We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous B&B in a beautiful town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Terrazza Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rossano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Terrazza Bed and Breakfast
Via salita ospedale (vecchio) | Centro Storico, Rossano, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Rossano B&B and Inns
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tremendous B&B in a beautiful town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We have been touring Calabria by public transport which everyone agrees is a crazy thing to do. Anyway, we arrived in Rossano by bus from Cosenza and caught the local up to Rossano Centro. Sergio was helpful in recommending where to ask to be dropped which is in Piazza Grottaferrata, then it's up a flight of 62 steps. This gets easier after a few shots at it and this is a town of slopes and steps anyway so you may6 as well get in practice. There is parking available outside if you decide to travel the sensible way. La Terrazza is wonderful, beautifully appointed, lovely spacious rooms and facilities and great views over the countryside to the sea. The owners and everyone else there are kind and helpful. The B&B is on the edge of town but this means you are no more than 5 minutes walk, literally, from the centre and perhaps 8-10 from the Duomo. Rossano is a small, endlessly fascinating and beautiful town and La Terrazza is a perfect place to stay to get the most from it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terrazzatrip, Proprietario at La Terrazza Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
kind mister jim, thanks for the nice review and for recommending us. thanks for advising rossano as ideal half.
we are sure that your review will further contribute to our growth.
cordial greetings to you and to your wife
Enrica & Sergio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
20
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Our family (2 adults, one 5-year old boy and one 7 month old baby) found this fantastic B&B by a coincidence when we arrived in Rossano CS. The couple that owns it are very nice and serviceminded, and they even invited us to a gathering in the neighborhood the evening we stayed there. The room was fantastic; a kingsize bed and a bunkbed, an amazing view, tv, free WIFI and a big big bathroom. We also had access to a livingroom and the kichten, everything very clean and delicate. This was our first stay at a B&B and we are so happy that we had this experience- we would recommend this place without a doubt- you get at lot for your money!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terrazzatrip, Proprietario at La Terrazza Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thanks so much for your courtesy.
It was a pleasure to host you.
We have sent your photos to your email address
Best regards
Enrica&Sergio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich UK
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 201 cities Reviews in 201 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

I rarely use this adjective as I mean to use it literally, and La Terrazza does deserve an "incredible" description. There are just 2 guest rooms - suites really - in a self contained floor of the owner, Sergio's, house, including a large living / dining area and kitchen. But it is furbished and furnished to an extreme of quality; marble fittings, expensive furniture and video / audio equipment, lights everywhere, free wi-fi, lovely shower.... etc. Sergio speaks adequate French, but little English. Parking is right outside despite the elevated position. If you want to be in or near Rossano (we were just en-route from Sicily to Puglia) this B&B, which would be better described as a boutique hotel, would be a wise choice. The incredulity is achieved, however, by the price - just 30 euros per person.......

Room Tip: Both rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

It is a perfect choice to visit this wonderful Byzantine city and its surroundings. The historical part of the city is very close by . La Terrazza offers a high quality, in terms of the service and accomodation. The place is furnished with elegance but also provides lots of places so that you relax and feel yourselves in a home atmosphere. There is continuous cleaning and a fresh rich breakfast is served every morning. The location also is very nice with a very superb view of the city, the sunset and the surroundings. We had very good time in this warm, elegant and comfortable bed and breakfast hotel. We are looking forward to going to Rossano again and enjoying the hospitaliy in La Terrazza.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, England
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

This is one of very few places to stay in the old town of Rossano, and is a pretty good choice. It's not that easy to find; you need to go up a narrow dead end street (salita ospedale), to the chruch at the top where you can park.The town has several one-way streets which confound the traveller. We actually ended up parking lower down at the Grottaferrata fountain and carrying our bags up a flight of steps - no problem to us but the proprietor clearly thought that was a bit eccentric!
The building itself must be quite ancient, but the interior is completely modernised and very comfortable. You enter from the top and go downstairs to the rooms which face onto the street several stories below. Ours had a comfortable double bed, plus a pair of bunks, so good for families. The bathroom was large (on two levels!) with an electrically operated roof vent - fun!
Our host was very friendly, and in our limited common language he recommended somewhere to eat (La Bizantina), though again our intention to walk there seemed to be another sign of english eccentricity. (It was about 20 minutes walk through the old town.)
Breakfast was interesting if not entirely satisfying. There were the usual sweet cakes and biscuits, and some tasty preserved figs and cirtus fruit, but no fresh bread to eat them with which was a real pity, only the packeted 'everlasting' toast.
Rossano is an interesting little place, off the tourist radar, and has several fine byzantine churches and a diocesan museum containing the Codex Purpureus, a 6th century book of illustartions of biblical scenes, and some fascinating early music manuscripts.
La Bizantina resaurant is next to S. Marco church and seemed popular with locals. Decent food, reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Terrazza Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terrazza Bed and Breakfast

Address: Via salita ospedale (vecchio) | Centro Storico, Rossano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Cosenza > Rossano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Rossano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Terrazza Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Terrazza Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list