach is rocks and pebbles (common in Istria). You can sunbathe on the grass part, or on a smooth rock terrace area, or on the pebbles. But if you want to swim, it's a good idea to have the little swimming shoes so you can walk comfortably over the stones in the water.
Apparently there are wellness facilities (sauna and massage?) but we did not try them.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the front have a view over gardens to sea, but the ones facing the sea on the side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    27
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
43
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Klagenfurt, Austria
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

villa rosetta is the best accommodation and has the best restaurant in the whole area of umag! we have been there soooo many times and we intend to keep spending memorable days in the house as well as in the restaurant! the food is delicious, we've hardly ever had such excellent quality compared with the most friendly and helpful staff as well as the perfect balance between what you get offered and the money you spend!! every kuna is sooo much worth spending in this great house.
we're intending to always return to this secret place (whenever we can combine it with our jobs!) villa rosetta is a place you'll never forget in your entire life!!!!just spoil yourself and spend unforgettable days in this dream spot!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

Having stayed here on our first visit to Croatia I was extremely pleased with the service location and atmosphere the hotel provided. Firstly the chceck in service was very good and we were taken to our very large room with en suite equally very large and both extremely clean, we did have a balcony but the view was not of the sea but still a good view. Each night we had a choice of the set menu of the fish or meat as part of our package. They were both of excellent quality and were very diverse each night, we were lucky that the local delicacies wild aspargus was in season and one night we went off set menu and tried this it is highly recommended and as with all the meals it was excellently prepared and served by our wonderful waiter who catered to our every need during our stay. During the evening meals we sampled both the red and white house wine and both are extremely nice. The breakfasts were good in the range of wonderfully prepared food and would suit nearly all tastes. The location of the hotel was very closed to the beach and made the views from the restaurant and front door wonderful in particular the sunset. The service throughout was excellent with all involved cheerful and happy to accomodate your every need this is a great hotel and family run. During our stay there were a range of couples and families and each were catered for in the same high standard.

Overall
Good clean accomodation
Good restaurant and service
Excellent reception staff speedy check out and check in
Stunning views
Friendly efficient service
Recommended

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kings lynn norfolk
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

A lovely hotel, very friendly staff, extremely child friendly. With its own private beach .The views are fantastic and the food was excellent. I definitely recommend this hotel.organically sourced local meat and fish. Istria sunsets are something of a treat and you will be in a prime position to soak them up. What better way to end an evening than with a glass of wine, good company and a beautiful sunset.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

I stayed at the Villa Rosetta in August this year and had a fantastic time. It is in a beautful, peaceful location overlooking the sea and, whilst the pool hasn't been built yet, with the sea a stones throw from the hotel, this really wasn't a problem, the sea was clean and the area uncrowded.
The rooms are well appointed, the restaurant has a great ambience and the food is excellent.
I found all the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly and overall I had a wonderful, relaxing time in fantastic surroundings.
I would definately return to Villa Rosetta and recommend it as a great retreat and perfect place to stay in order to explore the beautiful surrounding countryside of Istria.

  • Liked — Comfortable, clean and stylish
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovenia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

It is nice new hotel with amazing beach and nature as Croatia is. But we were suprised that there was no pool but instade just a hole. They explained to us that they do not have all the papers to build it. Then we faced the managers, owners, Mr. Marko and Ms. Roseta. It is unpossible to talk with them as normal human being. All the time of our staying we felt a preasure in the air among employes. They are making such a preassure on people that you immidiatly notice their unhpaniess and of course they are not able to be kind as it used to be. They have many very hard to understand rules like childer can not drive a bike arround the hotel or you must buy a place at the beach even if you are a hotel guest, you can not wear swimsuits in front of the hotel and so on. We expected nice family hotel but found out that it is just an ordinary hotel with two very anoying two owners. Sorry, but we will not come back.

  • Liked — Nice employes
  • Disliked — Owners attitude
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Rosetta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rosetta Hotel

Address: Crvena Uvala 31 | Zambratija, Savudrija 52475, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Savudrija
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Savudrija
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Rosetta Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The small & charming Hotel Villa Rosetta in Savudrija near Umag is located in a green area, only 50 metars from the beach, provides comfort and modern elegance.The prime concern of Villa Rosetta is to make guests feel at home in this warm and family atmosphere, with natural hardwood floors, beautiful panoramic views and wired internet access in the rooms , Free WiFi from the Hall.The hotel is right on the mountain bike route where it is also possible to take a walk. Villa Rosetta has a small spa area with a Turkish bath/steam bath and a sauna. It is possible upon request to have several types of massage and some beauty treatments. The a la carte restaurant serve mediterranean sea food and istrian speciality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Rosetta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Rosetta Hotel Savudrija, Croatia - Istria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Rosetta Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.