We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place to stay, warm and homey with great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Torrecerredo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Torrecerredo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Torrecerredo
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Barrio de Vega | Picos de Europa, 33554 Arenas de Cabrales, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to stay, warm and homey with great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We enjoyed staying here for so many reasons... the place itself is beautiful, our room had an incredible view and the bathtub was the perfect antidote to our cold rainy walk down from Bulnes. My boots began to fall apart and Jim glued the soles back on so we could do the Cares de Gargante hike the next day. We enjoyed the breakfast served and the dinner we had here was delicious. Having a pub onsite was very convienent and we both enjoyed our conversations with Jim and Pillar, if we are lucky enough to return to this area this is where we would stay, no doubt about it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    26
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
16
53
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This is a very comfortable hotel with a lovely relaxed atmosphere. Really good home cooked food, friendly staff and loved the cooked eggs in the morning - Thank you.

I do have to mention the lovely hot showers - high pressure and plenty of lovely hot water at the end of the walking day.

This hotel is on the door step of Picos and we did 5 full days walking with an excellent local guide. Also within easy reach of the coast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

It really makes a difference having kind, friendly and helpful people running the place where you're staying. That in addition to great food, a very comfortable bed and fantastic views makes this a top choice.

It's located very close to the Garganta del Cares walking route, and Jim was kind enough to give me a lift to the starting point and back again.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

It is a lovely simple hotel in the northern side of Picos. Both the owners and the hotel staff were very helpful and pleasant. The food was varied, generous and imaginative.

It is certainly a hotel we are planning to come back to.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just back from staying a week there on an Exodus walking tour of the Picos de Europa, The hosts Jim and Pillar are very helpful, the hotel had plenty of hot water which was much needed for a long hot bath after a day of walking. The prices are good, the food good and the atmosphere pleasant and the staff helpful in everyway. We'll be back next year if we can.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My wife & I enjoyed our stay there. The room had a great view of the mountains. It is close to the trails. The owners are very nice and helpful. English is not a problem.
I should say for the Americans reading this - the rooms are not air conditioned, but I don't think anyplace else is either. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in the Hotel Torrecerredo. The owners (Jim and Pilar) were very friendly and helpful, and all of the staff took trouble to make sure we had everything we needed. Our room was clean and a good size, with a splendid view over the Picos mountains, and very quiet at night. Few frills, as other reviewers have mentioned (and you might notice some wavering in the electrical supply voltage and the water pressure!) but that was fine with us. The free WiFi now extends throughout the hotel, not just the bar area. There's a generous breakfast buffet (including cereals, toast and fruit), with eggs as an option, good packed lunches are available, and a very good set menu evening meal (with meat, fish or vegetarian choices of main course), all at reasonable prices. We took that option twice, and on the other evenings made the easy walk into town, where there are several restaurants - we found decent food and excellent, friendly service in all the ones we tried. Las Arenas de Cabrales is a good location for exploring the Picos de Europa from their northern side, and we would definitely recommend Hotel Torrecerredo.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Torrecerredo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torrecerredo

Address: Barrio de Vega | Picos de Europa, 33554 Arenas de Cabrales, Spain
Location: Spain > Asturias > Cabrales Municipality > Arenas de Cabrales
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Arenas de Cabrales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Torrecerredo 1*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you like: small, owner-managed places brimming with character and run by caring, direct, unpretentious, humorous hosts, with great food, views, and wildlife, the lived-in, the unexpected, the artistic, and even the eccentric. We are for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Hotel Torrecerredo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Torrecerredo s l

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Torrecerredo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.