We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Alphotel Ettal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Alphotel Ettal to your Saves list
Alphotel Ettal
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Alte Bergstrasse 10, 82488 Ettal, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Ettal B&B and Inns
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The worst hotel ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I spent one night in this terrible place and giving it one star is a gift.

First of all you book a room with a queen bed and you discover that actually you will be sleeping in a full bed. Just imagine 2 people sleeping in a full size bed

The room is dirty, hairs were everywhere, the water in the bathroom was yellow and also the room was so small that you don't even know where to put your bags without stepping on them.

I refused to take a shower, not only for the color of the water (yellow) but also because there was no pressure and no hot water.

Breakfast is something that I would call disgusting. We spent 10 days in Germany, everywhere we had a fantastic breakfast, but here the breakfast was ridiculous, some absolutely not fresh food and also I had to change 3 different plates before finding one clean. I just gave up and decided to have breakfast out of the hotel.

Parking lot it so small that we didn't find any available spot and you don't have any choices, you can't even find a spot to park illegally, just like the owner (I believe) was suggesting to do, but in the mean time she had a couple of her wagons parked properly.

This is with no doubt the worst hotel we stayed in Germany.

I don't even mention the pool or the fitness center, they don't look clean at all just like the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    15
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
17
33
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Been there for 4 nights, this is a hotel and not an alpine guest house so the atmosphere is very different
The rooms were clean and equipped with safe, refrigerator and a kettle.
The service is very good and the breakfast also.
The hotel has a very nice spa, we didn’t got a chance to use it but other guests use it from morning till night.
The best thing about this hotel is it placement in Ettal, Ettal is a small town in the center of lower Bavaria, all the attractions and nice towns are 10-50 minutes drive from the hotel.
Would recommend for anyone who like to travel to Lower Bavaria and King Ludwig's palaces.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here for four nights on tour of the Bavarian Alps. Ettal is a good base for reaching Mittenwald, Garmisch, Schloss Linderhof and Oberammagau if you want to stay in a quieter village. Alphotel is a smallish hotel, mainly modern - if you want a view ask for a room on an upper floor. The room was fairly small with a 'French' bed ie - one mattress not two but with modern furnishings and a terrace with chairs and table. A nice touch was a fridge, kettle and drinks in the room. The bathroom was small but plenty of hot water and good power on the shower. We had no problems with noise from other rooms and the bed was comfy.

The hotel has a small indoor pool and sauna which was a great boon after a day walking or a day in the rain.

The breakfast buffet is good with continental breakfast of ham, sausage, cheese, breads, honey and jam and also boiled and scrambled eggs and bacon. Each table got a large flask of coffee. There is a limited choice of places to eat in Ettal and we did eat in the restaurant several times - it doesn't have much atmosphere and the choice is limited but the meals were well cooked and delicious. Our one quibble would be over the level of service - this is not a criticism of the staff but it is not reasonable to expect two people to cover this size of dining room both breakfast and dinner plus the bar and sometimes reception. On one evening one of our dinner orders failed to arrive - once the staff had realised the mistake was rectified and we were not charged for the meal (without having to ask for this) but they were very stretched with a large group in another room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsascala, Malta
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

What a great hotel to stay in!
Rooms are very well-equipped, quiet and have beautiful views of the surrounding hills.

The location is quite secluded, but is very close to Fussen. I just wish the person who was attending the reception desk was a bit more fluent in English as we would have liked to ask for some suggestions during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a very pleasant, efficiently run hotel, with good rooms and it is and quietly and conveniently located,off the main road in Ettal, but close to the Monastery and also to some good hikes in the vicinity. It is also well placed for visting the nearby castles and Oberammagau, as well as the skiing resorts and high points of the German Alps.
The bar is small and the table d'hote in the restaurant offers rather limited choice, though the food is very good. The Sauna is clean and spacious; the swimming pool tiny. The view from the balcony of the room we had was delightful, the staff all very helpful and friendly. The dining room and bar were serviced by one rather stretched member of staff.

Room Tip: awAsk for a room with a balcony overlooking the monastery
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We spent 10 days at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
As reported by other visitors, the rooms are bright, spacious and comfortable.
If we had one criticism, it would be the strange pillows ... they are too soft and offer no support whatsoever! We don't know if it was that or the very warm nights that disturbed our sleep.

No complaints about the staff - they are all very pleasant, although the dining room always gave the impression of being understaffed.
The breakfasts are fine and there was always plenty of choice.
We only had one evening meal in the hotel and it was OK ... but not really good enough to tempt us back. Perhaps the management should consider putting on a more extensive menu.

The spa area is nice and clean and mostly very quiet.

Ettal is an excellent base for touring and roughly equidistant between Munich and Innsbruck - just over one hour's drive to either. There is also plenty to see in Ettal and the immediate vicinity.

All in all, give this hotel serious consideration if you plan visiting the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The rooms here are small and basic but adequate and clean. The reception staff were very nice. The hotel has a little bar and restaurant. The restaurant is nothing special on the inside, but sitting outside it is lovely. All the other hotels and restaurants in the village are on the main road running through. This one is 10 minutes stroll from the centre, on a side road and much quieter. The restaurant garden looks out onto the Alps. There is a nice pool at the hotel and children's toys and a sauna. They serve the local klosterbrau at the bar. The food was standard German fare.
We stayed here for three nights and used Ettal as a base to visit Schloss Hohenschwangau and Schloss Neuscwanstein (50 minutes drive away), Schloss Linderhof (10 km away) and Kloster Ettal (10 minutes walk away). There would also be lots of lovely walks inthe surrounding hills and country side if we had more time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alphotel Ettal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alphotel Ettal

Address: Alte Bergstrasse 10, 82488 Ettal, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Ettal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ettal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alphotel Ettal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alphotel Ettal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alphotel Ettal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.